How to Become a Dental Assistant in Utah (2026)

Utah employs about 6,640 dental assistants earning a median $37,760 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Dental Assistant here means completing a short dental assisting program or on-the-job training where allowed, then DANB CDA and any state RDA or radiography permit the board requires. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.

Compare Dental Assistant Schools in Utah

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the page's primary location.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
180.2Contact school for pricing$66,97843%Yes*31 mi
273.8Contact school for pricing$42,070Not reportedYes*75 mi
Sponsored Ad
372.8Contact school for pricing$69,88345%Yes*36 mi
463.7Contact school for pricing$47,22454%Yes*41 mi
Sponsored Ad
560.5Contact school for pricing$38,94645%Yes*94 mi
659.4$4,594 - $20,923$61,34134%Yes*174 mi
Sponsored Ad
759.3Contact school for pricing$39,28481%19 mi
851.6Contact school for pricing$55,27929%Yes*3 mi
Sponsored Ad
947.9Contact school for pricing$47,706Not reported25 mi
1040.4Contact school for pricing$45,73650%8 mi
Sponsored Ad

Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

Utah employs approximately 6,640 dental assistants according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $37,760 1. The state’s concentration of dental assistant jobs is 1.54x the national average, indicating strong demand. Nationally, dental assistant employment is projected to grow 6.4% from 2024 to 2034, with about 52,900 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Dental Assistant in Utah, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.

At a Glance

  • Training paths: dental assisting program or on-the-job training where the state allows it (find programs)
  • Typical timeline: a short dental assisting program or on-the-job training where allowed, then DANB CDA and any state RDA or radiography permit the board requires
  • Exam: DANB CDA and/or state RDA or radiography permit
  • Median wage (Utah): $37,760 per year 1

Quick Answers About How to Become a Dental Assistant in Utah

How to become a Dental Assistant in Utah? Complete a short dental assisting program or on-the-job training where allowed, then DANB CDA and any state RDA or radiography permit the board requires. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.

How long does it take? Most people finish a short dental assisting program or on-the-job training where allowed, then DANB CDA and any state RDA or radiography permit the board requires. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.

Do I need a license in Utah? Licensing varies. Confirm with the program and employer. See the licensing section below.

What do dental assistants earn in Utah? The median annual wage for dental assistants in Utah is $37,760 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $35,380 and experienced professionals can earn $47,680 or more 1.

How to Become a Dental Assistant in Utah

  1. Meet basic requirements. Most Utah dental assisting programs expect a high school diploma or GED. Confirm age and background rules with the employer.
  2. Complete a dental assisting program or on-the-job training if the state allows it. Finish a certificate (often under a year) or associate program in Utah. Prefer a CODA-accredited program. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
  3. Earn CDA and any state assistant credential. DANB CDA is the national exam. Some states also require RDA, a radiography permit, or expanded-functions (EFDA). Confirm current permits with the employer.
  4. Apply to the state dental board when registration is required. Some states register assistants; others only permit X-ray or expanded duties; some allow OJT with no statewide license. Do not treat a hygienist or dentist license as the assistant path.

Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.

Dental Assistant License Requirements in Utah

Dental assistants in Utah typically complete a short program or on-the-job training where allowed, then earn DANB CDA and any RDA or radiography permit the employer requires.

Typical path

  1. Meet the program’s entry rules.

  2. Complete a dental assisting program or OJT if the state allows it.

  3. Earn DANB CDA and any state RDA or radiography permit.

  4. Apply to the employer when registration or licensure is required.

Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the employer before you enroll.

Dental Assistant Wages by Metro Area in Utah

Dental Assistants Wages by Metro Area in Utah

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), dental assistants wages in Utah vary by metro area.

Metro AreaEmploymentMedian Annual WageAvg. Annual WageEntry Level
(10th pctile)
Experienced
(90th pctile)
Salt Lake City-Murray2,470$38,330$42,350$36,620$48,440
Provo-Orem-Lehi1,640$36,580$40,000$35,620$46,270
Ogden1,120$37,300$39,950$31,700$47,030
St. George460$36,350$38,990$30,490$45,690
Logan270$35,680$36,310$30,330$44,770

Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the job outlook for dental assistants in Utah? Utah currently employs approximately 6,640 dental assistants 1. Nationally, dental assistant employment is projected to grow 6.4% from 2024 to 2034 2.

Can I work as a dental assistant in Utah with an out-of-state license? Confirm reciprocity rules with the program and employer.

What training programs are available in Utah? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Utah.

How much do dental assistants earn in Utah compared to the national average? The median annual wage for dental assistants in Utah is $37,760, which is $9,540 below the national median of $47,300 according to BLS data 1.

In Utah

Top local programs

Explore More Trades in Utah

Citations

About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

References


  1. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  2. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)
O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones)U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.)O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13)