How to Become a Dental Assistant in Nebraska (2026)
Nebraska employs about 2,520 dental assistants earning a median $46,660 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Dental Assistant here means completing a short dental assisting program or on-the-job training where allowed, then DANB CDA and any state RDA or radiography permit the board requires, then applying through Nebraska Dept. of Health & Human Services - Public Health Licensure Unit.
Key Facts
- Median wage (Nebraska): $46,660/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Employed in Nebraska: 2,520 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Location quotient: 0.99x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: 6.4% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
- Licensing/credentialing body: Nebraska Dept. of Health & Human Services - Public Health Licensure Unit (Source: State licensing agency, 2025)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Dental Assistant Schools in Nebraska
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Salina Area Technical College | 78.9 | Contact school for pricing | $45,249 | 70% | Yes* | 158 mi |
| 2 | Flint Hills Technical College | 75.5 | Contact school for pricing | $52,442 | 68% | Yes* | 185 mi |
| 3 | Southeast Technical College | 69.7 | $7,650 - $20,272 | $53,289 | 56% | Yes* | 176 mi |
| 4 | Central Community College | 59.3 | Contact school for pricing | $48,675 | 46% | Yes* | 74 mi |
| 5 | Western Iowa Tech Community College | 57.6 | Contact school for pricing | $47,713 | 44% | Yes* | 105 mi |
| 6 | Southeast Community College Area | 55.6 | Contact school for pricing | $54,277 | 36% | Yes* | 24 mi |
| 7 | Iowa Central Community College | 54.0 | Contact school for pricing | $46,682 | Not reported | Yes* | 175 mi |
| 8 | Des Moines Area Community College | 50.0 | Contact school for pricing | $51,817 | 37% | Yes* | 181 mi |
| 9 | Iowa Western Community College | 48.3 | Contact school for pricing | $51,139 | Not reported | Yes* | 64 mi |
| 10 | Metropolitan Community College Area | 46.7 | Contact school for pricing | $53,376 | 27% | Yes* | 56 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Nebraska employs approximately 2,520 dental assistants according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $46,660 1. Nationally, dental assistant employment is projected to grow 6.4% from 2024 to 2034, with about 52,900 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Dental Assistant in Nebraska, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: dental assisting program or on-the-job training where the state allows it (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a short dental assisting program or on-the-job training where allowed, then DANB CDA and any state RDA or radiography permit the board requires
- Licensing authority: Nebraska Dept. of Health & Human Services - Public Health Licensure Unit
- Exam: DANB CDA and/or state RDA or radiography permit
- Median wage (Nebraska): $46,660 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Dental Assistant in Nebraska
How to become a Dental Assistant in Nebraska? Complete a short dental assisting program or on-the-job training where allowed, then DANB CDA and any state RDA or radiography permit the board requires. Apply through Nebraska Dept. of Health & Human Services - Public Health Licensure Unit.
How long does it take? Most people finish a short dental assisting program or on-the-job training where allowed, then DANB CDA and any state RDA or radiography permit the board requires. Confirm current hour totals with the program and Nebraska Dept. of Health & Human Services - Public Health Licensure Unit.
Do I need a license in Nebraska? Yes. Nebraska credentials this role through Nebraska Dept. of Health & Human Services - Public Health Licensure Unit 3. See the licensing section below.
What do dental assistants earn in Nebraska? The median annual wage for dental assistants in Nebraska is $46,660 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $37,810 and experienced professionals can earn $57,430 or more 1.
How to Become a Dental Assistant in Nebraska
- Meet basic requirements. Most Nebraska dental assisting programs expect a high school diploma or GED. Confirm age and background rules with Nebraska Dept. of Health & Human Services - Public Health Licensure Unit.
- Complete a dental assisting program or on-the-job training if the state allows it. Finish a certificate (often under a year) or associate program in Nebraska. Prefer a CODA-accredited program. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
- Earn CDA and any state assistant credential. DANB CDA is the national exam. Some states also require RDA, a radiography permit, or expanded-functions (EFDA). Confirm current permits with Nebraska Dept. of Health & Human Services - Public Health Licensure Unit.
- Apply to the state dental board when registration is required. Some states register assistants; others only permit X-ray or expanded duties; some allow OJT with no statewide license. Do not treat a hygienist or dentist license as the assistant path.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Dental Assistant License Requirements in Nebraska
Dental assistants in Nebraska typically complete a short program or on-the-job training where allowed, then earn DANB CDA and any RDA or radiography permit Nebraska Dept. of Health & Human Services - Public Health Licensure Unit requires. See Nebraska Dept. of Health & Human Services - Public Health Licensure Unit 3.
Typical path
Meet the program’s entry rules.
Complete a dental assisting program or OJT if the state allows it.
Earn DANB CDA and any state RDA or radiography permit.
Apply to Nebraska Dept. of Health & Human Services - Public Health Licensure Unit when registration or licensure is required.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with Nebraska Dept. of Health & Human Services - Public Health Licensure Unit before you enroll.
Dental Assistant Wages by Metro Area in Nebraska
Dental Assistants Wages by Metro Area in Nebraska
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), dental assistants wages in Nebraska vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Omaha | 1,150 | $48,020 | $48,260 | $39,720 | $59,570 |
| Lincoln | 580 | $48,440 | $47,950 | $38,970 | $57,560 |
| Sioux City | 190 | $48,590 | $51,060 | $39,530 | $59,660 |
| Grand Island | 100 | $46,910 | $46,470 | $39,850 | $55,880 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for dental assistants in Nebraska? Nebraska currently employs approximately 2,520 dental assistants 1. Nationally, dental assistant employment is projected to grow 6.4% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as a dental assistant in Nebraska with an out-of-state license? Contact the Nebraska Dept. of Health & Human Services - Public Health Licensure Unit for details on reciprocity and credential transfer.
What training programs are available in Nebraska? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Nebraska.
How much do dental assistants earn in Nebraska compared to the national average? The median annual wage for dental assistants in Nebraska is $46,660, which is $640 below the national median of $47,300 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Nebraska
Top local programs
- Best Dental Assistant Programs in Beatrice, Nebraska (2026)
- Best Dental Assistant Programs in Bellevue, Nebraska (2026)
- Best Dental Assistant Programs in Columbus, Nebraska (2026)
- Best Dental Assistant Programs in Fremont, Nebraska (2026)
- Best Dental Assistant Programs in Grand Island, Nebraska (2026)
- Best Dental Assistant Programs in Hastings, Nebraska (2026)
- Best Dental Assistant Programs in Kearney, Nebraska (2026)
- Best Dental Assistant Programs in LA Vista, Nebraska (2026)
- Best Dental Assistant Programs in Lexington, Nebraska (2026)
- Best Dental Assistant Programs in Lincoln, Nebraska (2026)
- Best Dental Assistant Programs in Nebraska (2026)
- Best Dental Assistant Programs in Norfolk, Nebraska (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Nebraska (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Nebraska
- Best HVAC Schools in Nebraska (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Nebraska
- Best Plumbing Schools in Nebraska (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Nebraska
Explore More Trades in Nebraska
- Electrician in Nebraska
- Plumber in Nebraska
- HVAC Technician in Nebraska
- Welder in Nebraska
- Carpenter in Nebraska
- Solar Installation Technician in Nebraska
- Auto Mechanic in Nebraska
- CNC Machinist in Nebraska
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Nebraska
- Medical Assistant in Nebraska
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Nebraska Dept. of Health & Human Services - Public Health Licensure Unit - Licensing Information: https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/pages/acupuncture.aspx ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |