How to Become a Digital Court Reporter in Delaware (2026)
Delaware employs about 40 digital court reporters earning a median $44,760 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Digital Court Reporter here means completing a digital court-reporting or captioning program plus AAERT. Certified shorthand reporter licenses are a different credential.
Key Facts
- Median wage (Delaware): $44,760/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Employed in Delaware: 40 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Location quotient: 0.90x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: -0.3% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Digital Court Reporter Schools in Delaware
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | SUNY College of Technology at Alfred | 70.7 | $8,892 - $25,385 | $58,372 | 54% | Yes* | 230 mi |
| 2 | Community College of Rhode Island | 51.2 | $5,550 - $14,834 | $51,971 | 26% | Yes* | 268 mi |
| 3 | Monroe Community College | 50.8 | Contact school for pricing | $47,430 | 25% | Yes* | 278 mi |
| 4 | Plaza College | 49.1 | Contact school for pricing | $45,706 | 65% | Yes* | 129 mi |
| 5 | South Suburban College | 48.6 | Contact school for pricing | $45,069 | Not reported | Yes* | 651 mi |
| 6 | Cuyahoga Community College District | 47.6 | Contact school for pricing | $49,698 | 30% | Yes* | 353 mi |
| 7 | Clark State College | 46.3 | Contact school for pricing | $50,997 | 23% | Yes* | 440 mi |
| 8 | Stark State College | 46.3 | Contact school for pricing | $49,440 | 23% | Yes* | 327 mi |
| 9 | Luzerne County Community College | 43.0 | Contact school for pricing | $49,521 | Not reported | Yes* | 127 mi |
| 10 | Community College of Allegheny County | 40.9 | Contact school for pricing | $54,519 | 24% | Yes* | 247 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Delaware employs approximately 40 digital court reporters according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $44,760 1. Nationally, digital court reporter employment is projected to grow -0.3% from 2024 to 2034, with about 1,700 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Digital Court Reporter in Delaware, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: digital court-reporting program (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a digital court-reporting or captioning program plus AAERT. Certified shorthand reporter licenses are a different credential
- Exam: AAERT
- Median wage (Delaware): $44,760 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Digital Court Reporter in Delaware
How to become a Digital Court Reporter in Delaware? Complete a digital court-reporting or captioning program plus AAERT. Certified shorthand reporter licenses are a different credential. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish a digital court-reporting or captioning program plus AAERT. Certified shorthand reporter licenses are a different credential. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.
Do I need a license in Delaware? Most states do not require a statewide occupational license. Employers typically expect AAERT. See the licensing section below.
What do digital court reporters earn in Delaware? The median annual wage for digital court reporters in Delaware is $44,760 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $40,350 and experienced professionals can earn $86,130 or more 1.
How to Become a Digital Court Reporter in Delaware
- Complete a digital reporting program. Finish a digital court-reporting or captioning program. This is not a steno-machine apprenticeship.
- Earn AAERT. AAERT is the digital and electronic reporting path. Do not treat a certified shorthand reporter (CSR/CCR) row or a Board of Court Reporting as the digital-reporter credential.
- Most states do not license digital reporters as a separate occupation. Confirm employer and court-contract rules. Do not apply to a steno court-reporting board for a digital-only path.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Digital Court Reporter License Requirements in Delaware
Digital court reporters typically earn AAERT. Certified shorthand reporter licenses and Boards of Court Reporting are a related but different (steno) path, not the digital credential.
Typical path
Complete a digital reporting program.
Earn AAERT.
Do not treat a steno CSR license as the digital path.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Digital Court Reporter Wages by Metro Area in Delaware
Court Reporters and Simultaneous Captioners Wages by Metro Area in Delaware
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), court reporters and simultaneous captioners wages in Delaware vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Philadelphia-Camden-Wilmington | 240 | $74,760 | $74,460 | $43,390 | $106,630 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for digital court reporters in Delaware? Delaware currently employs approximately 40 digital court reporters 1. Nationally, digital court reporter employment is projected to grow -0.3% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in Delaware? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Delaware.
How much do digital court reporters earn in Delaware compared to the national average? The median annual wage for digital court reporters in Delaware is $44,760, which is $22,550 below the national median of $67,310 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Delaware
Top local programs
- Best Digital Court Reporter Programs in Delaware (2026)
- Best Digital Court Reporter Programs in Dover, Delaware (2026)
- Best Digital Court Reporter Programs in Georgetown, Delaware (2026)
- Best Digital Court Reporter Programs in Lewes, Delaware (2026)
- Best Digital Court Reporter Programs in Middletown, Delaware (2026)
- Best Digital Court Reporter Programs in Milford, Delaware (2026)
- Best Digital Court Reporter Programs in Millsboro, Delaware (2026)
- Best Digital Court Reporter Programs in Newark, Delaware (2026)
- Best Digital Court Reporter Programs in Ocean View, Delaware (2026)
- Best Digital Court Reporter Programs in Smyrna, Delaware (2026)
- Best Digital Court Reporter Programs in Wilmington, Delaware (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Delaware (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Delaware
- Best HVAC Schools in Delaware (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Delaware
- Best Plumbing Schools in Delaware (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Delaware
Explore More Trades in Delaware
- Electrician in Delaware
- Plumber in Delaware
- HVAC Technician in Delaware
- Welder in Delaware
- Carpenter in Delaware
- Solar Installation Technician in Delaware
- Auto Mechanic in Delaware
- CNC Machinist in Delaware
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Delaware
- Medical Assistant in Delaware
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |