How to Become an Esthetician in Michigan (2026)
Michigan employs about 1,510 estheticians earning a median $45,240 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as an Esthetician here means completing a board-approved esthetics program that meets this state’s hour requirement, written and practical exams, and an esthetician license. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
Key Facts
- Median wage (Michigan): $45,240/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Employed in Michigan: 1,510 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Location quotient: 0.73x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: 6.7% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Esthetician Schools in Michigan
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Mosley School of Cosmetology | Not rated | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | Not reported | Yes* | 57 mi |
| 2 | The Salon Professional Academy of Holland | 68.1 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | 82% | — | 79 mi |
| 3 | Brighton Institute of Cosmetology | 65.8 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | 96% | — | 67 mi |
| 4 | French Academy of Cosmetology | 57.9 | Contact school for pricing | $27,237 | Not reported | — | 79 mi |
| 5 | Marketti Academy of Cosmetology | 51.7 | Contact school for pricing | $28,244 | 91% | — | 74 mi |
| 6 | L'esprit Academy | 50.4 | Contact school for pricing | $26,163 | 88% | — | 87 mi |
| 7 | Douglas J Aveda Institute | 43.0 | Contact school for pricing | $29,058 | 76% | — | 35 mi |
| 8 | Mott Community College | 38.0 | $6,845 - $15,460 | $52,696 | 26% | Yes* | 50 mi |
| 9 | Michigan College of Beauty-Troy | 37.0 | Contact school for pricing | $24,777 | 67% | — | 89 mi |
| 10 | Port Huron Cosmetology College | 35.5 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | 69% | — | 72 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Michigan employs approximately 1,510 estheticians according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $45,240 1. Nationally, esthetician employment is projected to grow 6.7% from 2024 to 2034, with about 14,500 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become an Esthetician in Michigan, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: board-approved esthetics program (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a board-approved esthetics program that meets this state’s hour requirement, written and practical exams, and an esthetician license
- Exam: state written and practical exams (often NIC)
- Median wage (Michigan): $45,240 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become an Esthetician in Michigan
How to become an Esthetician in Michigan? Complete a board-approved esthetics program that meets this state’s hour requirement, written and practical exams, and an esthetician license. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish a board-approved esthetics program that meets this state’s hour requirement, written and practical exams, and an esthetician license. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.
Do I need a license in Michigan? Licensing varies. Confirm with the program and employer. See the licensing section below.
What do estheticians earn in Michigan? The median annual wage for estheticians in Michigan is $45,240 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $28,810 and experienced professionals can earn $77,940 or more 1.
How to Become an Esthetician in Michigan
- Meet board entry rules. Confirm age and education rules with the employer.
- Complete a board-approved esthetics program. Finish the esthetics hour requirement the employer publishes. Confirm the current total with that board; do not copy another state’s hours. This is not a DAS registered apprenticeship.
- Pass written and practical exams. Pass the exams the employer uses for estheticians, not the full cosmetology practitioner exam unless you want that license.
- Apply for the esthetician license. Apply to the employer before taking paying skincare clients.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Esthetician License Requirements in Michigan
Estheticians in Michigan complete board-approved esthetics hours, pass exams, and apply to the employer. Do not treat a cosmetology instructor row as the esthetician license.
Typical path
Meet board entry rules.
Complete a board-approved esthetics program.
Pass written and practical exams.
Apply to the employer.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the employer before you enroll.
Esthetician Wages by Metro Area in Michigan
Skincare Specialists Wages by Metro Area in Michigan
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), skincare specialists wages in Michigan vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Detroit-Warren-Dearborn | 790 | $47,000 | $51,460 | $30,000 | $80,430 |
| Grand Rapids-Wyoming-Kentwood | 300 | $44,680 | $46,330 | $27,930 | $70,660 |
| Ann Arbor | 70 | $46,090 | $49,390 | $27,780 | $71,770 |
| Lansing-East Lansing | 60 | $48,040 | $50,820 | $31,070 | $85,090 |
| South Bend-Mishawaka | 50 | $37,590 | $38,740 | $26,870 | $51,800 |
| Saginaw | 30 | $48,180 | $49,920 | $31,050 | $61,870 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for estheticians in Michigan? Michigan currently employs approximately 1,510 estheticians 1. Nationally, esthetician employment is projected to grow 6.7% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as an esthetician in Michigan with an out-of-state license? Confirm reciprocity rules with the program and employer.
What training programs are available in Michigan? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Michigan.
How much do estheticians earn in Michigan compared to the national average? The median annual wage for estheticians in Michigan is $45,240, which is $3,680 above the national median of $41,560 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Michigan
Top local programs
- Best Esthetician Schools in Adrian, Michigan (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Allen Park, Michigan (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Alma, Michigan (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Alpena, Michigan (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Ann Arbor, Michigan (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Auburn Hills, Michigan (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Battle Creek, Michigan (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Bay City, Michigan (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Benton Harbor, Michigan (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Berkley, Michigan (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Beverly Hills, Michigan (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Big Rapids, Michigan (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Michigan (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Michigan
- Best HVAC Schools in Michigan (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Michigan
- Best Plumbing Schools in Michigan (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Michigan
Explore More Trades in Michigan
- Electrician in Michigan
- Plumber in Michigan
- HVAC Technician in Michigan
- Welder in Michigan
- Carpenter in Michigan
- Solar Installation Technician in Michigan
- Auto Mechanic in Michigan
- CNC Machinist in Michigan
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Michigan
- Medical Assistant in Michigan
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |