How to Become an Esthetician in Louisiana (2026)
Louisiana employs about 600 estheticians earning a median $36,890 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as an Esthetician here means completing a board-approved esthetics program that meets this state’s hour requirement, written and practical exams, and an esthetician license. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
Key Facts
- Median wage (Louisiana): $36,890/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Employed in Louisiana: 600 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Location quotient: 0.66x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: 6.7% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Esthetician Schools in Louisiana
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Omega Institute of Cosmetology | 59.4 | Contact school for pricing | $22,934 | 94% | — | 113 mi |
| 2 | Cosmetology Training Center | 51.8 | Contact school for pricing | $17,599 | 79% | — | 58 mi |
| 3 | Aveda Arts & Sciences Institute-Lafayette | 50.8 | Contact school for pricing | $21,980 | 84% | — | 56 mi |
| 4 | LaSalle Tech | 49.3 | Contact school for pricing | $21,487 | Not reported | — | 115 mi |
| 5 | Aveda Arts & Sciences Institute-Covington | 45.6 | Contact school for pricing | $30,676 | Not reported | — | 104 mi |
| 6 | Celebrity Stylist Beauty School | 43.7 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | Not reported | — | 108 mi |
| 7 | John Jay Beauty College | 38.9 | Contact school for pricing | $20,823 | 63% | — | 113 mi |
| 8 | Paul Mitchell the School-Baton Rouge | 38.8 | Contact school for pricing | $21,837 | 75% | — | 58 mi |
| 9 | Cloyd's Beauty School 3 Inc | 36.1 | Contact school for pricing | $25,175 | 59% | — | 109 mi |
| 10 | Blue Cliff College-Alexandria | 36.0 | Contact school for pricing | $26,644 | 33% | Yes* | 48 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Louisiana employs approximately 600 estheticians according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $36,890 1. Nationally, esthetician employment is projected to grow 6.7% from 2024 to 2034, with about 14,500 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become an Esthetician in Louisiana, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: board-approved esthetics program (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a board-approved esthetics program that meets this state’s hour requirement, written and practical exams, and an esthetician license
- Exam: state written and practical exams (often NIC)
- Median wage (Louisiana): $36,890 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become an Esthetician in Louisiana
How to become an Esthetician in Louisiana? Complete a board-approved esthetics program that meets this state’s hour requirement, written and practical exams, and an esthetician license. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish a board-approved esthetics program that meets this state’s hour requirement, written and practical exams, and an esthetician license. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.
Do I need a license in Louisiana? Licensing varies. Confirm with the program and employer. See the licensing section below.
What do estheticians earn in Louisiana? The median annual wage for estheticians in Louisiana is $36,890 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $20,340 and experienced professionals can earn $64,650 or more 1.
How to Become an Esthetician in Louisiana
- Meet board entry rules. Confirm age and education rules with the employer.
- Complete a board-approved esthetics program. Finish the esthetics hour requirement the employer publishes. Confirm the current total with that board; do not copy another state’s hours. This is not a DAS registered apprenticeship.
- Pass written and practical exams. Pass the exams the employer uses for estheticians, not the full cosmetology practitioner exam unless you want that license.
- Apply for the esthetician license. Apply to the employer before taking paying skincare clients.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Esthetician License Requirements in Louisiana
Estheticians in Louisiana complete board-approved esthetics hours, pass exams, and apply to the employer. Do not treat a cosmetology instructor row as the esthetician license.
Typical path
Meet board entry rules.
Complete a board-approved esthetics program.
Pass written and practical exams.
Apply to the employer.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the employer before you enroll.
Esthetician Wages by Metro Area in Louisiana
Skincare Specialists Wages by Metro Area in Louisiana
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), skincare specialists wages in Louisiana vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Baton Rouge | 120 | $38,360 | $43,440 | $24,030 | $65,090 |
| New Orleans-Metairie | 110 | $39,830 | $45,790 | $26,110 | $66,270 |
| Lafayette | 70 | $29,680 | $32,890 | $15,080 | $60,400 |
| Slidell-Mandeville-Covington | 70 | $38,760 | $39,850 | $21,920 | $63,270 |
| Shreveport-Bossier City | 50 | $37,640 | $40,400 | $24,330 | $60,730 |
| Lake Charles | 40 | $28,090 | $32,120 | $15,080 | $62,160 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for estheticians in Louisiana? Louisiana currently employs approximately 600 estheticians 1. Nationally, esthetician employment is projected to grow 6.7% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as an esthetician in Louisiana with an out-of-state license? Confirm reciprocity rules with the program and employer.
What training programs are available in Louisiana? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Louisiana.
How much do estheticians earn in Louisiana compared to the national average? The median annual wage for estheticians in Louisiana is $36,890, which is $4,670 below the national median of $41,560 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Louisiana
Top local programs
- Best Esthetician Schools in Abbeville, Louisiana (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Alexandria, Louisiana (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Baker, Louisiana (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Bastrop, Louisiana (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Baton Rouge Metro, Louisiana (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Baton Rouge North, Louisiana (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Baton Rouge, Louisiana (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Bogalusa, Louisiana (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Bossier City, Louisiana (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Breaux Bridge, Louisiana (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Broussard, Louisiana (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Central, Louisiana (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Louisiana (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Louisiana
- Best HVAC Schools in Louisiana (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Louisiana
- Best Plumbing Schools in Louisiana (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Louisiana
Explore More Trades in Louisiana
- Electrician in Louisiana
- Plumber in Louisiana
- HVAC Technician in Louisiana
- Welder in Louisiana
- Carpenter in Louisiana
- Solar Installation Technician in Louisiana
- Auto Mechanic in Louisiana
- CNC Machinist in Louisiana
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Louisiana
- Medical Assistant in Louisiana
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |