How to Become an Esthetician in Florida (2026)
Florida employs about 5,270 estheticians earning a median $43,880 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as an Esthetician here means completing a board-approved esthetics program that meets this state’s hour requirement, written and practical exams, and an esthetician license. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
Key Facts
- Median wage (Florida): $43,880/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Employed in Florida: 5,270 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Location quotient: 1.13x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: 6.7% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Esthetician Schools in Florida
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | UR Beauty & Barber Academy | 52.7 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | 75% | — | 26 mi |
| 2 | Ruben's Five Star Academy | 52.3 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | Not reported | — | 7 mi |
| 3 | Academy of Career Training | 51.2 | Contact school for pricing | $20,962 | 88% | — | 32 mi |
| 4 | Summit Salon Academy | 50.8 | Contact school for pricing | $31,488 | Not reported | — | 60 mi |
| 5 | The Salon Professional Academy-Melbourne | 48.4 | Contact school for pricing | $23,567 | 78% | — | 58 mi |
| 6 | Artistic Nails and Beauty Academy-Lakeland | 47.6 | Contact school for pricing | $23,234 | 75% | — | 26 mi |
| 7 | Orange Technical College-West Campus | 43.2 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | 73% | — | 48 mi |
| 8 | Artistic Nails and Beauty Academy-Tampa | 43.0 | Contact school for pricing | $23,234 | 76% | — | 51 mi |
| 9 | Cortiva Institute | 41.5 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | Not reported | — | 68 mi |
| 10 | American Institute of Beauty | 32.4 | Contact school for pricing | $25,632 | Not reported | — | 72 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Florida employs approximately 5,270 estheticians according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $43,880 1. Nationally, esthetician employment is projected to grow 6.7% from 2024 to 2034, with about 14,500 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become an Esthetician in Florida, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: board-approved esthetics program (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a board-approved esthetics program that meets this state’s hour requirement, written and practical exams, and an esthetician license
- Exam: state written and practical exams (often NIC)
- Median wage (Florida): $43,880 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become an Esthetician in Florida
How to become an Esthetician in Florida? Complete a board-approved esthetics program that meets this state’s hour requirement, written and practical exams, and an esthetician license. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish a board-approved esthetics program that meets this state’s hour requirement, written and practical exams, and an esthetician license. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.
Do I need a license in Florida? Licensing varies. Confirm with the program and employer. See the licensing section below.
What do estheticians earn in Florida? The median annual wage for estheticians in Florida is $43,880 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $27,860 and experienced professionals can earn $83,990 or more 1.
How to Become an Esthetician in Florida
- Meet board entry rules. Confirm age and education rules with the employer.
- Complete a board-approved esthetics program. Finish the esthetics hour requirement the employer publishes. Confirm the current total with that board; do not copy another state’s hours. This is not a DAS registered apprenticeship.
- Pass written and practical exams. Pass the exams the employer uses for estheticians, not the full cosmetology practitioner exam unless you want that license.
- Apply for the esthetician license. Apply to the employer before taking paying skincare clients.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Esthetician License Requirements in Florida
Estheticians in Florida complete board-approved esthetics hours, pass exams, and apply to the employer. Do not treat a cosmetology instructor row as the esthetician license.
Typical path
Meet board entry rules.
Complete a board-approved esthetics program.
Pass written and practical exams.
Apply to the employer.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the employer before you enroll.
Esthetician Wages by Metro Area in Florida
Skincare Specialists Wages by Metro Area in Florida
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), skincare specialists wages in Florida vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Orlando-Kissimmee-Sanford | 780 | $40,690 | $49,270 | $29,030 | $81,230 |
| Tampa-St. Petersburg-Clearwater | 730 | $43,920 | $49,440 | $28,150 | $76,790 |
| Jacksonville | 660 | $49,700 | $55,440 | $34,290 | $87,790 |
| North Port-Bradenton-Sarasota | 270 | $45,810 | $54,530 | $29,850 | $85,370 |
| Cape Coral-Fort Myers | 200 | $44,260 | $53,040 | $28,200 | $78,320 |
| Naples-Marco Island | 200 | $63,630 | $64,610 | $30,950 | $95,720 |
| Palm Bay-Melbourne-Titusville | 150 | $43,880 | $51,210 | $33,700 | $77,120 |
| Pensacola-Ferry Pass-Brent | 120 | $42,870 | $48,920 | $31,590 | $78,370 |
| Crestview-Fort Walton Beach-Destin | 110 | $44,110 | $47,480 | $29,330 | $79,500 |
| Deltona-Daytona Beach-Ormond Beach | 110 | $42,620 | $50,590 | $30,910 | $75,730 |
| Gainesville | 110 | $41,930 | $49,860 | $29,490 | $80,770 |
| Lakeland-Winter Haven | 60 | $38,460 | $45,900 | $31,250 | $76,760 |
| Sebastian-Vero Beach-West Vero Corridor | 60 | $40,210 | $47,700 | $31,990 | $76,260 |
| Ocala | 50 | $45,940 | $50,540 | $27,650 | $73,630 |
| Punta Gorda | 30 | $43,480 | $58,890 | $33,330 | $100,340 |
| Wildwood-The Villages | 30 | $45,800 | $54,850 | $32,150 | $77,170 |
| Miami-Fort Lauderdale-West Palm Beach | N/A | $44,220 | $50,410 | $27,040 | $93,310 |
| Panama City-Panama City Beach | N/A | $37,690 | $47,820 | $27,040 | $74,620 |
| Port St. Lucie | N/A | $43,530 | $56,430 | $27,040 | $82,830 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for estheticians in Florida? Florida currently employs approximately 5,270 estheticians 1. Nationally, esthetician employment is projected to grow 6.7% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as an esthetician in Florida with an out-of-state license? Confirm reciprocity rules with the program and employer.
What training programs are available in Florida? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Florida.
How much do estheticians earn in Florida compared to the national average? The median annual wage for estheticians in Florida is $43,880, which is $2,320 above the national median of $41,560 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Florida
Top local programs
- Best Esthetician Schools in Alachua, Florida (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Altamonte Springs, Florida (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Anna Maria, Florida (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Apalachicola, Florida (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Apopka, Florida (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Arcadia, Florida (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Archer, Florida (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Astatula, Florida (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Atlantic Beach, Florida (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Atlantis, Florida (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Auburndale, Florida (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Aventura, Florida (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Florida (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Florida
- Best HVAC Schools in Florida (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Florida
- Best Plumbing Schools in Florida (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Florida
Explore More Trades in Florida
- Electrician in Florida
- Plumber in Florida
- HVAC Technician in Florida
- Welder in Florida
- Carpenter in Florida
- Solar Installation Technician in Florida
- Auto Mechanic in Florida
- CNC Machinist in Florida
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Florida
- Medical Assistant in Florida
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |