How to Become an Esthetician in Delaware (2026)
Delaware employs about 130 estheticians earning a median $50,820 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as an Esthetician here means completing a board-approved esthetics program that meets this state’s hour requirement, written and practical exams, and an esthetician license. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
Key Facts
- Median wage (Delaware): $50,820/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Employed in Delaware: 130 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Location quotient: 0.55x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: 6.7% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Esthetician Schools in Delaware
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | The Salon Professional Academy | 67.6 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | 89% | — | 56 mi |
| 2 | Rizzieri Aveda School for Beauty and Wellness | 61.7 | Contact school for pricing | $32,286 | 90% | — | 44 mi |
| 3 | Aveda Institute-Maryland | 56.6 | Contact school for pricing | $25,463 | 93% | — | 43 mi |
| 4 | Venus Beauty Academy | 52.9 | Contact school for pricing | $29,652 | 84% | — | 39 mi |
| 5 | Dawn Career Institute LLC | 52.4 | Contact school for pricing | $32,884 | Not reported | — | 22 mi |
| 6 | P B Cosmetology Education Center | 49.9 | Contact school for pricing | $35,010 | 77% | — | 42 mi |
| 7 | Jean Madeline Aveda Institute | 40.2 | Contact school for pricing | $31,757 | 64% | — | 43 mi |
| 8 | Cortiva Institute | 38.4 | Contact school for pricing | $35,989 | 80% | — | 49 mi |
| 9 | The Beauty Institute-Ambler | 35.6 | Contact school for pricing | $30,630 | 64% | — | 56 mi |
| 10 | Academy of Massage and Bodywork | Not rated | Contact school for pricing | $32,178 | Not reported | — | 17 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Delaware employs approximately 130 estheticians according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $50,820 1. Nationally, esthetician employment is projected to grow 6.7% from 2024 to 2034, with about 14,500 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become an Esthetician in Delaware, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: board-approved esthetics program (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a board-approved esthetics program that meets this state’s hour requirement, written and practical exams, and an esthetician license
- Exam: state written and practical exams (often NIC)
- Median wage (Delaware): $50,820 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become an Esthetician in Delaware
How to become an Esthetician in Delaware? Complete a board-approved esthetics program that meets this state’s hour requirement, written and practical exams, and an esthetician license. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish a board-approved esthetics program that meets this state’s hour requirement, written and practical exams, and an esthetician license. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.
Do I need a license in Delaware? Licensing varies. Confirm with the program and employer. See the licensing section below.
What do estheticians earn in Delaware? The median annual wage for estheticians in Delaware is $50,820 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $31,200 and experienced professionals can earn $96,650 or more 1.
How to Become an Esthetician in Delaware
- Meet board entry rules. Confirm age and education rules with the employer.
- Complete a board-approved esthetics program. Finish the esthetics hour requirement the employer publishes. Confirm the current total with that board; do not copy another state’s hours. This is not a DAS registered apprenticeship.
- Pass written and practical exams. Pass the exams the employer uses for estheticians, not the full cosmetology practitioner exam unless you want that license.
- Apply for the esthetician license. Apply to the employer before taking paying skincare clients.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Esthetician License Requirements in Delaware
Estheticians in Delaware complete board-approved esthetics hours, pass exams, and apply to the employer. Do not treat a cosmetology instructor row as the esthetician license.
Typical path
Meet board entry rules.
Complete a board-approved esthetics program.
Pass written and practical exams.
Apply to the employer.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the employer before you enroll.
Esthetician Wages by Metro Area in Delaware
Skincare Specialists Wages by Metro Area in Delaware
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), skincare specialists wages in Delaware vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Philadelphia-Camden-Wilmington | 1,460 | $43,570 | $47,630 | $23,990 | $81,680 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for estheticians in Delaware? Delaware currently employs approximately 130 estheticians 1. Nationally, esthetician employment is projected to grow 6.7% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as an esthetician in Delaware with an out-of-state license? Confirm reciprocity rules with the program and employer.
What training programs are available in Delaware? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Delaware.
How much do estheticians earn in Delaware compared to the national average? The median annual wage for estheticians in Delaware is $50,820, which is $9,260 above the national median of $41,560 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Delaware
Top local programs
- Best Esthetician Schools in Delaware (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Dover, Delaware (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Georgetown, Delaware (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Lewes, Delaware (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Middletown, Delaware (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Milford, Delaware (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Millsboro, Delaware (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Newark, Delaware (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Ocean View, Delaware (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Smyrna, Delaware (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Wilmington, Delaware (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Delaware (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Delaware
- Best HVAC Schools in Delaware (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Delaware
- Best Plumbing Schools in Delaware (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Delaware
Explore More Trades in Delaware
- Electrician in Delaware
- Plumber in Delaware
- HVAC Technician in Delaware
- Welder in Delaware
- Carpenter in Delaware
- Solar Installation Technician in Delaware
- Auto Mechanic in Delaware
- CNC Machinist in Delaware
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Delaware
- Medical Assistant in Delaware
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |