How to Become a Dialysis Technician in Iowa (2026)
Iowa employs about 1,600 dialysis technicians earning a median $47,910 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025; proxy category “Health Technologists and Technicians, All Other”). Training as a Dialysis Technician here means completing approved dialysis technician training, a national exam (NNCC, BONENT, or equivalent), and state CHT certification where required. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
Compare Dialysis Technician Schools in Iowa
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Minnesota State Community and Technical College | 64.5 | $5,908 - $17,194 | $54,581 | 47% | Yes* | 302 mi |
| 2 | Northcentral Technical College | 57.8 | Contact school for pricing | $50,869 | 47% | Yes* | 254 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 3 | Southern Crescent Technical College | 54.3 | Contact school for pricing | $47,009 | 55% | Yes* | 799 mi |
| 4 | Atlanta Technical College | 47.9 | Contact school for pricing | $40,964 | 46% | Yes* | 770 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 5 | Stellar Career College | 34.1 | Contact school for pricing | $36,035 | Not reported | — | 291 mi |
| 6 | Dorsey College | 24.3 | Contact school for pricing | $34,001 | 48% | — | 518 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 7 | Southern University at Shreveport | 24.1 | Contact school for pricing | $45,588 | Not reported | Yes* | 682 mi |
| 8 | Dorsey College-Wayne | 14.8 | Contact school for pricing | $34,001 | 36% | — | 505 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, Iowa employs approximately 1,600 workers in the related “Health Technologists and Technicians, All Other” category (SOC 29-2099), with a median annual wage of $47,910 1. Nationally, employment in this category is projected to grow 5.2% from 2024 to 2034, with about 13,600 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Dialysis Technician in Iowa, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
A note on salary data: The Bureau of Labor Statistics does not track dialysis technician salaries as a separate category. The wage figures on this page are based on the closest matching BLS classification: Health Technologists and Technicians, All Other (SOC 29-2099). Actual dialysis technician earnings may vary.
At a Glance
- Training paths: approved hemodialysis technician training (find programs)
- Typical timeline: approved dialysis technician training, a national exam (NNCC, BONENT, or equivalent), and state CHT certification where required
- Exam: NNCC CCHT, BONENT, or the exam the state accepts
- Median wage (Iowa): $47,910 per year (based on related “Health Technologists and Technicians, All Other” category) 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Dialysis Technician in Iowa
How to become a Dialysis Technician in Iowa? Complete approved dialysis technician training, a national exam (NNCC, BONENT, or equivalent), and state CHT certification where required. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish approved dialysis technician training, a national exam (NNCC, BONENT, or equivalent), and state CHT certification where required. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.
Do I need a license in Iowa? Licensing varies. Confirm with the program and employer. See the licensing section below.
What do dialysis technicians earn in Iowa? The BLS does not track dialysis technician wages separately. Based on the related “Health Technologists and Technicians, All Other” category, the median annual wage in Iowa is $47,910, with entry-level wages around $38,010 and experienced workers earning $76,690 or more 1.
How to Become a Dialysis Technician in Iowa
- Meet entry rules. Programs typically require a high school diploma or GED. Confirm current rules with the employer.
- Complete approved hemodialysis technician training. Finish a state-approved dialysis technician program. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
- Pass the required exam. Pass NNCC, BONENT, or the exam the employer accepts. CMS also expects a national dialysis technician credential.
- Get listed or certified. Obtain CHT or the state equivalent where required. Confirm with the employer.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Dialysis Technician License Requirements in Iowa
Dialysis technicians in Iowa complete approved training and a national exam. Some states certify this role; most do not. Confirm with the employer when a state credential exists.
Typical path
Meet entry rules.
Complete approved hemodialysis technician training.
Pass NNCC, BONENT, or the state-accepted exam.
Obtain CHT or the state equivalent where required.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the employer before you enroll.
Dialysis Technician Wages by Metro Area in Iowa
Health Technologists and Technicians, All Other Wages by Metro Area in Iowa
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), health technologists and technicians, all other wages in Iowa vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Des Moines-West Des Moines | 500 | $49,960 | $56,200 | $39,240 | $76,690 |
| Omaha | 440 | $48,520 | $58,640 | $38,970 | $80,450 |
| Davenport-Moline-Rock Island | 190 | $47,740 | $55,140 | $38,150 | $79,660 |
| Iowa City | 130 | $62,690 | $63,500 | $42,660 | $88,180 |
| Cedar Rapids | 110 | $47,360 | $52,220 | $38,770 | $79,470 |
| Sioux City | 100 | $45,710 | $48,380 | $37,830 | $62,970 |
| Waterloo-Cedar Falls | 90 | $46,570 | $50,230 | $37,380 | $80,780 |
| Ames | 50 | $48,060 | $49,750 | $38,300 | $68,090 |
| Dubuque | 40 | $53,890 | $55,080 | $37,770 | $76,550 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for dialysis technicians in Iowa? Iowa employs approximately 1,600 workers in the related “Health Technologists and Technicians, All Other” category 1. Nationally, employment in this category is projected to grow 5.2% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as a dialysis technician in Iowa with an out-of-state license? Confirm reciprocity rules with the program and employer.
What training programs are available in Iowa? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Iowa.
How much do dialysis technicians earn in Iowa compared to the national average? The median annual wage for dialysis technicians in Iowa is $47,910 (based on the related “Health Technologists and Technicians, All Other” category), which is $880 below the national median of $48,790 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Iowa
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Iowa (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Iowa
- Best HVAC Schools in Iowa (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Iowa
- Best Plumbing Schools in Iowa (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Iowa
Explore More Trades in Iowa
- Electrician in Iowa
- Plumber in Iowa
- HVAC Technician in Iowa
- Welder in Iowa
- Carpenter in Iowa
- Solar Installation Technician in Iowa
- Auto Mechanic in Iowa
- CNC Machinist in Iowa
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Iowa
- Medical Assistant in Iowa
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |