How to Become an EKG Technician in Virginia (2026)
Virginia employs about 2,410 ekg technicians earning a median $76,880 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025; proxy category “Cardiovascular Technologists and Technicians”). Training as an EKG Technician here means completing a short EKG or cardiac-monitor program plus CET or equivalent; most states do not license EKG technicians.
Key Facts
- Median wage (Virginia): $76,880/yr (Source: BLS OEWS (proxy: Cardiovascular Technologists and Technicians), 2025)
- Employed in Virginia: 2,410 workers (Source: BLS OEWS (proxy: Cardiovascular Technologists and Technicians), 2025)
- Location quotient: 1.45x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: 3.0% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare EKG Technician Schools in Virginia
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | American Institute of Medical Sciences & Education | 72.0 | Contact school for pricing | $56,760 | 84% | — | 322 mi |
| 2 | Polaris Career Center | 68.1 | Contact school for pricing | $42,598 | 80% | — | 329 mi |
| 3 | Austin Medical Assistant Training | 66.7 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | 100% | — | 353 mi |
| 4 | Collins Career Technical Center | 63.7 | Contact school for pricing | $51,897 | 58% | — | 220 mi |
| 5 | Anne Arundel Community College | 63.3 | Contact school for pricing | $55,889 | 28% | Yes* | 170 mi |
| 6 | Auburn Career Center | 59.7 | Contact school for pricing | $48,563 | 71% | — | 314 mi |
| 7 | Washington State College of Ohio | 58.4 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | Not reported | Yes* | 210 mi |
| 8 | Columbus State Community College | 56.1 | Contact school for pricing | $52,681 | 28% | Yes* | 297 mi |
| 9 | Sinclair Community College | 55.7 | Contact school for pricing | $48,980 | 36% | Yes* | 344 mi |
| 10 | Best Care College | 52.2 | Contact school for pricing | $89,155 | 60% | — | 340 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, Virginia employs approximately 2,410 workers in the related “Cardiovascular Technologists and Technicians” category (SOC 29-2031), with a median annual wage of $76,880 1. The state’s concentration of jobs in this category is 1.45x the national average, indicating strong regional demand. Nationally, employment in this category is projected to grow 3.0% from 2024 to 2034, with about 3,800 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become an EKG Technician in Virginia, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
A note on salary data: The Bureau of Labor Statistics does not track ekg technician salaries as a separate category. The wage figures on this page are based on the closest matching BLS classification: Cardiovascular Technologists and Technicians (SOC 29-2031). Actual ekg technician earnings may vary.
At a Glance
- Training paths: EKG technician program (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a short EKG or cardiac-monitor program plus CET or equivalent; most states do not license EKG technicians
- Exam: CET or equivalent
- Median wage (Virginia): $76,880 per year (based on related “Cardiovascular Technologists and Technicians” category) 1
Quick Answers About How to Become an EKG Technician in Virginia
How to become an EKG Technician in Virginia? Complete a short EKG or cardiac-monitor program plus CET or equivalent; most states do not license EKG technicians. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish a short EKG or cardiac-monitor program plus CET or equivalent; most states do not license EKG technicians. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.
Do I need a license in Virginia? Most states do not require a statewide occupational license. Employers typically expect CET or equivalent. See the licensing section below.
What do ekg technicians earn in Virginia? The BLS does not track ekg technician wages separately. Based on the related “Cardiovascular Technologists and Technicians” category, the median annual wage in Virginia is $76,880, with entry-level wages around $38,370 and experienced workers earning $131,330 or more 1.
How to Become an EKG Technician in Virginia
- Complete a short EKG program. Finish a weeks-to-months cardiac-monitor or EKG program. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
- Earn CET or the employer-required credential. Pass CET or the exam the employer uses.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
EKG Technician License Requirements in Virginia
Most states do not license EKG technicians. Employers expect a short program plus CET or equivalent.
Typical path
Complete a short program.
Earn CET or equivalent.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
EKG Technician Wages by Metro Area in Virginia
EKG Technician Wages by Metro Area in Virginia
Note: The BLS does not track ekg technician wages separately. The data below is based on the closest matching category: Cardiovascular Technologists and Technicians (SOC 29-2031).
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), cardiovascular technologists and technicians wages in Virginia vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Washington-Arlington-Alexandria | 1,390 | $93,030 | $92,550 | $48,670 | $136,790 |
| Virginia Beach-Chesapeake-Norfolk | 610 | $78,100 | $75,060 | $39,300 | $118,170 |
| Richmond | 380 | $71,960 | $68,500 | $37,500 | $99,230 |
| Winchester | 50 | $84,370 | $78,130 | $42,090 | $102,870 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for ekg technicians in Virginia? Virginia employs approximately 2,410 workers in the related “Cardiovascular Technologists and Technicians” category 1. Nationally, employment in this category is projected to grow 3.0% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in Virginia? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Virginia.
How much do ekg technicians earn in Virginia compared to the national average? The median annual wage for ekg technicians in Virginia is $76,880 (based on the related “Cardiovascular Technologists and Technicians” category), which is $9,620 above the national median of $67,260 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Virginia
Top local programs
- Best EKG Technician Programs in Arlington, Virginia (2026)
- Best EKG Technician Programs in Virginia (2026)
- Best EKG Technician Schools in Alexandria, Virginia (2026)
- Best EKG Technician Schools in Blacksburg, Virginia (2026)
- Best EKG Technician Schools in Bristol, Virginia (2026)
- Best EKG Technician Schools in Charlottesville, Virginia (2026)
- Best EKG Technician Schools in Chesapeake, Virginia (2026)
- Best EKG Technician Schools in Christiansburg, Virginia (2026)
- Best EKG Technician Schools in Colonial Heights, Virginia (2026)
- Best EKG Technician Schools in Culpeper, Virginia (2026)
- Best EKG Technician Schools in Danville, Virginia (2026)
- Best EKG Technician Schools in Fairfax, Virginia (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Virginia (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Virginia
- Best HVAC Schools in Virginia (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Virginia
- Best Plumbing Schools in Virginia (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Virginia
Explore More Trades in Virginia
- Electrician in Virginia
- Plumber in Virginia
- HVAC Technician in Virginia
- Welder in Virginia
- Carpenter in Virginia
- Solar Installation Technician in Virginia
- Auto Mechanic in Virginia
- CNC Machinist in Virginia
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Virginia
- Medical Assistant in Virginia
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |