How to Become an Esthetician in Iowa (2026)

Iowa employs about 710 estheticians earning a median $37,080 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as an Esthetician here means completing a board-approved esthetics program that meets this state’s hour requirement, written and practical exams, and an esthetician license. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.

Key Facts

Sponsored - request program info

Compare Esthetician Schools in Iowa

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the page's primary location.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
165.3Contact school for pricing$34,29693%65 mi
259.3Contact school for pricing$49,76853%Yes*88 mi
358.5Contact school for pricing$24,820Not reported51 mi
454.3Contact school for pricing$29,151Not reported57 mi
553.7Contact school for pricingNot reportedNot reported116 mi
651.7Contact school for pricing$37,06779%122 mi
748.2Contact school for pricing$37,91468%32 mi
847.8Contact school for pricing$35,65772%86 mi
947.5Contact school for pricing$27,778Not reported46 mi
1046.7Contact school for pricing$37,91468%105 mi

Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

Iowa employs approximately 710 estheticians according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $37,080 1. Nationally, esthetician employment is projected to grow 6.7% from 2024 to 2034, with about 14,500 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become an Esthetician in Iowa, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.

At a Glance

  • Training paths: board-approved esthetics program (find programs)
  • Typical timeline: a board-approved esthetics program that meets this state’s hour requirement, written and practical exams, and an esthetician license
  • Exam: state written and practical exams (often NIC)
  • Median wage (Iowa): $37,080 per year 1

Quick Answers About How to Become an Esthetician in Iowa

How to become an Esthetician in Iowa? Complete a board-approved esthetics program that meets this state’s hour requirement, written and practical exams, and an esthetician license. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.

How long does it take? Most people finish a board-approved esthetics program that meets this state’s hour requirement, written and practical exams, and an esthetician license. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.

Do I need a license in Iowa? Licensing varies. Confirm with the program and employer. See the licensing section below.

What do estheticians earn in Iowa? The median annual wage for estheticians in Iowa is $37,080 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $22,830 and experienced professionals can earn $191,910 or more 1.

How to Become an Esthetician in Iowa

  1. Meet board entry rules. Confirm age and education rules with the employer.
  2. Complete a board-approved esthetics program. Finish the esthetics hour requirement the employer publishes. Confirm the current total with that board; do not copy another state’s hours. This is not a DAS registered apprenticeship.
  3. Pass written and practical exams. Pass the exams the employer uses for estheticians, not the full cosmetology practitioner exam unless you want that license.
  4. Apply for the esthetician license. Apply to the employer before taking paying skincare clients.

Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.

Esthetician License Requirements in Iowa

Estheticians in Iowa complete board-approved esthetics hours, pass exams, and apply to the employer. Do not treat a cosmetology instructor row as the esthetician license.

Typical path

  1. Meet board entry rules.

  2. Complete a board-approved esthetics program.

  3. Pass written and practical exams.

  4. Apply to the employer.

Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the employer before you enroll.

Esthetician Wages by Metro Area in Iowa

Skincare Specialists Wages by Metro Area in Iowa

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), skincare specialists wages in Iowa vary by metro area.

Metro AreaEmploymentMedian Annual WageAvg. Annual WageEntry Level
(10th pctile)
Experienced
(90th pctile)
Omaha390$58,430$63,260$40,590$82,340
Des Moines-West Des Moines300$38,730$74,530$22,880$191,910
Cedar Rapids100$43,810$45,150$22,110$53,590
Davenport-Moline-Rock Island80$37,080$51,650$22,120$77,650
Iowa City40$46,010$43,410$25,660$53,940
Ames30N/AN/AN/AN/A
Waterloo-Cedar Falls30$39,170$65,520$15,080$183,880

Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the job outlook for estheticians in Iowa? Iowa currently employs approximately 710 estheticians 1. Nationally, esthetician employment is projected to grow 6.7% from 2024 to 2034 2.

Can I work as an esthetician in Iowa with an out-of-state license? Confirm reciprocity rules with the program and employer.

What training programs are available in Iowa? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Iowa.

How much do estheticians earn in Iowa compared to the national average? The median annual wage for estheticians in Iowa is $37,080, which is $4,480 below the national median of $41,560 according to BLS data 1.

In Iowa

Top local programs

Explore More Trades in Iowa

Citations

About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

References


  1. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  2. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)
O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones)U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.)O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13)