How to Become a Digital Court Reporter in Oregon (2026)
U.S. employment of digital court reporters is projected to change -0.3% from 2024 to 2034 (BLS Employment Projections). Training as a Digital Court Reporter here means completing a digital court-reporting or captioning program plus AAERT. Certified shorthand reporter licenses are a different credential.
Key Facts
- Projected growth: -0.3% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Digital Court Reporter Schools in Oregon
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | West Valley College | 69.0 | Contact school for pricing | $51,402 | 52% | Yes* | 539 mi |
| 2 | Green River College | 56.8 | $4,711 - $22,040 | $60,643 | 40% | — | 156 mi |
| 3 | Taft College | 46.3 | Contact school for pricing | $44,555 | 28% | Yes* | 702 mi |
| 4 | College of Marin | 45.7 | Contact school for pricing | $62,664 | 38% | Yes* | 491 mi |
| 5 | Tri-Community Adult Education | Not rated | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | Not reported | — | 794 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Oregon offers career opportunities for digital court reporters. This page covers how to become a Digital Court Reporter in Oregon, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: digital court-reporting program (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a digital court-reporting or captioning program plus AAERT. Certified shorthand reporter licenses are a different credential
- Exam: AAERT
Quick Answers About How to Become a Digital Court Reporter in Oregon
How to become a Digital Court Reporter in Oregon? Complete a digital court-reporting or captioning program plus AAERT. Certified shorthand reporter licenses are a different credential. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish a digital court-reporting or captioning program plus AAERT. Certified shorthand reporter licenses are a different credential. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.
Do I need a license in Oregon? Most states do not require a statewide occupational license. Employers typically expect AAERT. See the licensing section below.
How to Become a Digital Court Reporter in Oregon
- Complete a digital reporting program. Finish a digital court-reporting or captioning program. This is not a steno-machine apprenticeship.
- Earn AAERT. AAERT is the digital and electronic reporting path. Do not treat a certified shorthand reporter (CSR/CCR) row or a Board of Court Reporting as the digital-reporter credential.
- Most states do not license digital reporters as a separate occupation. Confirm employer and court-contract rules. Do not apply to a steno court-reporting board for a digital-only path.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Digital Court Reporter License Requirements in Oregon
Digital court reporters typically earn AAERT. Certified shorthand reporter licenses and Boards of Court Reporting are a related but different (steno) path, not the digital credential.
Typical path
Complete a digital reporting program.
Earn AAERT.
Do not treat a steno CSR license as the digital path.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Digital Court Reporter Wages by Metro Area in Oregon
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for digital court reporters in Oregon? Nationally, digital court reporter employment is projected to grow -0.3% from 2024 to 2034 1.
What training programs are available in Oregon? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Oregon.
Related guides
In Oregon
Top local programs
- Best Digital Court Reporter Programs in Albany, Oregon (2026)
- Best Digital Court Reporter Programs in Astoria, Oregon (2026)
- Best Digital Court Reporter Programs in Beaverton, Oregon (2026)
- Best Digital Court Reporter Programs in Bend, Oregon (2026)
- Best Digital Court Reporter Programs in Canby, Oregon (2026)
- Best Digital Court Reporter Programs in Cornelius, Oregon (2026)
- Best Digital Court Reporter Programs in Corvallis, Oregon (2026)
- Best Digital Court Reporter Programs in Cottage Grove, Oregon (2026)
- Best Digital Court Reporter Programs in Dallas, Oregon (2026)
- Best Digital Court Reporter Programs in Damascus, Oregon (2026)
- Best Digital Court Reporter Programs in Eugene, Oregon (2026)
- Best Digital Court Reporter Programs in Florence, Oregon (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Oregon (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Oregon
- Best HVAC Schools in Oregon (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Oregon
- Best Plumbing Schools in Oregon (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Oregon
Explore More Trades in Oregon
- Electrician in Oregon
- Plumber in Oregon
- HVAC Technician in Oregon
- Welder in Oregon
- Carpenter in Oregon
- Solar Installation Technician in Oregon
- Auto Mechanic in Oregon
- CNC Machinist in Oregon
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Oregon
- Medical Assistant in Oregon
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |