How to Become an Esthetician in Hawaii (2026)
Hawaii employs about 140 estheticians (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as an Esthetician here means completing a board-approved esthetics program that meets this state’s hour requirement, written and practical exams, and an esthetician license. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
Compare Esthetician Schools in Hawaii
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition (published, per year) | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Makana Esthetics Wellness Academy | 70.2 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | 87% | — | 36 mi |
| 2 | IBS School of Cosmetology and Massage | Not rated | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | 81% | — | 59 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Hawaii employs approximately 140 estheticians according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics 1. Nationally, esthetician employment is projected to grow 6.7% from 2024 to 2034, with about 14,500 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become an Esthetician in Hawaii, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: board-approved esthetics program (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a board-approved esthetics program that meets this state’s hour requirement, written and practical exams, and an esthetician license
- Exam: state written and practical exams (often NIC)
Quick Answers About How to Become an Esthetician in Hawaii
How to become an Esthetician in Hawaii? Complete a board-approved esthetics program that meets this state’s hour requirement, written and practical exams, and an esthetician license. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish a board-approved esthetics program that meets this state’s hour requirement, written and practical exams, and an esthetician license. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.
Do I need a license in Hawaii? Licensing varies. Confirm with the program and employer. See the licensing section below.
How to Become an Esthetician in Hawaii
- Meet board entry rules. Confirm age and education rules with the employer.
- Complete a board-approved esthetics program. Finish the esthetics hour requirement the employer publishes. Confirm the current total with that board; do not copy another state’s hours. This is not a DAS registered apprenticeship.
- Pass written and practical exams. Pass the exams the employer uses for estheticians, not the full cosmetology practitioner exam unless you want that license.
- Apply for the esthetician license. Apply to the employer before taking paying skincare clients.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Esthetician License Requirements in Hawaii
Estheticians in Hawaii complete board-approved esthetics hours, pass exams, and apply to the employer. Do not treat a cosmetology instructor row as the esthetician license.
Typical path
Meet board entry rules.
Complete a board-approved esthetics program.
Pass written and practical exams.
Apply to the employer.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the employer before you enroll.
Esthetician Wages by Metro Area in Hawaii
Skincare Specialists Wages by Metro Area in Hawaii
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), skincare specialists wages in Hawaii vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Urban Honolulu | 90 | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for estheticians in Hawaii? Hawaii currently employs approximately 140 estheticians 1. Nationally, esthetician employment is projected to grow 6.7% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as an esthetician in Hawaii with an out-of-state license? Confirm reciprocity rules with the program and employer.
What training programs are available in Hawaii? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Hawaii.
Related guides
In Hawaii
Top local programs
- Best Esthetician Schools in Hawaii (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Hilo, Hawaii (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Honolulu, Hawaii (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Kailua, Hawaii (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Kaneohe, Hawaii (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Pearl City, Hawaii (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Waipahu, Hawaii (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Hawaii (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Hawaii
- Best HVAC Schools in Hawaii (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Hawaii
- Best Welding Schools in Hawaii (2026)
Explore More Trades in Hawaii
- Electrician in Hawaii
- Plumber in Hawaii
- HVAC Technician in Hawaii
- Welder in Hawaii
- Carpenter in Hawaii
- Solar Installation Technician in Hawaii
- Auto Mechanic in Hawaii
- CNC Machinist in Hawaii
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Hawaii
- Medical Assistant in Hawaii
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |