How to Become a Dental Assistant in Missouri (2026)
Missouri employs about 6,760 dental assistants earning a median $45,970 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Dental Assistant here means completing a short dental assisting program or on-the-job training where allowed, then DANB CDA and any state RDA or radiography permit the board requires, then applying through Missouri Department of Commerce and Insurance - Division Of Professional Registration - Missouri State Dental Board.
Compare Dental Assistant Schools in Missouri
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | State Technical College of Missouri | 69.9 | Contact school for pricing | $58,407 | 82% | — | 50 mi |
| 2 | Johnson County Community College | 55.0 | Contact school for pricing | $52,956 | 30% | Yes* | 115 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 3 | Ozarks Technical Community College | 54.7 | Contact school for pricing | $42,628 | 32% | Yes* | 84 mi |
| 4 | Concorde Career College-Kansas City | 51.9 | Contact school for pricing | $38,757 | 55% | Yes* | 109 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 5 | Midwest Technical Institute-Missouri | 46.2 | Contact school for pricing | $36,025 | 76% | — | 88 mi |
| 6 | Metropolitan Community College-Kansas City | 45.8 | Contact school for pricing | $50,121 | 31% | Yes* | 112 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 7 | State Fair Community College | 45.5 | Contact school for pricing | $40,789 | Not reported | Yes* | 38 mi |
| 8 | Midwest Institute | 42.5 | Contact school for pricing | $35,134 | 60% | — | 125 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 9 | Concorde Career College-Broadway | 40.9 | Contact school for pricing | $38,757 | 69% | — | 112 mi |
| 10 | Saint Louis Community College | 34.3 | Contact school for pricing | $48,396 | Not reported | Yes* | 126 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Missouri employs approximately 6,760 dental assistants according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $45,970 1. Nationally, dental assistant employment is projected to grow 6.4% from 2024 to 2034, with about 52,900 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Dental Assistant in Missouri, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: dental assisting program or on-the-job training where the state allows it (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a short dental assisting program or on-the-job training where allowed, then DANB CDA and any state RDA or radiography permit the board requires
- Licensing authority: Missouri Department of Commerce and Insurance - Division Of Professional Registration - Missouri State Dental Board
- Exam: DANB CDA and/or state RDA or radiography permit
- Median wage (Missouri): $45,970 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Dental Assistant in Missouri
How to become a Dental Assistant in Missouri? Complete a short dental assisting program or on-the-job training where allowed, then DANB CDA and any state RDA or radiography permit the board requires. Apply through Missouri Department of Commerce and Insurance - Division Of Professional Registration - Missouri State Dental Board.
How long does it take? Most people finish a short dental assisting program or on-the-job training where allowed, then DANB CDA and any state RDA or radiography permit the board requires. Confirm current hour totals with the program and Missouri Department of Commerce and Insurance - Division Of Professional Registration - Missouri State Dental Board.
Do I need a license in Missouri? Yes. Missouri credentials this role through Missouri Department of Commerce and Insurance - Division Of Professional Registration - Missouri State Dental Board 3. See the licensing section below.
What do dental assistants earn in Missouri? The median annual wage for dental assistants in Missouri is $45,970 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $36,580 and experienced professionals can earn $59,410 or more 1.
How to Become a Dental Assistant in Missouri
- Meet basic requirements. Most Missouri dental assisting programs expect a high school diploma or GED. Confirm age and background rules with Missouri Department of Commerce and Insurance - Division Of Professional Registration - Missouri State Dental Board.
- Complete a dental assisting program or on-the-job training if the state allows it. Finish a certificate (often under a year) or associate program in Missouri. Prefer a CODA-accredited program. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
- Earn CDA and any state assistant credential. DANB CDA is the national exam. Some states also require RDA, a radiography permit, or expanded-functions (EFDA). Confirm current permits with Missouri Department of Commerce and Insurance - Division Of Professional Registration - Missouri State Dental Board.
- Apply to the state dental board when registration is required. Some states register assistants; others only permit X-ray or expanded duties; some allow OJT with no statewide license. Do not treat a hygienist or dentist license as the assistant path.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Dental Assistant License Requirements in Missouri
Dental assistants in Missouri typically complete a short program or on-the-job training where allowed, then earn DANB CDA and any RDA or radiography permit Missouri Department of Commerce and Insurance - Division Of Professional Registration - Missouri State Dental Board requires. See Missouri Department of Commerce and Insurance - Division Of Professional Registration - Missouri State Dental Board 3.
Typical path
Meet the program’s entry rules.
Complete a dental assisting program or OJT if the state allows it.
Earn DANB CDA and any state RDA or radiography permit.
Apply to Missouri Department of Commerce and Insurance - Division Of Professional Registration - Missouri State Dental Board when registration or licensure is required.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with Missouri Department of Commerce and Insurance - Division Of Professional Registration - Missouri State Dental Board before you enroll.
Dental Assistant Wages by Metro Area in Missouri
Dental Assistants Wages by Metro Area in Missouri
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), dental assistants wages in Missouri vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| St. Louis | 2,990 | $48,120 | $49,660 | $37,780 | $60,530 |
| Kansas City | 2,470 | $48,190 | $47,870 | $38,190 | $59,530 |
| Springfield | 850 | $45,500 | $43,610 | $35,270 | $50,110 |
| Columbia | 220 | $46,920 | $45,860 | $34,990 | $57,550 |
| Joplin | 210 | $43,010 | $43,140 | $34,640 | $49,020 |
| Cape Girardeau | 150 | $44,370 | $43,710 | $35,200 | $55,830 |
| Jefferson City | 150 | $44,090 | $44,240 | $36,740 | $56,300 |
| St. Joseph | 140 | $43,500 | $44,860 | $36,120 | $56,230 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for dental assistants in Missouri? Missouri currently employs approximately 6,760 dental assistants 1. Nationally, dental assistant employment is projected to grow 6.4% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as a dental assistant in Missouri with an out-of-state license? Contact the Missouri Department of Commerce and Insurance - Division Of Professional Registration - Missouri State Dental Board for details on reciprocity and credential transfer.
What training programs are available in Missouri? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Missouri.
How much do dental assistants earn in Missouri compared to the national average? The median annual wage for dental assistants in Missouri is $45,970, which is $1,330 below the national median of $47,300 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Missouri
Top local programs
- Best Dental Assistant Programs in Arnold, Missouri (2026)
- Best Dental Assistant Programs in Ballwin, Missouri (2026)
- Best Dental Assistant Programs in Bellefontaine Neighbors, Missouri (2026)
- Best Dental Assistant Programs in Belton, Missouri (2026)
- Best Dental Assistant Programs in Blue Springs, Missouri (2026)
- Best Dental Assistant Programs in Bolivar, Missouri (2026)
- Best Dental Assistant Programs in Branson, Missouri (2026)
- Best Dental Assistant Programs in Bridgeton, Missouri (2026)
- Best Dental Assistant Programs in Cape Girardeau, Missouri (2026)
- Best Dental Assistant Programs in Carthage, Missouri (2026)
- Best Dental Assistant Programs in Chesterfield, Missouri (2026)
- Best Dental Assistant Programs in Clayton, Missouri (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Missouri (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Missouri
- Best HVAC Schools in Missouri (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Missouri
- Best Plumbing Schools in Missouri (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Missouri
Explore More Trades in Missouri
- Electrician in Missouri
- Plumber in Missouri
- HVAC Technician in Missouri
- Welder in Missouri
- Carpenter in Missouri
- Solar Installation Technician in Missouri
- Auto Mechanic in Missouri
- CNC Machinist in Missouri
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Missouri
- Medical Assistant in Missouri
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Missouri Department of Commerce and Insurance - Division Of Professional Registration - Missouri State Dental Board - Licensing Information: http://pr.mo.gov/dental.asp ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |