How to Become a Digital Court Reporter in Utah (2026)
U.S. employment of digital court reporters is projected to change -0.3% from 2024 to 2034 (BLS Employment Projections). Training as a Digital Court Reporter here means completing a digital court-reporting or captioning program plus AAERT. Certified shorthand reporter licenses are a different credential.
Key Facts
- Projected growth: -0.3% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Digital Court Reporter Schools in Utah
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | West Valley College | 69.0 | Contact school for pricing | $51,402 | 52% | Yes* | 587 mi |
| 2 | Cerritos College | 56.3 | Contact school for pricing | $54,818 | 30% | Yes* | 576 mi |
| 3 | Downey Adult School | 51.4 | Contact school for pricing | $39,366 | 46% | Yes* | 575 mi |
| 4 | GateWay Community College | 49.9 | Contact school for pricing | $70,264 | 24% | Yes* | 484 mi |
| 5 | Cypress College | 49.5 | Contact school for pricing | $57,854 | 36% | — | 577 mi |
| 6 | Taft College | 46.3 | Contact school for pricing | $44,555 | 28% | Yes* | 557 mi |
| 7 | College of Marin | 45.7 | Contact school for pricing | $62,664 | 38% | Yes* | 594 mi |
| 8 | Bryan University | 44.1 | Contact school for pricing | $39,159 | 32% | Yes* | 500 mi |
| 9 | Navajo Technical University | 43.0 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | 16% | Yes* | 403 mi |
| 10 | South Coast College | 38.9 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | 19% | — | 573 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Utah offers career opportunities for digital court reporters. This page covers how to become a Digital Court Reporter in Utah, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: digital court-reporting program (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a digital court-reporting or captioning program plus AAERT. Certified shorthand reporter licenses are a different credential
- Exam: AAERT
Quick Answers About How to Become a Digital Court Reporter in Utah
How to become a Digital Court Reporter in Utah? Complete a digital court-reporting or captioning program plus AAERT. Certified shorthand reporter licenses are a different credential. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish a digital court-reporting or captioning program plus AAERT. Certified shorthand reporter licenses are a different credential. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.
Do I need a license in Utah? Most states do not require a statewide occupational license. Employers typically expect AAERT. See the licensing section below.
How to Become a Digital Court Reporter in Utah
- Complete a digital reporting program. Finish a digital court-reporting or captioning program. This is not a steno-machine apprenticeship.
- Earn AAERT. AAERT is the digital and electronic reporting path. Do not treat a certified shorthand reporter (CSR/CCR) row or a Board of Court Reporting as the digital-reporter credential.
- Most states do not license digital reporters as a separate occupation. Confirm employer and court-contract rules. Do not apply to a steno court-reporting board for a digital-only path.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Digital Court Reporter License Requirements in Utah
Digital court reporters typically earn AAERT. Certified shorthand reporter licenses and Boards of Court Reporting are a related but different (steno) path, not the digital credential.
Typical path
Complete a digital reporting program.
Earn AAERT.
Do not treat a steno CSR license as the digital path.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Digital Court Reporter Wages by Metro Area in Utah
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for digital court reporters in Utah? Nationally, digital court reporter employment is projected to grow -0.3% from 2024 to 2034 1.
What training programs are available in Utah? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Utah.
Related guides
In Utah
Top local programs
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Utah (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Utah
- Best HVAC Schools in Utah (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Utah
- Best Plumbing Schools in Utah (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Utah
Explore More Trades in Utah
- Electrician in Utah
- Plumber in Utah
- HVAC Technician in Utah
- Welder in Utah
- Carpenter in Utah
- Solar Installation Technician in Utah
- Auto Mechanic in Utah
- CNC Machinist in Utah
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Utah
- Medical Assistant in Utah
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |