How to Become an Esthetician in South Dakota (2026)
South Dakota employs about 150 estheticians earning a median $38,230 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as an Esthetician here means completing a board-approved esthetics program that meets this state’s hour requirement, written and practical exams, and an esthetician license. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
Compare Esthetician Schools in South Dakota
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition (published, per year) | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Ridgewater College | 68.7 | $6,121 | $49,859 | 50% | Yes* | 221 mi |
| 2 | Minnesota State Community and Technical College | 64.5 | $5,908 | $54,581 | 47% | Yes* | 219 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 3 | Capitol Beauty School | 64.5 | Contact school for pricing | $28,970 | 87% | — | 258 mi |
| 4 | Stewart School | 62.1 | Contact school for pricing | $35,397 | 88% | — | 133 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 5 | Minnesota West Community and Technical College | 58.5 | $6,491 | $52,390 | 52% | Yes* | 192 mi |
| 6 | Faust Institute of Cosmetology-Spirit Lake | 53.7 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | 92% | — | 215 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 7 | Paul Mitchell the School-Rapid City | 52.9 | Contact school for pricing | $28,685 | 88% | — | 194 mi |
| 8 | Xenon A Stephanie Moss Academy | 52.2 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | 82% | — | 259 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 9 | The Salon Professional Academy-Fargo | 50.5 | Contact school for pricing | $36,100 | 60% | — | 226 mi |
| 10 | The Salon Professional Academy | 45.4 | Contact school for pricing | $35,007 | 79% | — | 193 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
South Dakota employs approximately 150 estheticians according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $38,230 1. Nationally, esthetician employment is projected to grow 6.7% from 2024 to 2034, with about 14,500 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become an Esthetician in South Dakota, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: board-approved esthetics program (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a board-approved esthetics program that meets this state’s hour requirement, written and practical exams, and an esthetician license
- Exam: state written and practical exams (often NIC)
- Median wage (South Dakota): $38,230 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become an Esthetician in South Dakota
How to become an Esthetician in South Dakota? Complete a board-approved esthetics program that meets this state’s hour requirement, written and practical exams, and an esthetician license. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish a board-approved esthetics program that meets this state’s hour requirement, written and practical exams, and an esthetician license. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.
Do I need a license in South Dakota? Licensing varies. Confirm with the program and employer. See the licensing section below.
What do estheticians earn in South Dakota? The median annual wage for estheticians in South Dakota is $38,230 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $24,450 and experienced professionals can earn $52,350 or more 1.
How to Become an Esthetician in South Dakota
- Meet board entry rules. Confirm age and education rules with the employer.
- Complete a board-approved esthetics program. Finish the esthetics hour requirement the employer publishes. Confirm the current total with that board; do not copy another state’s hours. This is not a DAS registered apprenticeship.
- Pass written and practical exams. Pass the exams the employer uses for estheticians, not the full cosmetology practitioner exam unless you want that license.
- Apply for the esthetician license. Apply to the employer before taking paying skincare clients.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Esthetician License Requirements in South Dakota
Estheticians in South Dakota complete board-approved esthetics hours, pass exams, and apply to the employer. Do not treat a cosmetology instructor row as the esthetician license.
Typical path
Meet board entry rules.
Complete a board-approved esthetics program.
Pass written and practical exams.
Apply to the employer.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the employer before you enroll.
Esthetician Wages by Metro Area in South Dakota
Skincare Specialists Wages by Metro Area in South Dakota
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), skincare specialists wages in South Dakota vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sioux Falls | 90 | $31,580 | $34,460 | $24,450 | $48,310 |
| Rapid City | 30 | $38,580 | $38,760 | $24,020 | $54,850 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for estheticians in South Dakota? South Dakota currently employs approximately 150 estheticians 1. Nationally, esthetician employment is projected to grow 6.7% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as an esthetician in South Dakota with an out-of-state license? Confirm reciprocity rules with the program and employer.
What training programs are available in South Dakota? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in South Dakota.
How much do estheticians earn in South Dakota compared to the national average? The median annual wage for estheticians in South Dakota is $38,230, which is $3,330 below the national median of $41,560 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In South Dakota
Top local programs
- Best Esthetician Schools in Aberdeen, South Dakota (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Brookings, South Dakota (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Huron, South Dakota (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Mitchell, South Dakota (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Pierre, South Dakota (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Rapid City, South Dakota (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Sioux Falls, South Dakota (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in South Dakota (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Spearfish, South Dakota (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Vermillion, South Dakota (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Watertown, South Dakota (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Yankton, South Dakota (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in South Dakota (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in South Dakota
- Best HVAC Schools in South Dakota (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in South Dakota
- Best Plumbing Schools in South Dakota (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in South Dakota
Explore More Trades in South Dakota
- Electrician in South Dakota
- Plumber in South Dakota
- HVAC Technician in South Dakota
- Welder in South Dakota
- Carpenter in South Dakota
- Solar Installation Technician in South Dakota
- Auto Mechanic in South Dakota
- CNC Machinist in South Dakota
- Certified Nursing Assistant in South Dakota
- Medical Assistant in South Dakota
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |