How to Become a Dental Assistant in Pennsylvania (2026)
Pennsylvania employs about 12,080 dental assistants earning a median $47,930 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Dental Assistant here means completing a short dental assisting program or on-the-job training where allowed, then DANB CDA and any state RDA or radiography permit the board requires, then applying through Department of State - Bureau of Professional & Occupational Affairs - Dentistry Board.
Compare Dental Assistant Schools in Pennsylvania
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | York County School of Technology-Adult & Continuing Education | 77.6 | Contact school for pricing | $48,902 | 90% | — | 33 mi |
| 2 | Central Pennsylvania Institute of Science and Technology | 75.3 | Contact school for pricing | $47,037 | 92% | — | 54 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 3 | Pennsylvania College of Technology | 71.8 | Contact school for pricing | $66,316 | Not reported | Yes* | 60 mi |
| 4 | Frederick Community College | 71.1 | Contact school for pricing | $54,058 | 36% | Yes* | 68 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 5 | YTI Career Institute-York | 66.8 | Contact school for pricing | $40,192 | 43% | Yes* | 30 mi |
| 6 | Lancaster County Career and Technology Center | 64.1 | Contact school for pricing | $56,037 | 82% | — | 45 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 7 | Hagerstown Community College | 62.1 | Contact school for pricing | $55,827 | 38% | Yes* | 65 mi |
| 8 | Central Penn College | 47.6 | $19,854 - $27,116 | $52,318 | 43% | Yes* | 5 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 9 | Berks Career & Technology Center | 44.8 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | 70% | — | 52 mi |
| 10 | Harrisburg Area Community College | 37.5 | Contact school for pricing | $54,031 | 21% | Yes* | 6 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Pennsylvania employs approximately 12,080 dental assistants according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $47,930 1. Nationally, dental assistant employment is projected to grow 6.4% from 2024 to 2034, with about 52,900 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Dental Assistant in Pennsylvania, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: dental assisting program or on-the-job training where the state allows it (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a short dental assisting program or on-the-job training where allowed, then DANB CDA and any state RDA or radiography permit the board requires
- Licensing authority: Department of State - Bureau of Professional & Occupational Affairs - Dentistry Board
- Exam: DANB CDA and/or state RDA or radiography permit
- Median wage (Pennsylvania): $47,930 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Dental Assistant in Pennsylvania
How to become a Dental Assistant in Pennsylvania? Complete a short dental assisting program or on-the-job training where allowed, then DANB CDA and any state RDA or radiography permit the board requires. Apply through Department of State - Bureau of Professional & Occupational Affairs - Dentistry Board.
How long does it take? Most people finish a short dental assisting program or on-the-job training where allowed, then DANB CDA and any state RDA or radiography permit the board requires. Confirm current hour totals with the program and Department of State - Bureau of Professional & Occupational Affairs - Dentistry Board.
Do I need a license in Pennsylvania? Yes. Pennsylvania credentials this role through Department of State - Bureau of Professional & Occupational Affairs - Dentistry Board 3. See the licensing section below.
What do dental assistants earn in Pennsylvania? The median annual wage for dental assistants in Pennsylvania is $47,930 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $38,040 and experienced professionals can earn $61,430 or more 1.
How to Become a Dental Assistant in Pennsylvania
- Meet basic requirements. Most Pennsylvania dental assisting programs expect a high school diploma or GED. Confirm age and background rules with Department of State - Bureau of Professional & Occupational Affairs - Dentistry Board.
- Complete a dental assisting program or on-the-job training if the state allows it. Finish a certificate (often under a year) or associate program in Pennsylvania. Prefer a CODA-accredited program. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
- Earn CDA and any state assistant credential. DANB CDA is the national exam. Some states also require RDA, a radiography permit, or expanded-functions (EFDA). Confirm current permits with Department of State - Bureau of Professional & Occupational Affairs - Dentistry Board.
- Apply to the state dental board when registration is required. Some states register assistants; others only permit X-ray or expanded duties; some allow OJT with no statewide license. Do not treat a hygienist or dentist license as the assistant path.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Dental Assistant License Requirements in Pennsylvania
Dental assistants in Pennsylvania typically complete a short program or on-the-job training where allowed, then earn DANB CDA and any RDA or radiography permit Department of State - Bureau of Professional & Occupational Affairs - Dentistry Board requires. See Department of State - Bureau of Professional & Occupational Affairs - Dentistry Board 3.
Typical path
Meet the program’s entry rules.
Complete a dental assisting program or OJT if the state allows it.
Earn DANB CDA and any state RDA or radiography permit.
Apply to Department of State - Bureau of Professional & Occupational Affairs - Dentistry Board when registration or licensure is required.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with Department of State - Bureau of Professional & Occupational Affairs - Dentistry Board before you enroll.
Dental Assistant Wages by Metro Area in Pennsylvania
Dental Assistants Wages by Metro Area in Pennsylvania
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), dental assistants wages in Pennsylvania vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Philadelphia-Camden-Wilmington | 6,510 | $49,570 | $52,220 | $40,040 | $69,250 |
| Pittsburgh | 2,260 | $47,690 | $50,700 | $38,930 | $60,470 |
| Allentown-Bethlehem-Easton | 970 | $47,590 | $50,000 | $37,720 | $62,670 |
| Harrisburg-Carlisle | 720 | $47,420 | $50,210 | $38,310 | $61,150 |
| Lancaster | 630 | $47,310 | $49,460 | $37,650 | $62,130 |
| Scranton--Wilkes-Barre | 450 | $47,220 | $44,890 | $35,440 | $56,520 |
| Reading | 370 | $47,160 | $49,340 | $38,150 | $61,520 |
| York-Hanover | 350 | $46,550 | $51,230 | $38,780 | $70,410 |
| Erie | 230 | $44,930 | $45,360 | $35,570 | $58,880 |
| State College | 150 | $46,210 | $46,950 | $36,540 | $61,360 |
| Chambersburg | 120 | $46,200 | $49,700 | $37,470 | $68,060 |
| Johnstown | 110 | $43,370 | $43,470 | $35,220 | $56,570 |
| Altoona | 90 | $45,310 | $44,440 | $35,480 | $58,180 |
| Lebanon | 80 | $46,740 | $51,130 | $38,270 | $61,330 |
| Gettysburg | 70 | $45,930 | $46,060 | $37,030 | $59,840 |
| Williamsport | 70 | $46,620 | $49,880 | $35,360 | $62,150 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for dental assistants in Pennsylvania? Pennsylvania currently employs approximately 12,080 dental assistants 1. Nationally, dental assistant employment is projected to grow 6.4% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as a dental assistant in Pennsylvania with an out-of-state license? Contact the Department of State - Bureau of Professional & Occupational Affairs - Dentistry Board for details on reciprocity and credential transfer.
What training programs are available in Pennsylvania? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Pennsylvania.
How much do dental assistants earn in Pennsylvania compared to the national average? The median annual wage for dental assistants in Pennsylvania is $47,930, which is $630 above the national median of $47,300 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Pennsylvania
Top local programs
- Best Dental Assistant Programs in Allentown, Pennsylvania (2026)
- Best Dental Assistant Programs in Altoona, Pennsylvania (2026)
- Best Dental Assistant Programs in Bethel Park, Pennsylvania (2026)
- Best Dental Assistant Programs in Bethlehem, Pennsylvania (2026)
- Best Dental Assistant Programs in Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania (2026)
- Best Dental Assistant Programs in Butler, Pennsylvania (2026)
- Best Dental Assistant Programs in Chambersburg, Pennsylvania (2026)
- Best Dental Assistant Programs in Chester, Pennsylvania (2026)
- Best Dental Assistant Programs in East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania (2026)
- Best Dental Assistant Programs in Easton, Pennsylvania (2026)
- Best Dental Assistant Programs in Erie, Pennsylvania (2026)
- Best Dental Assistant Programs in Hanover, Pennsylvania (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Pennsylvania (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Pennsylvania
- Best HVAC Schools in Pennsylvania (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Pennsylvania
- Best Plumbing Schools in Pennsylvania (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Pennsylvania
Explore More Trades in Pennsylvania
- Electrician in Pennsylvania
- Plumber in Pennsylvania
- HVAC Technician in Pennsylvania
- Welder in Pennsylvania
- Carpenter in Pennsylvania
- Solar Installation Technician in Pennsylvania
- Auto Mechanic in Pennsylvania
- CNC Machinist in Pennsylvania
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Pennsylvania
- Medical Assistant in Pennsylvania
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Department of State - Bureau of Professional & Occupational Affairs - Dentistry Board - Licensing Information: https://www.dos.pa.gov/ProfessionalLicensing/BoardsCommissions/Dentistry/Pages/default.aspx ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |