How to Become a Digital Court Reporter in Wyoming (2026)
U.S. employment of digital court reporters is projected to change -0.3% from 2024 to 2034 (BLS Employment Projections). Training as a Digital Court Reporter here means completing a digital court-reporting or captioning program plus AAERT. Certified shorthand reporter licenses are a different credential.
Sponsored - request program info
Key Facts
- Projected growth: -0.3% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Compare Digital Court Reporter Schools in Wyoming
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Neosho County Community College | 55.0 | Contact school for pricing | $55,338 | 36% | Yes* | 680 mi |
| 2 | Sitting Bull College | 53.9 | $4,010 - $10,012 | $39,240 | 23% | Yes* | 395 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 3 | Anoka Technical College | 51.7 | Contact school for pricing | $55,035 | Not reported | Yes* | 693 mi |
| 4 | Des Moines Area Community College | 50.0 | Contact school for pricing | $51,817 | 37% | Yes* | 676 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 5 | GateWay Community College | 49.9 | Contact school for pricing | $70,264 | 24% | Yes* | 665 mi |
| 6 | El Paso Community College | 46.5 | Contact school for pricing | $39,712 | 23% | Yes* | 734 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 7 | Bryan University | 44.1 | Contact school for pricing | $39,159 | 32% | Yes* | 679 mi |
| 8 | Navajo Technical University | 43.0 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | 16% | Yes* | 469 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 9 | Vernon College | 37.4 | Contact school for pricing | $53,885 | Not reported | — | 697 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Wyoming offers career opportunities for digital court reporters. This page covers how to become a Digital Court Reporter in Wyoming, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: digital court-reporting program (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a digital court-reporting or captioning program plus AAERT. Certified shorthand reporter licenses are a different credential
- Exam: AAERT
Quick Answers About How to Become a Digital Court Reporter in Wyoming
How to become a Digital Court Reporter in Wyoming? Complete a digital court-reporting or captioning program plus AAERT. Certified shorthand reporter licenses are a different credential. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish a digital court-reporting or captioning program plus AAERT. Certified shorthand reporter licenses are a different credential. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.
Do I need a license in Wyoming? Most states do not require a statewide occupational license. Employers typically expect AAERT. See the licensing section below.
How to Become a Digital Court Reporter in Wyoming
- Complete a digital reporting program. Finish a digital court-reporting or captioning program. This is not a steno-machine apprenticeship.
- Earn AAERT. AAERT is the digital and electronic reporting path. Do not treat a certified shorthand reporter (CSR/CCR) row or a Board of Court Reporting as the digital-reporter credential.
- Most states do not license digital reporters as a separate occupation. Confirm employer and court-contract rules. Do not apply to a steno court-reporting board for a digital-only path.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Digital Court Reporter License Requirements in Wyoming
Digital court reporters typically earn AAERT. Certified shorthand reporter licenses and Boards of Court Reporting are a related but different (steno) path, not the digital credential.
Typical path
Complete a digital reporting program.
Earn AAERT.
Do not treat a steno CSR license as the digital path.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Digital Court Reporter Wages by Metro Area in Wyoming
Court Reporters and Simultaneous Captioners Wages by Metro Area in Wyoming
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), court reporters and simultaneous captioners wages in Wyoming vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Grand Rapids-Wyoming-Kentwood | 30 | $65,000 | $59,240 | $42,900 | $76,020 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for digital court reporters in Wyoming? Nationally, digital court reporter employment is projected to grow -0.3% from 2024 to 2034 1.
What training programs are available in Wyoming? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Wyoming.
Related guides
In Wyoming
Top local programs
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Wyoming (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Wyoming
- Best HVAC Schools in Wyoming (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Wyoming
- Best Plumbing Schools in Wyoming (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Wyoming
Explore More Trades in Wyoming
- Electrician in Wyoming
- Plumber in Wyoming
- HVAC Technician in Wyoming
- Welder in Wyoming
- Carpenter in Wyoming
- Solar Installation Technician in Wyoming
- Auto Mechanic in Wyoming
- CNC Machinist in Wyoming
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Wyoming
- Medical Assistant in Wyoming
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |