How to Become a Dental Assistant in North Carolina (2026)
North Carolina employs about 11,450 dental assistants earning a median $50,380 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Dental Assistant here means completing a short dental assisting program or on-the-job training where allowed, then DANB CDA and any state RDA or radiography permit the board requires, then applying through NC Board of Dental Examiners.
Compare Dental Assistant Schools in North Carolina
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Central Carolina Community College | 60.6 | Contact school for pricing | $42,844 | Not reported | Yes* | 34 mi |
| 2 | Wake Technical Community College | 55.3 | Contact school for pricing | $49,034 | Not reported | Yes* | 61 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 3 | Forsyth Technical Community College | 52.9 | Contact school for pricing | $48,625 | 31% | Yes* | 51 mi |
| 4 | Central Piedmont Community College | 52.6 | Contact school for pricing | $48,441 | Not reported | Yes* | 63 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 5 | Montgomery Community College | 52.6 | Contact school for pricing | $41,824 | 65% | Yes* | 9 mi |
| 6 | Davidson-Davie Community College | 51.6 | Contact school for pricing | $44,533 | 44% | Yes* | 37 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 7 | Alamance Community College | 50.9 | Contact school for pricing | $41,411 | Not reported | Yes* | 48 mi |
| 8 | Rowan-Cabarrus Community College | 47.2 | Contact school for pricing | $43,916 | 33% | Yes* | 43 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 9 | Fayetteville Technical Community College | 45.5 | Contact school for pricing | $48,138 | 22% | Yes* | 54 mi |
| 10 | Guilford Technical Community College | 35.2 | $2,320 - $20,529 | $44,924 | 31% | Yes* | 39 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
North Carolina employs approximately 11,450 dental assistants according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $50,380 1. Nationally, dental assistant employment is projected to grow 6.4% from 2024 to 2034, with about 52,900 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Dental Assistant in North Carolina, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: dental assisting program or on-the-job training where the state allows it (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a short dental assisting program or on-the-job training where allowed, then DANB CDA and any state RDA or radiography permit the board requires
- Licensing authority: NC Board of Dental Examiners
- Exam: DANB CDA and/or state RDA or radiography permit
- Median wage (North Carolina): $50,380 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Dental Assistant in North Carolina
How to become a Dental Assistant in North Carolina? Complete a short dental assisting program or on-the-job training where allowed, then DANB CDA and any state RDA or radiography permit the board requires. Apply through NC Board of Dental Examiners.
How long does it take? Most people finish a short dental assisting program or on-the-job training where allowed, then DANB CDA and any state RDA or radiography permit the board requires. Confirm current hour totals with the program and NC Board of Dental Examiners.
Do I need a license in North Carolina? Yes. North Carolina credentials this role through NC Board of Dental Examiners 3. See the licensing section below.
What do dental assistants earn in North Carolina? The median annual wage for dental assistants in North Carolina is $50,380 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $38,240 and experienced professionals can earn $60,200 or more 1.
How to Become a Dental Assistant in North Carolina
- Meet basic requirements. Most North Carolina dental assisting programs expect a high school diploma or GED. Confirm age and background rules with NC Board of Dental Examiners.
- Complete a dental assisting program or on-the-job training if the state allows it. Finish a certificate (often under a year) or associate program in North Carolina. Prefer a CODA-accredited program. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
- Earn CDA and any state assistant credential. DANB CDA is the national exam. Some states also require RDA, a radiography permit, or expanded-functions (EFDA). Confirm current permits with NC Board of Dental Examiners.
- Apply to the state dental board when registration is required. Some states register assistants; others only permit X-ray or expanded duties; some allow OJT with no statewide license. Do not treat a hygienist or dentist license as the assistant path.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Dental Assistant License Requirements in North Carolina
Dental assistants in North Carolina typically complete a short program or on-the-job training where allowed, then earn DANB CDA and any RDA or radiography permit NC Board of Dental Examiners requires. See NC Board of Dental Examiners 3.
Typical path
Meet the program’s entry rules.
Complete a dental assisting program or OJT if the state allows it.
Earn DANB CDA and any state RDA or radiography permit.
Apply to NC Board of Dental Examiners when registration or licensure is required.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with NC Board of Dental Examiners before you enroll.
Dental Assistant Wages by Metro Area in North Carolina
Dental Assistants Wages by Metro Area in North Carolina
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), dental assistants wages in North Carolina vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Charlotte-Concord-Gastonia | 3,540 | $50,060 | $51,800 | $39,010 | $59,820 |
| Virginia Beach-Chesapeake-Norfolk | 1,860 | $46,670 | $47,100 | $37,260 | $58,500 |
| Raleigh-Cary | 1,850 | $58,750 | $55,950 | $40,410 | $64,390 |
| Greensboro-High Point | 800 | $49,800 | $49,870 | $38,650 | $57,840 |
| Durham-Chapel Hill | 640 | $51,670 | $53,360 | $39,530 | $60,920 |
| Wilmington | 600 | $51,110 | $51,110 | $37,980 | $59,530 |
| Asheville | 560 | $56,680 | $53,650 | $38,230 | $60,200 |
| Winston-Salem | 480 | $50,060 | $51,570 | $38,370 | $59,260 |
| Fayetteville | 460 | $49,520 | $49,060 | $36,600 | $56,410 |
| Hickory-Lenoir-Morganton | 320 | $48,720 | $48,370 | $37,830 | $57,610 |
| Greenville | 230 | $49,420 | $48,190 | $37,650 | $56,130 |
| Jacksonville | 170 | $47,970 | $47,020 | $35,250 | $54,260 |
| Burlington | 150 | $50,140 | $50,440 | $37,910 | $57,360 |
| Goldsboro | 120 | $48,210 | $47,930 | $37,040 | $58,090 |
| Rocky Mount | 80 | $48,490 | $45,560 | $34,200 | $54,410 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for dental assistants in North Carolina? North Carolina currently employs approximately 11,450 dental assistants 1. Nationally, dental assistant employment is projected to grow 6.4% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as a dental assistant in North Carolina with an out-of-state license? Contact the NC Board of Dental Examiners for details on reciprocity and credential transfer.
What training programs are available in North Carolina? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in North Carolina.
How much do dental assistants earn in North Carolina compared to the national average? The median annual wage for dental assistants in North Carolina is $50,380, which is $3,080 above the national median of $47,300 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In North Carolina
Top local programs
- Best Dental Assistant Programs in Albemarle, North Carolina (2026)
- Best Dental Assistant Programs in Apex, North Carolina (2026)
- Best Dental Assistant Programs in Archdale, North Carolina (2026)
- Best Dental Assistant Programs in Archer Lodge, North Carolina (2026)
- Best Dental Assistant Programs in Asheboro, North Carolina (2026)
- Best Dental Assistant Programs in Asheville, North Carolina (2026)
- Best Dental Assistant Programs in Belmont, North Carolina (2026)
- Best Dental Assistant Programs in Boone, North Carolina (2026)
- Best Dental Assistant Programs in Brevard, North Carolina (2026)
- Best Dental Assistant Programs in Burlington, North Carolina (2026)
- Best Dental Assistant Programs in Butner, North Carolina (2026)
- Best Dental Assistant Programs in Carrboro, North Carolina (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in North Carolina (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in North Carolina
- Best HVAC Schools in North Carolina (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in North Carolina
- Best Plumbing Schools in North Carolina (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in North Carolina
Explore More Trades in North Carolina
- Electrician in North Carolina
- Plumber in North Carolina
- HVAC Technician in North Carolina
- Welder in North Carolina
- Carpenter in North Carolina
- Solar Installation Technician in North Carolina
- Auto Mechanic in North Carolina
- CNC Machinist in North Carolina
- Certified Nursing Assistant in North Carolina
- Medical Assistant in North Carolina
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
NC Board of Dental Examiners - Licensing Information: http://ncdentalboard.org/# ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |