How to Become a Digital Court Reporter in New Jersey (2026)
New Jersey employs about 200 digital court reporters (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Digital Court Reporter here means completing a digital court-reporting or captioning program plus AAERT. Certified shorthand reporter licenses are a different credential.
Compare Digital Court Reporter Schools in New Jersey
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | SUNY College of Technology at Alfred | 70.7 | $8,892 - $25,385 | $58,372 | 54% | Yes* | 213 mi |
| 2 | Community College of Rhode Island | 51.2 | $5,550 - $14,834 | $51,971 | 26% | Yes* | 166 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 3 | Monroe Community College | 50.8 | Contact school for pricing | $47,430 | 25% | Yes* | 241 mi |
| 4 | Plaza College | 49.1 | Contact school for pricing | $45,706 | 65% | Yes* | 26 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 5 | South Suburban College | 48.6 | Contact school for pricing | $45,069 | Not reported | Yes* | 695 mi |
| 6 | Cuyahoga Community College District | 47.6 | Contact school for pricing | $49,698 | 30% | Yes* | 389 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 7 | Clark State College | 46.3 | Contact school for pricing | $50,997 | 23% | Yes* | 502 mi |
| 8 | Stark State College | 46.3 | Contact school for pricing | $49,440 | 23% | Yes* | 373 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 9 | Luzerne County Community College | 43.0 | Contact school for pricing | $49,521 | Not reported | Yes* | 96 mi |
| 10 | Community College of Allegheny County | 40.9 | Contact school for pricing | $54,519 | 24% | Yes* | 300 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
New Jersey employs approximately 200 digital court reporters according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics 1. Nationally, digital court reporter employment is projected to grow -0.3% from 2024 to 2034, with about 1,700 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Digital Court Reporter in New Jersey, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: digital court-reporting program (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a digital court-reporting or captioning program plus AAERT. Certified shorthand reporter licenses are a different credential
- Exam: AAERT
Quick Answers About How to Become a Digital Court Reporter in New Jersey
How to become a Digital Court Reporter in New Jersey? Complete a digital court-reporting or captioning program plus AAERT. Certified shorthand reporter licenses are a different credential. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish a digital court-reporting or captioning program plus AAERT. Certified shorthand reporter licenses are a different credential. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.
Do I need a license in New Jersey? Most states do not require a statewide occupational license. Employers typically expect AAERT. See the licensing section below.
How to Become a Digital Court Reporter in New Jersey
- Complete a digital reporting program. Finish a digital court-reporting or captioning program. This is not a steno-machine apprenticeship.
- Earn AAERT. AAERT is the digital and electronic reporting path. Do not treat a certified shorthand reporter (CSR/CCR) row or a Board of Court Reporting as the digital-reporter credential.
- Most states do not license digital reporters as a separate occupation. Confirm employer and court-contract rules. Do not apply to a steno court-reporting board for a digital-only path.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Digital Court Reporter License Requirements in New Jersey
Digital court reporters typically earn AAERT. Certified shorthand reporter licenses and Boards of Court Reporting are a related but different (steno) path, not the digital credential.
Typical path
Complete a digital reporting program.
Earn AAERT.
Do not treat a steno CSR license as the digital path.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Digital Court Reporter Wages by Metro Area in New Jersey
Court Reporters and Simultaneous Captioners Wages by Metro Area in New Jersey
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), court reporters and simultaneous captioners wages in New Jersey vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| New York-Newark-Jersey City | 1,060 | $90,230 | $94,850 | $53,760 | $143,790 |
| Philadelphia-Camden-Wilmington | 240 | $74,760 | $74,460 | $43,390 | $106,630 |
| Allentown-Bethlehem-Easton | 50 | $64,230 | $62,840 | $47,710 | $86,690 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for digital court reporters in New Jersey? New Jersey currently employs approximately 200 digital court reporters 1. Nationally, digital court reporter employment is projected to grow -0.3% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in New Jersey? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in New Jersey.
Related guides
In New Jersey
Top local programs
- Best Digital Court Reporter Programs in Asbury Park, New Jersey (2026)
- Best Digital Court Reporter Programs in Atlantic City, New Jersey (2026)
- Best Digital Court Reporter Programs in Bayonne, New Jersey (2026)
- Best Digital Court Reporter Programs in Beachwood, New Jersey (2026)
- Best Digital Court Reporter Programs in Bellmawr, New Jersey (2026)
- Best Digital Court Reporter Programs in Bergenfield, New Jersey (2026)
- Best Digital Court Reporter Programs in Bound Brook, New Jersey (2026)
- Best Digital Court Reporter Programs in Camden, New Jersey (2026)
- Best Digital Court Reporter Programs in Carteret, New Jersey (2026)
- Best Digital Court Reporter Programs in Cliffside Park, New Jersey (2026)
- Best Digital Court Reporter Programs in Clifton, New Jersey (2026)
- Best Digital Court Reporter Programs in Dover, New Jersey (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in New Jersey (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in New Jersey
- Best HVAC Schools in New Jersey (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in New Jersey
- Best Plumbing Schools in New Jersey (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in New Jersey
Explore More Trades in New Jersey
- Electrician in New Jersey
- Plumber in New Jersey
- HVAC Technician in New Jersey
- Welder in New Jersey
- Carpenter in New Jersey
- Solar Installation Technician in New Jersey
- Auto Mechanic in New Jersey
- CNC Machinist in New Jersey
- Certified Nursing Assistant in New Jersey
- Medical Assistant in New Jersey
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |