How to Become a Dental Assistant in Vermont (2026)
Vermont employs about 580 dental assistants earning a median $52,760 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Dental Assistant here means completing a short dental assisting program or on-the-job training where allowed, then DANB CDA and any state RDA or radiography permit the board requires, then applying through Vermont Secretary of State - Dental - Board.
Compare Dental Assistant Schools in Vermont
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Charles H McCann Technical School | 74.3 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | 94% | — | 111 mi |
| 2 | Hudson Valley Community College | 62.7 | Contact school for pricing | $54,719 | 34% | Yes* | 117 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 3 | Middlesex Community College | 62.1 | Contact school for pricing | $56,301 | 23% | Yes* | 142 mi |
| 4 | Springfield Technical Community College | 58.4 | Contact school for pricing | $51,917 | Not reported | Yes* | 149 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 5 | Quinsigamond Community College | 58.1 | Contact school for pricing | $55,076 | 21% | Yes* | 143 mi |
| 6 | NHTI-Concord's Community College | 56.4 | Contact school for pricing | $55,056 | Not reported | Yes* | 95 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 7 | Mount Wachusett Community College | 53.3 | Contact school for pricing | $53,977 | 27% | Yes* | 122 mi |
| 8 | Northern Essex Community College | 52.4 | Contact school for pricing | $52,743 | 20% | Yes* | 133 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Vermont employs approximately 580 dental assistants according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $52,760 1. Nationally, dental assistant employment is projected to grow 6.4% from 2024 to 2034, with about 52,900 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Dental Assistant in Vermont, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: dental assisting program or on-the-job training where the state allows it (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a short dental assisting program or on-the-job training where allowed, then DANB CDA and any state RDA or radiography permit the board requires
- Licensing authority: Vermont Secretary of State - Dental - Board
- Exam: DANB CDA and/or state RDA or radiography permit
- Median wage (Vermont): $52,760 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Dental Assistant in Vermont
How to become a Dental Assistant in Vermont? Complete a short dental assisting program or on-the-job training where allowed, then DANB CDA and any state RDA or radiography permit the board requires. Apply through Vermont Secretary of State - Dental - Board.
How long does it take? Most people finish a short dental assisting program or on-the-job training where allowed, then DANB CDA and any state RDA or radiography permit the board requires. Confirm current hour totals with the program and Vermont Secretary of State - Dental - Board.
Do I need a license in Vermont? Yes. Vermont credentials this role through Vermont Secretary of State - Dental - Board 3. See the licensing section below.
What do dental assistants earn in Vermont? The median annual wage for dental assistants in Vermont is $52,760 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $45,260 and experienced professionals can earn $66,410 or more 1.
How to Become a Dental Assistant in Vermont
- Meet basic requirements. Most Vermont dental assisting programs expect a high school diploma or GED. Confirm age and background rules with Vermont Secretary of State - Dental - Board.
- Complete a dental assisting program or on-the-job training if the state allows it. Finish a certificate (often under a year) or associate program in Vermont. Prefer a CODA-accredited program. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
- Earn CDA and any state assistant credential. DANB CDA is the national exam. Some states also require RDA, a radiography permit, or expanded-functions (EFDA). Confirm current permits with Vermont Secretary of State - Dental - Board.
- Apply to the state dental board when registration is required. Some states register assistants; others only permit X-ray or expanded duties; some allow OJT with no statewide license. Do not treat a hygienist or dentist license as the assistant path.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Dental Assistant License Requirements in Vermont
Dental assistants in Vermont typically complete a short program or on-the-job training where allowed, then earn DANB CDA and any RDA or radiography permit Vermont Secretary of State - Dental - Board requires. See Vermont Secretary of State - Dental - Board 3.
Typical path
Meet the program’s entry rules.
Complete a dental assisting program or OJT if the state allows it.
Earn DANB CDA and any state RDA or radiography permit.
Apply to Vermont Secretary of State - Dental - Board when registration or licensure is required.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with Vermont Secretary of State - Dental - Board before you enroll.
Dental Assistant Wages by Metro Area in Vermont
Dental Assistants Wages by Metro Area in Vermont
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), dental assistants wages in Vermont vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Burlington-South Burlington | 270 | $57,230 | $56,340 | $46,820 | $68,400 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for dental assistants in Vermont? Vermont currently employs approximately 580 dental assistants 1. Nationally, dental assistant employment is projected to grow 6.4% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as a dental assistant in Vermont with an out-of-state license? Contact the Vermont Secretary of State - Dental - Board for details on reciprocity and credential transfer.
What training programs are available in Vermont? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Vermont.
How much do dental assistants earn in Vermont compared to the national average? The median annual wage for dental assistants in Vermont is $52,760, which is $5,460 above the national median of $47,300 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Vermont
Top local programs
- Best Dental Assistant Programs in Barre, Vermont (2026)
- Best Dental Assistant Programs in Burlington, Vermont (2026)
- Best Dental Assistant Programs in Essex Junction, Vermont (2026)
- Best Dental Assistant Programs in Rutland, Vermont (2026)
- Best Dental Assistant Programs in South Burlington, Vermont (2026)
- Best Dental Assistant Programs in Vermont (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Vermont (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Vermont
- Best HVAC Schools in Vermont (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Vermont
- Best Plumbing Schools in Vermont (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Vermont
Explore More Trades in Vermont
- Electrician in Vermont
- Plumber in Vermont
- HVAC Technician in Vermont
- Welder in Vermont
- Carpenter in Vermont
- Solar Installation Technician in Vermont
- Auto Mechanic in Vermont
- CNC Machinist in Vermont
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Vermont
- Medical Assistant in Vermont
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Vermont Secretary of State - Dental - Board - Licensing Information: https://sos.vermont.gov/dental-examiners/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |