How to Become a Digital Court Reporter in California (2026)
California employs about 1,400 digital court reporters earning a median $116,020 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Digital Court Reporter here means completing a digital court-reporting or captioning program plus AAERT. Certified shorthand reporter licenses are a different credential.
Compare Digital Court Reporter Schools in California
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Poway Adult School | Not rated | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | Not reported | Yes* | 221 mi |
| 2 | West Valley College | 69.0 | Contact school for pricing | $51,402 | 52% | Yes* | 188 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 3 | Cerritos College | 56.3 | Contact school for pricing | $54,818 | 30% | Yes* | 134 mi |
| 4 | Downey Adult School | 51.4 | Contact school for pricing | $39,366 | 46% | Yes* | 132 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 5 | GateWay Community College | 49.9 | Contact school for pricing | $70,264 | 24% | Yes* | 445 mi |
| 6 | Cypress College | 49.5 | Contact school for pricing | $57,854 | 36% | — | 140 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 7 | Taft College | 46.3 | Contact school for pricing | $44,555 | 28% | Yes* | 20 mi |
| 8 | College of Marin | 45.7 | Contact school for pricing | $62,664 | 38% | Yes* | 242 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 9 | Bryan University | 44.1 | Contact school for pricing | $39,159 | 32% | Yes* | 453 mi |
| 10 | South Coast College | 38.9 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | 19% | — | 140 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
California employs approximately 1,400 digital court reporters according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $116,020 1. Nationally, digital court reporter employment is projected to grow -0.3% from 2024 to 2034, with about 1,700 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Digital Court Reporter in California, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: digital court-reporting program (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a digital court-reporting or captioning program plus AAERT. Certified shorthand reporter licenses are a different credential
- Exam: AAERT
- Median wage (California): $116,020 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Digital Court Reporter in California
How to become a Digital Court Reporter in California? Complete a digital court-reporting or captioning program plus AAERT. Certified shorthand reporter licenses are a different credential. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish a digital court-reporting or captioning program plus AAERT. Certified shorthand reporter licenses are a different credential. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.
Do I need a license in California? Most states do not require a statewide occupational license. Employers typically expect AAERT. See the licensing section below.
What do digital court reporters earn in California? The median annual wage for digital court reporters in California is $116,020 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $55,280 and experienced professionals can earn $142,930 or more 1.
How to Become a Digital Court Reporter in California
- Complete a digital reporting program. Finish a digital court-reporting or captioning program. This is not a steno-machine apprenticeship.
- Earn AAERT. AAERT is the digital and electronic reporting path. Do not treat a certified shorthand reporter (CSR/CCR) row or a Board of Court Reporting as the digital-reporter credential.
- Most states do not license digital reporters as a separate occupation. Confirm employer and court-contract rules. Do not apply to a steno court-reporting board for a digital-only path.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Digital Court Reporter License Requirements in California
Digital court reporters typically earn AAERT. Certified shorthand reporter licenses and Boards of Court Reporting are a related but different (steno) path, not the digital credential.
Typical path
Complete a digital reporting program.
Earn AAERT.
Do not treat a steno CSR license as the digital path.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Digital Court Reporter Wages by Metro Area in California
Court Reporters and Simultaneous Captioners Wages by Metro Area in California
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), court reporters and simultaneous captioners wages in California vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Los Angeles-Long Beach-Anaheim | 290 | $86,510 | $88,240 | $41,430 | $123,160 |
| San Francisco-Oakland-Fremont | 260 | $129,270 | $120,200 | $62,860 | $141,960 |
| Riverside-San Bernardino-Ontario | 230 | $133,900 | $122,540 | $83,650 | $142,930 |
| Sacramento-Roseville-Folsom | 110 | $118,200 | $109,560 | $55,310 | $137,940 |
| San Diego-Chula Vista-Carlsbad | 110 | $123,230 | $104,720 | $55,380 | $123,450 |
| San Jose-Sunnyvale-Santa Clara | 50 | $143,170 | $128,960 | $84,710 | $143,170 |
| Bakersfield-Delano | 30 | $102,900 | $97,990 | $82,540 | $102,900 |
| Stockton-Lodi | 30 | $138,340 | $123,680 | $97,440 | $138,340 |
| Visalia | 30 | $108,790 | $108,020 | $102,520 | $115,490 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for digital court reporters in California? California currently employs approximately 1,400 digital court reporters 1. Nationally, digital court reporter employment is projected to grow -0.3% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in California? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in California.
How much do digital court reporters earn in California compared to the national average? The median annual wage for digital court reporters in California is $116,020, which is $48,710 above the national median of $67,310 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In California
Top local programs
- Best Digital Court Reporter Programs in Adelanto, California (2026)
- Best Digital Court Reporter Programs in Agoura Hills, California (2026)
- Best Digital Court Reporter Programs in Alameda, California (2026)
- Best Digital Court Reporter Programs in Alhambra, California (2026)
- Best Digital Court Reporter Programs in Aliso Viejo, California (2026)
- Best Digital Court Reporter Programs in American Canyon, California (2026)
- Best Digital Court Reporter Programs in Anaheim, California (2026)
- Best Digital Court Reporter Programs in Antioch, California (2026)
- Best Digital Court Reporter Programs in Apple Valley, California (2026)
- Best Digital Court Reporter Programs in Arcadia, California (2026)
- Best Digital Court Reporter Programs in Arroyo Grande, California (2026)
- Best Digital Court Reporter Programs in Arvin, California (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in California (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in California
- Best HVAC Schools in California (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in California
- Best Plumbing Schools in California (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in California
Explore More Trades in California
- Electrician in California
- Plumber in California
- HVAC Technician in California
- Welder in California
- Carpenter in California
- Solar Installation Technician in California
- Auto Mechanic in California
- CNC Machinist in California
- Certified Nursing Assistant in California
- Medical Assistant in California
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |