How to Become a Digital Court Reporter in Arkansas (2026)
Arkansas employs about 130 digital court reporters earning a median $59,180 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Digital Court Reporter here means completing a digital court-reporting or captioning program plus AAERT. Certified shorthand reporter licenses are a different credential.
Compare Digital Court Reporter Schools in Arkansas
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Arlington Career Institute | 57.5 | Contact school for pricing | $36,508 | 75% | Yes* | 308 mi |
| 2 | Neosho County Community College | 55.0 | Contact school for pricing | $55,338 | 36% | Yes* | 254 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 3 | Lamar State College-Orange | 53.6 | Contact school for pricing | $54,162 | Not reported | Yes* | 350 mi |
| 4 | Lake Land College | 53.4 | $4,415 - $14,301 | $48,594 | 56% | — | 378 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 5 | Black Hawk College | 52.4 | Contact school for pricing | $49,173 | 41% | Yes* | 462 mi |
| 6 | Pearl River Community College | 52.2 | Contact school for pricing | $43,603 | Not reported | Yes* | 329 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 7 | Des Moines Area Community College | 50.0 | Contact school for pricing | $51,817 | 37% | Yes* | 470 mi |
| 8 | South Suburban College | 48.6 | Contact school for pricing | $45,069 | Not reported | Yes* | 527 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 9 | Gadsden State Community College | 47.7 | $4,272 - $10,189 | $46,678 | 35% | Yes* | 370 mi |
| 10 | Central Georgia Technical College | 46.5 | Contact school for pricing | $42,979 | 44% | Yes* | 527 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Arkansas employs approximately 130 digital court reporters according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $59,180 1. The state’s concentration of digital court reporter jobs is 1.20x the national average, indicating strong demand. Nationally, digital court reporter employment is projected to grow -0.3% from 2024 to 2034, with about 1,700 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Digital Court Reporter in Arkansas, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: digital court-reporting program (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a digital court-reporting or captioning program plus AAERT. Certified shorthand reporter licenses are a different credential
- Exam: AAERT
- Median wage (Arkansas): $59,180 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Digital Court Reporter in Arkansas
How to become a Digital Court Reporter in Arkansas? Complete a digital court-reporting or captioning program plus AAERT. Certified shorthand reporter licenses are a different credential. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish a digital court-reporting or captioning program plus AAERT. Certified shorthand reporter licenses are a different credential. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.
Do I need a license in Arkansas? Most states do not require a statewide occupational license. Employers typically expect AAERT. See the licensing section below.
What do digital court reporters earn in Arkansas? The median annual wage for digital court reporters in Arkansas is $59,180 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $53,200 and experienced professionals can earn $80,090 or more 1.
How to Become a Digital Court Reporter in Arkansas
- Complete a digital reporting program. Finish a digital court-reporting or captioning program. This is not a steno-machine apprenticeship.
- Earn AAERT. AAERT is the digital and electronic reporting path. Do not treat a certified shorthand reporter (CSR/CCR) row or a Board of Court Reporting as the digital-reporter credential.
- Most states do not license digital reporters as a separate occupation. Confirm employer and court-contract rules. Do not apply to a steno court-reporting board for a digital-only path.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Digital Court Reporter License Requirements in Arkansas
Digital court reporters typically earn AAERT. Certified shorthand reporter licenses and Boards of Court Reporting are a related but different (steno) path, not the digital credential.
Typical path
Complete a digital reporting program.
Earn AAERT.
Do not treat a steno CSR license as the digital path.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Digital Court Reporter Wages by Metro Area in Arkansas
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for digital court reporters in Arkansas? Arkansas currently employs approximately 130 digital court reporters 1. Nationally, digital court reporter employment is projected to grow -0.3% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in Arkansas? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Arkansas.
How much do digital court reporters earn in Arkansas compared to the national average? The median annual wage for digital court reporters in Arkansas is $59,180, which is $8,130 below the national median of $67,310 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Arkansas
Top local programs
- Best Digital Court Reporter Programs in Arkadelphia, Arkansas (2026)
- Best Digital Court Reporter Programs in Arkansas (2026)
- Best Digital Court Reporter Programs in Batesville, Arkansas (2026)
- Best Digital Court Reporter Programs in Bella Vista, Arkansas (2026)
- Best Digital Court Reporter Programs in Bentonville, Arkansas (2026)
- Best Digital Court Reporter Programs in Camden, Arkansas (2026)
- Best Digital Court Reporter Programs in Centerton, Arkansas (2026)
- Best Digital Court Reporter Programs in Conway, Arkansas (2026)
- Best Digital Court Reporter Programs in El Dorado, Arkansas (2026)
- Best Digital Court Reporter Programs in Fayetteville AR, Arkansas (2026)
- Best Digital Court Reporter Programs in Fayetteville, Arkansas (2026)
- Best Digital Court Reporter Programs in Fort Smith, Arkansas (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Arkansas (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Arkansas
- Best HVAC Schools in Arkansas (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Arkansas
- Best Plumbing Schools in Arkansas (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Arkansas
Explore More Trades in Arkansas
- Electrician in Arkansas
- Plumber in Arkansas
- HVAC Technician in Arkansas
- Welder in Arkansas
- Carpenter in Arkansas
- Solar Installation Technician in Arkansas
- Auto Mechanic in Arkansas
- CNC Machinist in Arkansas
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Arkansas
- Medical Assistant in Arkansas
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |