How to Become an EKG Technician in Florida (2026)
Florida employs about 5,640 ekg technicians earning a median $77,140 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025; proxy category “Cardiovascular Technologists and Technicians”). Training as an EKG Technician here means completing a short EKG or cardiac-monitor program plus CET or equivalent; most states do not license EKG technicians.
Key Facts
- Median wage (Florida): $77,140/yr (Source: BLS OEWS (proxy: Cardiovascular Technologists and Technicians), 2025)
- Employed in Florida: 5,640 workers (Source: BLS OEWS (proxy: Cardiovascular Technologists and Technicians), 2025)
- Location quotient: 1.40x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: 3.0% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare EKG Technician Schools in Florida
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Sheridan Technical College | 64.6 | Contact school for pricing | $37,703 | 70% | Yes* | 152 mi |
| 2 | William T McFatter Technical College | 64.5 | Contact school for pricing | $38,025 | 64% | Yes* | 148 mi |
| 3 | Pensacola State College | 61.5 | Contact school for pricing | $45,937 | Not reported | Yes* | 385 mi |
| 4 | Atlantic Technical College | 61.0 | Contact school for pricing | $40,638 | 60% | Yes* | 140 mi |
| 5 | Southern Crescent Technical College | 54.3 | Contact school for pricing | $47,009 | 55% | Yes* | 406 mi |
| 6 | Horry-Georgetown Technical College | 50.3 | Contact school for pricing | $46,000 | 32% | Yes* | 438 mi |
| 7 | Albany Technical College | 46.8 | Contact school for pricing | $37,104 | 38% | Yes* | 300 mi |
| 8 | Central Georgia Technical College | 46.5 | Contact school for pricing | $42,979 | 44% | Yes* | 347 mi |
| 9 | Fletcher Technical Community College | 45.6 | Contact school for pricing | $53,749 | Not reported | Yes* | 574 mi |
| 10 | Nunez Community College | 44.3 | Contact school for pricing | $48,555 | 23% | Yes* | 527 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, Florida employs approximately 5,640 workers in the related “Cardiovascular Technologists and Technicians” category (SOC 29-2031), with a median annual wage of $77,140 1. The state’s concentration of jobs in this category is 1.40x the national average, indicating strong regional demand. Nationally, employment in this category is projected to grow 3.0% from 2024 to 2034, with about 3,800 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become an EKG Technician in Florida, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
A note on salary data: The Bureau of Labor Statistics does not track ekg technician salaries as a separate category. The wage figures on this page are based on the closest matching BLS classification: Cardiovascular Technologists and Technicians (SOC 29-2031). Actual ekg technician earnings may vary.
At a Glance
- Training paths: EKG technician program (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a short EKG or cardiac-monitor program plus CET or equivalent; most states do not license EKG technicians
- Exam: CET or equivalent
- Median wage (Florida): $77,140 per year (based on related “Cardiovascular Technologists and Technicians” category) 1
Quick Answers About How to Become an EKG Technician in Florida
How to become an EKG Technician in Florida? Complete a short EKG or cardiac-monitor program plus CET or equivalent; most states do not license EKG technicians. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish a short EKG or cardiac-monitor program plus CET or equivalent; most states do not license EKG technicians. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.
Do I need a license in Florida? Most states do not require a statewide occupational license. Employers typically expect CET or equivalent. See the licensing section below.
What do ekg technicians earn in Florida? The BLS does not track ekg technician wages separately. Based on the related “Cardiovascular Technologists and Technicians” category, the median annual wage in Florida is $77,140, with entry-level wages around $37,490 and experienced workers earning $106,800 or more 1.
How to Become an EKG Technician in Florida
- Complete a short EKG program. Finish a weeks-to-months cardiac-monitor or EKG program. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
- Earn CET or the employer-required credential. Pass CET or the exam the employer uses.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
EKG Technician License Requirements in Florida
Most states do not license EKG technicians. Employers expect a short program plus CET or equivalent.
Typical path
Complete a short program.
Earn CET or equivalent.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
EKG Technician Wages by Metro Area in Florida
EKG Technician Wages by Metro Area in Florida
Note: The BLS does not track ekg technician wages separately. The data below is based on the closest matching category: Cardiovascular Technologists and Technicians (SOC 29-2031).
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), cardiovascular technologists and technicians wages in Florida vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Miami-Fort Lauderdale-West Palm Beach | 1,420 | $81,120 | $78,490 | $39,290 | $126,890 |
| Orlando-Kissimmee-Sanford | 770 | $63,250 | $66,760 | $36,780 | $100,480 |
| Tampa-St. Petersburg-Clearwater | 760 | $72,030 | $68,530 | $37,490 | $106,480 |
| Jacksonville | 570 | $62,400 | $68,170 | $37,980 | $99,630 |
| Cape Coral-Fort Myers | 260 | $65,140 | $68,700 | $38,680 | $101,360 |
| Deltona-Daytona Beach-Ormond Beach | 260 | $81,760 | $80,150 | $37,210 | $132,060 |
| North Port-Bradenton-Sarasota | 190 | $82,660 | $74,630 | $39,400 | $106,170 |
| Palm Bay-Melbourne-Titusville | 170 | $77,630 | $67,720 | $38,770 | $97,810 |
| Gainesville | 140 | $80,080 | $82,600 | $38,370 | $134,440 |
| Lakeland-Winter Haven | 140 | $60,280 | $61,400 | $37,060 | $96,240 |
| Pensacola-Ferry Pass-Brent | 130 | $48,340 | $60,310 | $34,800 | $90,780 |
| Tallahassee | 130 | $35,750 | $48,800 | $32,810 | $82,660 |
| Ocala | 120 | $62,100 | $63,370 | $35,930 | $100,870 |
| Port St. Lucie | 120 | $85,540 | $80,710 | $37,940 | $105,020 |
| Crestview-Fort Walton Beach-Destin | 80 | $84,270 | $87,500 | $45,450 | $130,450 |
| Wildwood-The Villages | 60 | $77,950 | $82,280 | $35,140 | $126,870 |
| Panama City-Panama City Beach | 40 | $62,320 | $64,670 | $38,280 | $102,900 |
| Punta Gorda | 40 | $83,200 | $86,360 | $41,210 | $106,040 |
| Homosassa Springs | 30 | $80,100 | $75,950 | $46,800 | $98,350 |
| Sebring | N/A | $70,970 | $65,020 | $40,090 | $99,600 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for ekg technicians in Florida? Florida employs approximately 5,640 workers in the related “Cardiovascular Technologists and Technicians” category 1. Nationally, employment in this category is projected to grow 3.0% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in Florida? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Florida.
How much do ekg technicians earn in Florida compared to the national average? The median annual wage for ekg technicians in Florida is $77,140 (based on the related “Cardiovascular Technologists and Technicians” category), which is $9,880 above the national median of $67,260 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Florida
Top local programs
- Best EKG Technician Programs in Alachua, Florida (2026)
- Best EKG Technician Programs in Anna Maria, Florida (2026)
- Best EKG Technician Programs in Apalachicola, Florida (2026)
- Best EKG Technician Programs in Arcadia, Florida (2026)
- Best EKG Technician Programs in Archer, Florida (2026)
- Best EKG Technician Programs in Astatula, Florida (2026)
- Best EKG Technician Programs in Atlantic Beach, Florida (2026)
- Best EKG Technician Programs in Atlantis, Florida (2026)
- Best EKG Technician Programs in Auburndale, Florida (2026)
- Best EKG Technician Programs in Avon Park, Florida (2026)
- Best EKG Technician Programs in Belleair Bluffs, Florida (2026)
- Best EKG Technician Programs in Belleair Shore, Florida (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Florida (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Florida
- Best HVAC Schools in Florida (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Florida
- Best Plumbing Schools in Florida (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Florida
Explore More Trades in Florida
- Electrician in Florida
- Plumber in Florida
- HVAC Technician in Florida
- Welder in Florida
- Carpenter in Florida
- Solar Installation Technician in Florida
- Auto Mechanic in Florida
- CNC Machinist in Florida
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Florida
- Medical Assistant in Florida
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |