How to Become a Dental Assistant in New Mexico (2026)

New Mexico employs about 2,150 dental assistants earning a median $44,400 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Dental Assistant here means completing a short dental assisting program or on-the-job training where allowed, then DANB CDA and any state RDA or radiography permit the board requires. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.

Key Facts

  • Median wage (New Mexico): $44,400/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
  • Employed in New Mexico: 2,150 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
  • Location quotient: 0.99x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
  • Projected growth: 6.4% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)

Sponsored - request program info

Compare Dental Assistant Schools in New Mexico

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the page's primary location.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
154.1Contact school for pricing$49,75855%Yes*211 mi
253.7Contact school for pricing$38,89063%Yes*82 mi
353.4Contact school for pricing$42,93754%177 mi
451.8Contact school for pricing$48,65230%Yes*82 mi
548.7Contact school for pricing$54,87417%Yes*152 mi
646.6Contact school for pricing$53,855Not reportedYes*96 mi
746.5Contact school for pricing$39,71223%Yes*177 mi
845.0Contact school for pricing$59,818Not reported197 mi
943.4Contact school for pricing$38,11133%Yes*96 mi
1041.4Contact school for pricing$59,818Not reported146 mi

Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

New Mexico employs approximately 2,150 dental assistants according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $44,400 1. Nationally, dental assistant employment is projected to grow 6.4% from 2024 to 2034, with about 52,900 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Dental Assistant in New Mexico, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.

At a Glance

  • Training paths: dental assisting program or on-the-job training where the state allows it (find programs)
  • Typical timeline: a short dental assisting program or on-the-job training where allowed, then DANB CDA and any state RDA or radiography permit the board requires
  • Exam: DANB CDA and/or state RDA or radiography permit
  • Median wage (New Mexico): $44,400 per year 1

Quick Answers About How to Become a Dental Assistant in New Mexico

How to become a Dental Assistant in New Mexico? Complete a short dental assisting program or on-the-job training where allowed, then DANB CDA and any state RDA or radiography permit the board requires. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.

How long does it take? Most people finish a short dental assisting program or on-the-job training where allowed, then DANB CDA and any state RDA or radiography permit the board requires. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.

Do I need a license in New Mexico? Licensing varies. Confirm with the program and employer. See the licensing section below.

What do dental assistants earn in New Mexico? The median annual wage for dental assistants in New Mexico is $44,400 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $37,060 and experienced professionals can earn $55,950 or more 1.

How to Become a Dental Assistant in New Mexico

  1. Meet basic requirements. Most New Mexico dental assisting programs expect a high school diploma or GED. Confirm age and background rules with the employer.
  2. Complete a dental assisting program or on-the-job training if the state allows it. Finish a certificate (often under a year) or associate program in New Mexico. Prefer a CODA-accredited program. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
  3. Earn CDA and any state assistant credential. DANB CDA is the national exam. Some states also require RDA, a radiography permit, or expanded-functions (EFDA). Confirm current permits with the employer.
  4. Apply to the state dental board when registration is required. Some states register assistants; others only permit X-ray or expanded duties; some allow OJT with no statewide license. Do not treat a hygienist or dentist license as the assistant path.

Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.

Dental Assistant License Requirements in New Mexico

Dental assistants in New Mexico typically complete a short program or on-the-job training where allowed, then earn DANB CDA and any RDA or radiography permit the employer requires.

Typical path

  1. Meet the program’s entry rules.

  2. Complete a dental assisting program or OJT if the state allows it.

  3. Earn DANB CDA and any state RDA or radiography permit.

  4. Apply to the employer when registration or licensure is required.

Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the employer before you enroll.

Dental Assistant Wages by Metro Area in New Mexico

Dental Assistants Wages by Metro Area in New Mexico

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), dental assistants wages in New Mexico vary by metro area.

Metro AreaEmploymentMedian Annual WageAvg. Annual WageEntry Level
(10th pctile)
Experienced
(90th pctile)
Albuquerque1,000$44,810$44,100$37,300$54,500
Farmington210$42,400$45,110$35,410$63,250
Santa Fe210$47,160$49,920$37,860$65,670
Las Cruces200$38,400$40,100$32,730$46,830

Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the job outlook for dental assistants in New Mexico? New Mexico currently employs approximately 2,150 dental assistants 1. Nationally, dental assistant employment is projected to grow 6.4% from 2024 to 2034 2.

Can I work as a dental assistant in New Mexico with an out-of-state license? Confirm reciprocity rules with the program and employer.

What training programs are available in New Mexico? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in New Mexico.

How much do dental assistants earn in New Mexico compared to the national average? The median annual wage for dental assistants in New Mexico is $44,400, which is $2,900 below the national median of $47,300 according to BLS data 1.

In New Mexico

Top local programs

Explore More Trades in New Mexico

Citations

About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

References


  1. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  2. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)
O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones)U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.)O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13)