How to Become a Dialysis Technician in West Virginia (2026)

West Virginia employs about 760 dialysis technicians earning a median $51,580 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025; proxy category “Health Technologists and Technicians, All Other”). Training as a Dialysis Technician here means completing approved dialysis technician training, a national exam (NNCC, BONENT, or equivalent), and state CHT certification where required. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.

Compare Dialysis Technician Schools in West Virginia

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the page's primary location.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
154.3Contact school for pricing$47,00955%Yes*410 mi
251.2$5,550 - $14,834$51,97126%Yes*558 mi
Sponsored Ad
350.7$3,480 - $11,034$40,58647%Yes*550 mi
450.1Contact school for pricing$40,635Not reportedYes*434 mi
Sponsored Ad
547.9Contact school for pricing$40,96446%Yes*384 mi
646.5Contact school for pricing$42,97944%Yes*444 mi
Sponsored Ad
739.3Contact school for pricing$34,96541%596 mi
838.3Contact school for pricing$47,35017%Yes*408 mi
Sponsored Ad
934.1Contact school for pricing$36,035Not reported403 mi
1030.0Contact school for pricing$33,374Not reported358 mi
Sponsored Ad

Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, West Virginia employs approximately 760 workers in the related “Health Technologists and Technicians, All Other” category (SOC 29-2099), with a median annual wage of $51,580 1. Nationally, employment in this category is projected to grow 5.2% from 2024 to 2034, with about 13,600 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Dialysis Technician in West Virginia, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.

A note on salary data: The Bureau of Labor Statistics does not track dialysis technician salaries as a separate category. The wage figures on this page are based on the closest matching BLS classification: Health Technologists and Technicians, All Other (SOC 29-2099). Actual dialysis technician earnings may vary.

At a Glance

  • Training paths: approved hemodialysis technician training (find programs)
  • Typical timeline: approved dialysis technician training, a national exam (NNCC, BONENT, or equivalent), and state CHT certification where required
  • Exam: NNCC CCHT, BONENT, or the exam the state accepts
  • Median wage (West Virginia): $51,580 per year (based on related “Health Technologists and Technicians, All Other” category) 1

Quick Answers About How to Become a Dialysis Technician in West Virginia

How to become a Dialysis Technician in West Virginia? Complete approved dialysis technician training, a national exam (NNCC, BONENT, or equivalent), and state CHT certification where required. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.

How long does it take? Most people finish approved dialysis technician training, a national exam (NNCC, BONENT, or equivalent), and state CHT certification where required. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.

Do I need a license in West Virginia? Licensing varies. Confirm with the program and employer. See the licensing section below.

What do dialysis technicians earn in West Virginia? The BLS does not track dialysis technician wages separately. Based on the related “Health Technologists and Technicians, All Other” category, the median annual wage in West Virginia is $51,580, with entry-level wages around $34,510 and experienced workers earning $71,240 or more 1.

How to Become a Dialysis Technician in West Virginia

  1. Meet entry rules. Programs typically require a high school diploma or GED. Confirm current rules with the employer.
  2. Complete approved hemodialysis technician training. Finish a state-approved dialysis technician program. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
  3. Pass the required exam. Pass NNCC, BONENT, or the exam the employer accepts. CMS also expects a national dialysis technician credential.
  4. Get listed or certified. Obtain CHT or the state equivalent where required. Confirm with the employer.

Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.

Dialysis Technician License Requirements in West Virginia

Dialysis technicians in West Virginia complete approved training and a national exam. Some states certify this role; most do not. Confirm with the employer when a state credential exists.

Typical path

  1. Meet entry rules.

  2. Complete approved hemodialysis technician training.

  3. Pass NNCC, BONENT, or the state-accepted exam.

  4. Obtain CHT or the state equivalent where required.

Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the employer before you enroll.

Dialysis Technician Wages by Metro Area in West Virginia

Health Technologists and Technicians, All Other Wages by Metro Area in West Virginia

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), health technologists and technicians, all other wages in West Virginia vary by metro area.

Metro AreaEmploymentMedian Annual WageAvg. Annual WageEntry Level
(10th pctile)
Experienced
(90th pctile)
Washington-Arlington-Alexandria3,630$55,530$59,410$44,780$80,180
Huntington-Ashland150$46,480$51,170$37,760$73,490
Charleston110$52,210$58,570$38,680$80,070
Hagerstown-Martinsburg80$54,680$57,310$38,910$82,280
Winchester70$39,620$49,190$36,560$73,890
Beckley70$51,700$52,380$37,850$65,170
Weirton-Steubenville50$39,350$44,360$34,520$61,730
Wheeling50$48,760$53,310$35,520$70,810

Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the job outlook for dialysis technicians in West Virginia? West Virginia employs approximately 760 workers in the related “Health Technologists and Technicians, All Other” category 1. Nationally, employment in this category is projected to grow 5.2% from 2024 to 2034 2.

Can I work as a dialysis technician in West Virginia with an out-of-state license? Confirm reciprocity rules with the program and employer.

What training programs are available in West Virginia? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in West Virginia.

How much do dialysis technicians earn in West Virginia compared to the national average? The median annual wage for dialysis technicians in West Virginia is $51,580 (based on the related “Health Technologists and Technicians, All Other” category), which is $2,790 above the national median of $48,790 according to BLS data 1.

In West Virginia

Explore More Trades in West Virginia

Citations

About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

References


  1. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  2. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)
O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones)U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.)O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13)