How to Become a Dental Assistant in Maine (2026)
Maine employs about 1,550 dental assistants earning a median $60,070 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Dental Assistant here means completing a short dental assisting program or on-the-job training where allowed, then DANB CDA and any state RDA or radiography permit the board requires, then applying through Maine Board of Dental Practice.
Key Facts
- Median wage (Maine): $60,070/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Employed in Maine: 1,550 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Location quotient: 0.97x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: 6.4% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
- Licensing/credentialing body: Maine Board of Dental Practice (Source: State licensing agency, 2025)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Dental Assistant Schools in Maine
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Middlesex Community College | 62.1 | Contact school for pricing | $56,301 | 23% | Yes* | 206 mi |
| 2 | Quinsigamond Community College | 58.1 | Contact school for pricing | $55,076 | 21% | Yes* | 232 mi |
| 3 | NHTI-Concord's Community College | 56.4 | Contact school for pricing | $55,056 | Not reported | Yes* | 173 mi |
| 4 | Southeastern Technical Institute | 54.0 | Contact school for pricing | $48,037 | Not reported | — | 233 mi |
| 5 | Massasoit Community College | 53.9 | Contact school for pricing | $54,288 | 21% | Yes* | 227 mi |
| 6 | Mount Wachusett Community College | 53.3 | Contact school for pricing | $53,977 | 27% | Yes* | 221 mi |
| 7 | Northern Essex Community College | 52.4 | Contact school for pricing | $52,743 | 20% | Yes* | 183 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Maine employs approximately 1,550 dental assistants according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $60,070 1. Nationally, dental assistant employment is projected to grow 6.4% from 2024 to 2034, with about 52,900 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Dental Assistant in Maine, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: dental assisting program or on-the-job training where the state allows it (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a short dental assisting program or on-the-job training where allowed, then DANB CDA and any state RDA or radiography permit the board requires
- Licensing authority: Maine Board of Dental Practice
- Exam: DANB CDA and/or state RDA or radiography permit
- Median wage (Maine): $60,070 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Dental Assistant in Maine
How to become a Dental Assistant in Maine? Complete a short dental assisting program or on-the-job training where allowed, then DANB CDA and any state RDA or radiography permit the board requires. Apply through Maine Board of Dental Practice.
How long does it take? Most people finish a short dental assisting program or on-the-job training where allowed, then DANB CDA and any state RDA or radiography permit the board requires. Confirm current hour totals with the program and Maine Board of Dental Practice.
Do I need a license in Maine? Yes. Maine credentials this role through Maine Board of Dental Practice 3. See the licensing section below.
What do dental assistants earn in Maine? The median annual wage for dental assistants in Maine is $60,070 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $47,290 and experienced professionals can earn $62,660 or more 1.
How to Become a Dental Assistant in Maine
- Meet basic requirements. Most Maine dental assisting programs expect a high school diploma or GED. Confirm age and background rules with Maine Board of Dental Practice.
- Complete a dental assisting program or on-the-job training if the state allows it. Finish a certificate (often under a year) or associate program in Maine. Prefer a CODA-accredited program. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
- Earn CDA and any state assistant credential. DANB CDA is the national exam. Some states also require RDA, a radiography permit, or expanded-functions (EFDA). Confirm current permits with Maine Board of Dental Practice.
- Apply to the state dental board when registration is required. Some states register assistants; others only permit X-ray or expanded duties; some allow OJT with no statewide license. Do not treat a hygienist or dentist license as the assistant path.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Dental Assistant License Requirements in Maine
Dental assistants in Maine typically complete a short program or on-the-job training where allowed, then earn DANB CDA and any RDA or radiography permit Maine Board of Dental Practice requires. See Maine Board of Dental Practice 3.
Typical path
Meet the program’s entry rules.
Complete a dental assisting program or OJT if the state allows it.
Earn DANB CDA and any state RDA or radiography permit.
Apply to Maine Board of Dental Practice when registration or licensure is required.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with Maine Board of Dental Practice before you enroll.
Dental Assistant Wages by Metro Area in Maine
Dental Assistants Wages by Metro Area in Maine
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), dental assistants wages in Maine vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Portland-South Portland | 830 | $61,240 | $59,380 | $49,160 | $62,660 |
| Bangor | 190 | $49,160 | $52,640 | $45,970 | $60,490 |
| Lewiston-Auburn | 100 | $57,650 | $55,980 | $48,250 | $62,540 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for dental assistants in Maine? Maine currently employs approximately 1,550 dental assistants 1. Nationally, dental assistant employment is projected to grow 6.4% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as a dental assistant in Maine with an out-of-state license? Contact the Maine Board of Dental Practice for details on reciprocity and credential transfer.
What training programs are available in Maine? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Maine.
How much do dental assistants earn in Maine compared to the national average? The median annual wage for dental assistants in Maine is $60,070, which is $12,770 above the national median of $47,300 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Maine
Top local programs
- Best Dental Assistant Programs in Auburn, Maine (2026)
- Best Dental Assistant Programs in Augusta, Maine (2026)
- Best Dental Assistant Programs in Bangor, Maine (2026)
- Best Dental Assistant Programs in Biddeford, Maine (2026)
- Best Dental Assistant Programs in Lewiston, Maine (2026)
- Best Dental Assistant Programs in Maine (2026)
- Best Dental Assistant Programs in Portland, Maine (2026)
- Best Dental Assistant Programs in Saco, Maine (2026)
- Best Dental Assistant Programs in Sanford, Maine (2026)
- Best Dental Assistant Programs in South Portland, Maine (2026)
- Best Dental Assistant Programs in Waterville, Maine (2026)
- Best Dental Assistant Programs in Westbrook, Maine (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Maine (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Maine
- Best HVAC Schools in Maine (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Maine
- Best Plumbing Schools in Maine (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Maine
Explore More Trades in Maine
- Electrician in Maine
- Plumber in Maine
- HVAC Technician in Maine
- Welder in Maine
- Carpenter in Maine
- Solar Installation Technician in Maine
- Auto Mechanic in Maine
- CNC Machinist in Maine
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Maine
- Medical Assistant in Maine
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Maine Board of Dental Practice - Licensing Information: https://www.maine.gov/dental/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |