How to Become a Dental Assistant in West Virginia (2026)
West Virginia employs about 1,290 dental assistants earning a median $37,960 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Dental Assistant here means completing a short dental assisting program or on-the-job training where allowed, then DANB CDA and any state RDA or radiography permit the board requires. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
Compare Dental Assistant Schools in West Virginia
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Mercer County Technical Education Center | 64.7 | Contact school for pricing | $38,627 | Not reported | — | 90 mi |
| 2 | Collins Career Technical Center | 63.7 | Contact school for pricing | $51,897 | 58% | — | 66 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 3 | BridgeValley Community & Technical College | 55.3 | Contact school for pricing | $57,464 | 30% | Yes* | 31 mi |
| 4 | Scioto County Career Technical Center | 54.7 | Contact school for pricing | $45,417 | 73% | — | 94 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 5 | Huntington Junior College | 45.2 | Contact school for pricing | $28,491 | Not reported | Yes* | 66 mi |
| 6 | Hocking College | 44.3 | Contact school for pricing | $44,764 | Not reported | Yes* | 74 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 7 | Ross College-Morgantown | 38.9 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | 69% | — | 97 mi |
| 8 | Mountwest Community and Technical College | 33.4 | Contact school for pricing | $45,495 | 18% | — | 67 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 9 | Ross Medical Education Center-Charleston | 33.1 | Contact school for pricing | $32,987 | 59% | — | 29 mi |
| 10 | West Virginia Junior College-Bridgeport | Not rated | Contact school for pricing | $33,018 | 56% | Yes* | 69 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
West Virginia employs approximately 1,290 dental assistants according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $37,960 1. Nationally, dental assistant employment is projected to grow 6.4% from 2024 to 2034, with about 52,900 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Dental Assistant in West Virginia, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: dental assisting program or on-the-job training where the state allows it (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a short dental assisting program or on-the-job training where allowed, then DANB CDA and any state RDA or radiography permit the board requires
- Exam: DANB CDA and/or state RDA or radiography permit
- Median wage (West Virginia): $37,960 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Dental Assistant in West Virginia
How to become a Dental Assistant in West Virginia? Complete a short dental assisting program or on-the-job training where allowed, then DANB CDA and any state RDA or radiography permit the board requires. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish a short dental assisting program or on-the-job training where allowed, then DANB CDA and any state RDA or radiography permit the board requires. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.
Do I need a license in West Virginia? Licensing varies. Confirm with the program and employer. See the licensing section below.
What do dental assistants earn in West Virginia? The median annual wage for dental assistants in West Virginia is $37,960 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $31,760 and experienced professionals can earn $52,630 or more 1.
How to Become a Dental Assistant in West Virginia
- Meet basic requirements. Most West Virginia dental assisting programs expect a high school diploma or GED. Confirm age and background rules with the employer.
- Complete a dental assisting program or on-the-job training if the state allows it. Finish a certificate (often under a year) or associate program in West Virginia. Prefer a CODA-accredited program. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
- Earn CDA and any state assistant credential. DANB CDA is the national exam. Some states also require RDA, a radiography permit, or expanded-functions (EFDA). Confirm current permits with the employer.
- Apply to the state dental board when registration is required. Some states register assistants; others only permit X-ray or expanded duties; some allow OJT with no statewide license. Do not treat a hygienist or dentist license as the assistant path.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Dental Assistant License Requirements in West Virginia
Dental assistants in West Virginia typically complete a short program or on-the-job training where allowed, then earn DANB CDA and any RDA or radiography permit the employer requires.
Typical path
Meet the program’s entry rules.
Complete a dental assisting program or OJT if the state allows it.
Earn DANB CDA and any state RDA or radiography permit.
Apply to the employer when registration or licensure is required.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the employer before you enroll.
Dental Assistant Wages by Metro Area in West Virginia
Dental Assistants Wages by Metro Area in West Virginia
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), dental assistants wages in West Virginia vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Washington-Arlington-Alexandria | 8,440 | $47,540 | $50,450 | $37,870 | $62,790 |
| Hagerstown-Martinsburg | 260 | $46,690 | $46,390 | $35,120 | $59,920 |
| Huntington-Ashland | 240 | $42,660 | $42,720 | $32,120 | $56,760 |
| Charleston | 210 | $38,090 | $42,640 | $34,270 | $57,270 |
| Winchester | 180 | $46,310 | $44,620 | $36,370 | $56,270 |
| Beckley | 110 | $37,410 | $40,460 | $30,370 | $48,930 |
| Wheeling | 110 | $44,610 | $45,810 | $36,410 | $60,540 |
| Morgantown | 100 | $38,540 | $41,530 | $30,270 | $53,700 |
| Parkersburg-Vienna | 70 | $36,820 | $40,100 | $32,410 | $49,270 |
| Weirton-Steubenville | 60 | $43,790 | $44,810 | $34,360 | $64,450 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for dental assistants in West Virginia? West Virginia currently employs approximately 1,290 dental assistants 1. Nationally, dental assistant employment is projected to grow 6.4% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as a dental assistant in West Virginia with an out-of-state license? Confirm reciprocity rules with the program and employer.
What training programs are available in West Virginia? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in West Virginia.
How much do dental assistants earn in West Virginia compared to the national average? The median annual wage for dental assistants in West Virginia is $37,960, which is $9,340 below the national median of $47,300 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In West Virginia
Top local programs
- Best Dental Assistant Programs in Beckley, West Virginia (2026)
- Best Dental Assistant Programs in Bluefield, West Virginia (2026)
- Best Dental Assistant Programs in Charles Town, West Virginia (2026)
- Best Dental Assistant Programs in Charleston, West Virginia (2026)
- Best Dental Assistant Programs in Clarksburg, West Virginia (2026)
- Best Dental Assistant Programs in Elkins, West Virginia (2026)
- Best Dental Assistant Programs in Fairmont, West Virginia (2026)
- Best Dental Assistant Programs in Huntington, West Virginia (2026)
- Best Dental Assistant Programs in Martinsburg, West Virginia (2026)
- Best Dental Assistant Programs in Morgantown, West Virginia (2026)
- Best Dental Assistant Programs in Parkersburg, West Virginia (2026)
- Best Dental Assistant Programs in Point Pleasant, West Virginia (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in West Virginia (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in West Virginia
- Best HVAC Schools in West Virginia (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in West Virginia
- Best Plumbing Schools in West Virginia (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in West Virginia
Explore More Trades in West Virginia
- Electrician in West Virginia
- Plumber in West Virginia
- HVAC Technician in West Virginia
- Welder in West Virginia
- Carpenter in West Virginia
- Solar Installation Technician in West Virginia
- Auto Mechanic in West Virginia
- CNC Machinist in West Virginia
- Certified Nursing Assistant in West Virginia
- Medical Assistant in West Virginia
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |