How to Become a Digital Court Reporter in Idaho (2026)
Idaho employs about 40 digital court reporters earning a median $69,330 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Digital Court Reporter here means completing a digital court-reporting or captioning program plus AAERT. Certified shorthand reporter licenses are a different credential.
Compare Digital Court Reporter Schools in Idaho
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition (published, per year) | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | West Valley College | 69.0 | $0 in-state / $8,702 out-of-state | $51,402 | 51% | Yes* | 622 mi |
| 2 | Green River College | 56.8 | $4,711 in-state / $5,263 out-of-state | $60,643 | 39% | — | 417 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 3 | Cerritos College | 56.3 | $1,364 in-state / $12,004 out-of-state | $54,818 | 31% | Yes* | 745 mi |
| 4 | Sitting Bull College | 53.9 | $4,010 | $39,240 | 22% | Yes* | 690 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 5 | Downey Adult School | 51.4 | Contact school for pricing | $39,366 | 31% | Yes* | 743 mi |
| 6 | Cypress College | 49.5 | $1,150 in-state / $12,379 out-of-state | $57,854 | 37% | — | 748 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 7 | Taft College | 46.3 | $1,108 in-state / $10,852 out-of-state | $44,555 | 28% | Yes* | 684 mi |
| 8 | College of Marin | 45.7 | $1,558 in-state / $9,334 out-of-state | $62,664 | 39% | Yes* | 602 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 9 | Navajo Technical University | 43.0 | $4,346 | Not reported | 12% | Yes* | 689 mi |
| 10 | South Coast College | 38.9 | $13,494 | Not reported | 17% | — | 744 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Idaho employs approximately 40 digital court reporters according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $69,330 1. Nationally, digital court reporter employment is projected to grow -0.3% from 2024 to 2034, with about 1,700 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Digital Court Reporter in Idaho, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: digital court-reporting program (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a digital court-reporting or captioning program plus AAERT. Certified shorthand reporter licenses are a different credential
- Exam: AAERT
- Median wage (Idaho): $69,330 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Digital Court Reporter in Idaho
How to become a Digital Court Reporter in Idaho? Complete a digital court-reporting or captioning program plus AAERT. Certified shorthand reporter licenses are a different credential. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish a digital court-reporting or captioning program plus AAERT. Certified shorthand reporter licenses are a different credential. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.
Do I need a license in Idaho? Most states do not require a statewide occupational license. Employers typically expect AAERT. See the licensing section below.
What do digital court reporters earn in Idaho? The median annual wage for digital court reporters in Idaho is $69,330 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $66,290 and experienced professionals can earn $75,460 or more 1.
How to Become a Digital Court Reporter in Idaho
- Complete a digital reporting program. Finish a digital court-reporting or captioning program. This is not a steno-machine apprenticeship.
- Earn AAERT. AAERT is the digital and electronic reporting path. Do not treat a certified shorthand reporter (CSR/CCR) row or a Board of Court Reporting as the digital-reporter credential.
- Most states do not license digital reporters as a separate occupation. Confirm employer and court-contract rules. Do not apply to a steno court-reporting board for a digital-only path.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Digital Court Reporter License Requirements in Idaho
Digital court reporters typically earn AAERT. Certified shorthand reporter licenses and Boards of Court Reporting are a related but different (steno) path, not the digital credential.
Typical path
Complete a digital reporting program.
Earn AAERT.
Do not treat a steno CSR license as the digital path.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Digital Court Reporter Wages by Metro Area in Idaho
Court Reporters and Simultaneous Captioners Wages by Metro Area in Idaho
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), court reporters and simultaneous captioners wages in Idaho vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Boise City | 40 | $69,330 | $70,110 | $66,290 | $75,460 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for digital court reporters in Idaho? Idaho currently employs approximately 40 digital court reporters 1. Nationally, digital court reporter employment is projected to grow -0.3% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in Idaho? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Idaho.
How much do digital court reporters earn in Idaho compared to the national average? The median annual wage for digital court reporters in Idaho is $69,330, which is $2,020 above the national median of $67,310 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Idaho
Top local programs
- Best Digital Court Reporter Programs in Idaho (2026)
- Best Digital Court Reporter Programs in Moscow, Idaho (2026)
- Best Digital Court Reporter Programs in Post Falls, Idaho (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Idaho (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Idaho
- Best HVAC Schools in Idaho (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Idaho
- Best Plumbing Schools in Idaho (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Idaho
Explore More Trades in Idaho
- Electrician in Idaho
- Plumber in Idaho
- HVAC Technician in Idaho
- Welder in Idaho
- Carpenter in Idaho
- Solar Installation Technician in Idaho
- Auto Mechanic in Idaho
- CNC Machinist in Idaho
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Idaho
- Medical Assistant in Idaho
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |