How to Become an Esthetician in Kentucky (2026)
Kentucky employs about 830 estheticians earning a median $38,580 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as an Esthetician here means completing a board-approved esthetics program that meets this state’s hour requirement, written and practical exams, and an esthetician license. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
Compare Esthetician Schools in Kentucky
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition (published, per year) | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Livingston | 56.2 | Contact school for pricing | $39,535 | 78% | — | 93 mi |
| 2 | Edge Academy of Beauty | Not rated | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | Not reported | — | 95 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 3 | Somerset Community College | 47.1 | $4,728 in-state / $6,432 out-of-state | $43,252 | 43% | Yes* | 61 mi |
| 4 | Summit Salon Academy-Lexington | 38.5 | Contact school for pricing | $27,270 | 55% | — | 52 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 5 | Employment Solutions-College for Technical Education | 35.9 | Contact school for pricing | $25,640 | 63% | Yes* | 49 mi |
| 6 | Paul Mitchell the School-Louisville | 35.1 | Contact school for pricing | $27,832 | 73% | — | 40 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 7 | Regina Webb Academy | Not rated | Contact school for pricing | $28,903 | 100% | — | 82 mi |
| 8 | Empire Beauty School-Elizabethtown | 26.9 | Contact school for pricing | $24,506 | 51% | — | 30 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 9 | PJ's College of Cosmetology-Clarksville | 23.1 | Contact school for pricing | $26,418 | 69% | — | 46 mi |
| 10 | PJ's College of Cosmetology-Bowling Green | 20.5 | Contact school for pricing | $26,289 | 64% | — | 82 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Kentucky employs approximately 830 estheticians according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $38,580 1. Nationally, esthetician employment is projected to grow 6.7% from 2024 to 2034, with about 14,500 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become an Esthetician in Kentucky, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: board-approved esthetics program (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a board-approved esthetics program that meets this state’s hour requirement, written and practical exams, and an esthetician license
- Exam: state written and practical exams (often NIC)
- Median wage (Kentucky): $38,580 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become an Esthetician in Kentucky
How to become an Esthetician in Kentucky? Complete a board-approved esthetics program that meets this state’s hour requirement, written and practical exams, and an esthetician license. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish a board-approved esthetics program that meets this state’s hour requirement, written and practical exams, and an esthetician license. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.
Do I need a license in Kentucky? Licensing varies. Confirm with the program and employer. See the licensing section below.
What do estheticians earn in Kentucky? The median annual wage for estheticians in Kentucky is $38,580 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $26,340 and experienced professionals can earn $81,610 or more 1.
How to Become an Esthetician in Kentucky
- Meet board entry rules. Confirm age and education rules with the employer.
- Complete a board-approved esthetics program. Finish the esthetics hour requirement the employer publishes. Confirm the current total with that board; do not copy another state’s hours. This is not a DAS registered apprenticeship.
- Pass written and practical exams. Pass the exams the employer uses for estheticians, not the full cosmetology practitioner exam unless you want that license.
- Apply for the esthetician license. Apply to the employer before taking paying skincare clients.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Esthetician License Requirements in Kentucky
Estheticians in Kentucky complete board-approved esthetics hours, pass exams, and apply to the employer. Do not treat a cosmetology instructor row as the esthetician license.
Typical path
Meet board entry rules.
Complete a board-approved esthetics program.
Pass written and practical exams.
Apply to the employer.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the employer before you enroll.
Esthetician Wages by Metro Area in Kentucky
Skincare Specialists Wages by Metro Area in Kentucky
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), skincare specialists wages in Kentucky vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cincinnati | 540 | $43,570 | $48,070 | $25,160 | $75,920 |
| Louisville/Jefferson County | 330 | $38,750 | $46,750 | $26,360 | $85,090 |
| Lexington-Fayette | 180 | $38,580 | $41,610 | $27,520 | $58,250 |
| Clarksville | 70 | $36,300 | $44,510 | $27,090 | $78,480 |
| Bowling Green | 40 | $39,090 | $42,070 | $23,300 | $64,780 |
| Huntington-Ashland | 40 | $30,930 | $36,660 | $23,610 | $53,360 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for estheticians in Kentucky? Kentucky currently employs approximately 830 estheticians 1. Nationally, esthetician employment is projected to grow 6.7% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as an esthetician in Kentucky with an out-of-state license? Confirm reciprocity rules with the program and employer.
What training programs are available in Kentucky? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Kentucky.
How much do estheticians earn in Kentucky compared to the national average? The median annual wage for estheticians in Kentucky is $38,580, which is $2,980 below the national median of $41,560 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Kentucky
Top local programs
- Best Esthetician Schools in Ashland, Kentucky (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Bardstown, Kentucky (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Berea, Kentucky (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Bowling Green, Kentucky (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Campbellsville, Kentucky (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Covington, Kentucky (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Danville, Kentucky (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Elizabethtown, Kentucky (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Erlanger, Kentucky (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Florence, Kentucky (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Fort Thomas, Kentucky (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Frankfort, Kentucky (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Kentucky (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Kentucky
- Best HVAC Schools in Kentucky (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Kentucky
- Best Plumbing Schools in Kentucky (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Kentucky
Explore More Trades in Kentucky
- Electrician in Kentucky
- Plumber in Kentucky
- HVAC Technician in Kentucky
- Welder in Kentucky
- Carpenter in Kentucky
- Solar Installation Technician in Kentucky
- Auto Mechanic in Kentucky
- CNC Machinist in Kentucky
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Kentucky
- Medical Assistant in Kentucky
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |