How to Become a Dialysis Technician in Alabama (2026)

Alabama employs about 1,210 dialysis technicians earning a median $43,600 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025; proxy category “Health Technologists and Technicians, All Other”). Training as a Dialysis Technician here means completing approved dialysis technician training, a national exam (NNCC, BONENT, or equivalent), and state CHT certification where required. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.

Compare Dialysis Technician Schools in Alabama

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the page's primary location.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
161.0Contact school for pricing$40,63860%Yes*602 mi
254.3Contact school for pricing$47,00955%Yes*148 mi
Sponsored Ad
350.7$3,480 - $11,034$40,58647%Yes*241 mi
450.1Contact school for pricing$40,635Not reportedYes*291 mi
Sponsored Ad
547.9Contact school for pricing$40,96446%Yes*151 mi
646.5Contact school for pricing$42,97944%Yes*182 mi
Sponsored Ad
741.7Contact school for pricing$48,14123%Yes*276 mi
839.3Contact school for pricing$34,96541%158 mi
Sponsored Ad
938.7Contact school for pricing$28,44959%281 mi
1034.1Contact school for pricing$36,035Not reported629 mi
Sponsored Ad

Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, Alabama employs approximately 1,210 workers in the related “Health Technologists and Technicians, All Other” category (SOC 29-2099), with a median annual wage of $43,600 1. Nationally, employment in this category is projected to grow 5.2% from 2024 to 2034, with about 13,600 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Dialysis Technician in Alabama, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.

A note on salary data: The Bureau of Labor Statistics does not track dialysis technician salaries as a separate category. The wage figures on this page are based on the closest matching BLS classification: Health Technologists and Technicians, All Other (SOC 29-2099). Actual dialysis technician earnings may vary.

At a Glance

  • Training paths: approved hemodialysis technician training (find programs)
  • Typical timeline: approved dialysis technician training, a national exam (NNCC, BONENT, or equivalent), and state CHT certification where required
  • Exam: NNCC CCHT, BONENT, or the exam the state accepts
  • Median wage (Alabama): $43,600 per year (based on related “Health Technologists and Technicians, All Other” category) 1

Quick Answers About How to Become a Dialysis Technician in Alabama

How to become a Dialysis Technician in Alabama? Complete approved dialysis technician training, a national exam (NNCC, BONENT, or equivalent), and state CHT certification where required. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.

How long does it take? Most people finish approved dialysis technician training, a national exam (NNCC, BONENT, or equivalent), and state CHT certification where required. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.

Do I need a license in Alabama? Licensing varies. Confirm with the program and employer. See the licensing section below.

What do dialysis technicians earn in Alabama? The BLS does not track dialysis technician wages separately. Based on the related “Health Technologists and Technicians, All Other” category, the median annual wage in Alabama is $43,600, with entry-level wages around $37,170 and experienced workers earning $59,840 or more 1.

How to Become a Dialysis Technician in Alabama

  1. Meet entry rules. Programs typically require a high school diploma or GED. Confirm current rules with the employer.
  2. Complete approved hemodialysis technician training. Finish a state-approved dialysis technician program. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
  3. Pass the required exam. Pass NNCC, BONENT, or the exam the employer accepts. CMS also expects a national dialysis technician credential.
  4. Get listed or certified. Obtain CHT or the state equivalent where required. Confirm with the employer.

Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.

Dialysis Technician License Requirements in Alabama

Dialysis technicians in Alabama complete approved training and a national exam. Some states certify this role; most do not. Confirm with the employer when a state credential exists.

Typical path

  1. Meet entry rules.

  2. Complete approved hemodialysis technician training.

  3. Pass NNCC, BONENT, or the state-accepted exam.

  4. Obtain CHT or the state equivalent where required.

Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the employer before you enroll.

Dialysis Technician Wages by Metro Area in Alabama

Health Technologists and Technicians, All Other Wages by Metro Area in Alabama

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), health technologists and technicians, all other wages in Alabama vary by metro area.

Metro AreaEmploymentMedian Annual WageAvg. Annual WageEntry Level
(10th pctile)
Experienced
(90th pctile)
Birmingham360$46,170$50,890$39,840$72,650
Columbus130$43,810$49,800$35,420$72,380
Montgomery100$43,220$45,310$38,000$57,430
Auburn-Opelika70$37,930$40,030$30,520$45,240
Tuscaloosa70$39,050$43,750$38,220$57,500
Dothan50$42,820$44,560$36,420$60,540

Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the job outlook for dialysis technicians in Alabama? Alabama employs approximately 1,210 workers in the related “Health Technologists and Technicians, All Other” category 1. Nationally, employment in this category is projected to grow 5.2% from 2024 to 2034 2.

Can I work as a dialysis technician in Alabama with an out-of-state license? Confirm reciprocity rules with the program and employer.

What training programs are available in Alabama? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Alabama.

How much do dialysis technicians earn in Alabama compared to the national average? The median annual wage for dialysis technicians in Alabama is $43,600 (based on the related “Health Technologists and Technicians, All Other” category), which is $5,190 below the national median of $48,790 according to BLS data 1.

In Alabama

Explore More Trades in Alabama

Citations

About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

References


  1. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  2. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)
O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones)U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.)O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13)