How to Become a Digital Court Reporter in New Mexico (2026)
U.S. employment of digital court reporters is projected to change -0.3% from 2024 to 2034 (BLS Employment Projections). Training as a Digital Court Reporter here means completing a digital court-reporting or captioning program plus AAERT. Certified shorthand reporter licenses are a different credential.
Key Facts
- Projected growth: -0.3% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Digital Court Reporter Schools in New Mexico
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Poway Adult School | Not rated | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | Not reported | Yes* | 664 mi |
| 2 | Arlington Career Institute | 57.5 | Contact school for pricing | $36,508 | 75% | Yes* | 502 mi |
| 3 | Neosho County Community College | 55.0 | Contact school for pricing | $55,338 | 36% | Yes* | 614 mi |
| 4 | GateWay Community College | 49.9 | Contact school for pricing | $70,264 | 24% | Yes* | 369 mi |
| 5 | El Paso Community College | 46.5 | Contact school for pricing | $39,712 | 23% | Yes* | 177 mi |
| 6 | Del Mar College | 45.8 | Contact school for pricing | $57,250 | 12% | Yes* | 660 mi |
| 7 | Bryan University | 44.1 | Contact school for pricing | $39,159 | 32% | Yes* | 369 mi |
| 8 | Navajo Technical University | 43.0 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | 16% | Yes* | 175 mi |
| 9 | San Antonio College | 42.3 | $3,412 - $12,343 | $47,341 | 24% | Yes* | 532 mi |
| 10 | South Coast College | 38.9 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | 19% | — | 708 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
New Mexico offers career opportunities for digital court reporters. This page covers how to become a Digital Court Reporter in New Mexico, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: digital court-reporting program (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a digital court-reporting or captioning program plus AAERT. Certified shorthand reporter licenses are a different credential
- Exam: AAERT
Quick Answers About How to Become a Digital Court Reporter in New Mexico
How to become a Digital Court Reporter in New Mexico? Complete a digital court-reporting or captioning program plus AAERT. Certified shorthand reporter licenses are a different credential. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish a digital court-reporting or captioning program plus AAERT. Certified shorthand reporter licenses are a different credential. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.
Do I need a license in New Mexico? Most states do not require a statewide occupational license. Employers typically expect AAERT. See the licensing section below.
How to Become a Digital Court Reporter in New Mexico
- Complete a digital reporting program. Finish a digital court-reporting or captioning program. This is not a steno-machine apprenticeship.
- Earn AAERT. AAERT is the digital and electronic reporting path. Do not treat a certified shorthand reporter (CSR/CCR) row or a Board of Court Reporting as the digital-reporter credential.
- Most states do not license digital reporters as a separate occupation. Confirm employer and court-contract rules. Do not apply to a steno court-reporting board for a digital-only path.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Digital Court Reporter License Requirements in New Mexico
Digital court reporters typically earn AAERT. Certified shorthand reporter licenses and Boards of Court Reporting are a related but different (steno) path, not the digital credential.
Typical path
Complete a digital reporting program.
Earn AAERT.
Do not treat a steno CSR license as the digital path.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Digital Court Reporter Wages by Metro Area in New Mexico
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for digital court reporters in New Mexico? Nationally, digital court reporter employment is projected to grow -0.3% from 2024 to 2034 1.
What training programs are available in New Mexico? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in New Mexico.
Related guides
In New Mexico
Top local programs
- Best Digital Court Reporter Programs in Alamogordo, New Mexico (2026)
- Best Digital Court Reporter Programs in Albuquerque, New Mexico (2026)
- Best Digital Court Reporter Programs in Artesia, New Mexico (2026)
- Best Digital Court Reporter Programs in Carlsbad, New Mexico (2026)
- Best Digital Court Reporter Programs in Clovis, New Mexico (2026)
- Best Digital Court Reporter Programs in Deming, New Mexico (2026)
- Best Digital Court Reporter Programs in Espanola, New Mexico (2026)
- Best Digital Court Reporter Programs in Farmington, New Mexico (2026)
- Best Digital Court Reporter Programs in Gallup, New Mexico (2026)
- Best Digital Court Reporter Programs in Grants, New Mexico (2026)
- Best Digital Court Reporter Programs in Hobbs, New Mexico (2026)
- Best Digital Court Reporter Programs in Las Cruces, New Mexico (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in New Mexico (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in New Mexico
- Best HVAC Schools in New Mexico (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in New Mexico
- Best Plumbing Schools in New Mexico (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in New Mexico
Explore More Trades in New Mexico
- Electrician in New Mexico
- Plumber in New Mexico
- HVAC Technician in New Mexico
- Welder in New Mexico
- Carpenter in New Mexico
- Solar Installation Technician in New Mexico
- Auto Mechanic in New Mexico
- CNC Machinist in New Mexico
- Certified Nursing Assistant in New Mexico
- Medical Assistant in New Mexico
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |