How to Become a Digital Court Reporter in Iowa (2026)
Iowa employs about 160 digital court reporters earning a median $93,810 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Digital Court Reporter here means completing a digital court-reporting or captioning program plus AAERT. Certified shorthand reporter licenses are a different credential.
Key Facts
- Median wage (Iowa): $93,810/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Employed in Iowa: 160 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Location quotient: 1.27x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: -0.3% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Digital Court Reporter Schools in Iowa
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Fox Valley Technical College | 67.6 | $5,040 - $16,862 | $55,857 | 63% | Yes* | 274 mi |
| 2 | Lakeshore Technical College | 63.9 | $4,844 - $14,599 | $50,985 | 46% | Yes* | 297 mi |
| 3 | Madison Area Technical College | 59.1 | Contact school for pricing | $55,207 | 28% | Yes* | 206 mi |
| 4 | Neosho County Community College | 55.0 | Contact school for pricing | $55,338 | 36% | Yes* | 348 mi |
| 5 | Sitting Bull College | 53.9 | $4,010 - $10,012 | $39,240 | 23% | Yes* | 445 mi |
| 6 | Lake Land College | 53.4 | $4,415 - $14,301 | $48,594 | 56% | — | 328 mi |
| 7 | Black Hawk College | 52.4 | Contact school for pricing | $49,173 | 41% | Yes* | 159 mi |
| 8 | Anoka Technical College | 51.7 | Contact school for pricing | $55,035 | Not reported | Yes* | 194 mi |
| 9 | Des Moines Area Community College | 50.0 | Contact school for pricing | $51,817 | 37% | Yes* | 52 mi |
| 10 | South Suburban College | 48.6 | Contact school for pricing | $45,069 | Not reported | Yes* | 295 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Iowa employs approximately 160 digital court reporters according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $93,810 1. The state’s concentration of digital court reporter jobs is 1.27x the national average, indicating strong demand. Nationally, digital court reporter employment is projected to grow -0.3% from 2024 to 2034, with about 1,700 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Digital Court Reporter in Iowa, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: digital court-reporting program (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a digital court-reporting or captioning program plus AAERT. Certified shorthand reporter licenses are a different credential
- Exam: AAERT
- Median wage (Iowa): $93,810 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Digital Court Reporter in Iowa
How to become a Digital Court Reporter in Iowa? Complete a digital court-reporting or captioning program plus AAERT. Certified shorthand reporter licenses are a different credential. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish a digital court-reporting or captioning program plus AAERT. Certified shorthand reporter licenses are a different credential. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.
Do I need a license in Iowa? Most states do not require a statewide occupational license. Employers typically expect AAERT. See the licensing section below.
What do digital court reporters earn in Iowa? The median annual wage for digital court reporters in Iowa is $93,810 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $63,560 and experienced professionals can earn $104,490 or more 1.
How to Become a Digital Court Reporter in Iowa
- Complete a digital reporting program. Finish a digital court-reporting or captioning program. This is not a steno-machine apprenticeship.
- Earn AAERT. AAERT is the digital and electronic reporting path. Do not treat a certified shorthand reporter (CSR/CCR) row or a Board of Court Reporting as the digital-reporter credential.
- Most states do not license digital reporters as a separate occupation. Confirm employer and court-contract rules. Do not apply to a steno court-reporting board for a digital-only path.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Digital Court Reporter License Requirements in Iowa
Digital court reporters typically earn AAERT. Certified shorthand reporter licenses and Boards of Court Reporting are a related but different (steno) path, not the digital credential.
Typical path
Complete a digital reporting program.
Earn AAERT.
Do not treat a steno CSR license as the digital path.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Digital Court Reporter Wages by Metro Area in Iowa
Court Reporters and Simultaneous Captioners Wages by Metro Area in Iowa
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), court reporters and simultaneous captioners wages in Iowa vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Des Moines-West Des Moines | 50 | $82,040 | $87,100 | $62,340 | $118,960 |
| Omaha | 40 | $77,900 | $78,750 | $64,270 | $93,810 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for digital court reporters in Iowa? Iowa currently employs approximately 160 digital court reporters 1. Nationally, digital court reporter employment is projected to grow -0.3% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in Iowa? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Iowa.
How much do digital court reporters earn in Iowa compared to the national average? The median annual wage for digital court reporters in Iowa is $93,810, which is $26,500 above the national median of $67,310 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Iowa
Top local programs
- Best Digital Court Reporter Programs in Altoona, Iowa (2026)
- Best Digital Court Reporter Programs in Ames, Iowa (2026)
- Best Digital Court Reporter Programs in Ankeny, Iowa (2026)
- Best Digital Court Reporter Programs in Bettendorf, Iowa (2026)
- Best Digital Court Reporter Programs in Boone, Iowa (2026)
- Best Digital Court Reporter Programs in Burlington, Iowa (2026)
- Best Digital Court Reporter Programs in Cedar Falls, Iowa (2026)
- Best Digital Court Reporter Programs in Cedar Rapids, Iowa (2026)
- Best Digital Court Reporter Programs in Clinton, Iowa (2026)
- Best Digital Court Reporter Programs in Clive, Iowa (2026)
- Best Digital Court Reporter Programs in Coralville, Iowa (2026)
- Best Digital Court Reporter Programs in Council Bluffs, Iowa (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Iowa (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Iowa
- Best HVAC Schools in Iowa (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Iowa
- Best Plumbing Schools in Iowa (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Iowa
Explore More Trades in Iowa
- Electrician in Iowa
- Plumber in Iowa
- HVAC Technician in Iowa
- Welder in Iowa
- Carpenter in Iowa
- Solar Installation Technician in Iowa
- Auto Mechanic in Iowa
- CNC Machinist in Iowa
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Iowa
- Medical Assistant in Iowa
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |