How to Become an Esthetician in Utah (2026)
Utah employs about 1,160 estheticians earning a median $45,490 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as an Esthetician here means completing a board-approved esthetics program that meets this state’s hour requirement, written and practical exams, and an esthetician license. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
Compare Esthetician Schools in Utah
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Top Nails & Hair Beauty School | 79.2 | Contact school for pricing | $35,491 | 95% | — | 4 mi |
| 2 | Esteem Academy of Beauty | 77.5 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | 94% | — | 34 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 3 | Medspa Academies | 67.4 | Contact school for pricing | $37,284 | 94% | — | 9 mi |
| 4 | Cameo College of Essential Beauty | 64.5 | Contact school for pricing | $27,255 | Not reported | — | 6 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 5 | Mandalyn Academy | 63.2 | Contact school for pricing | $32,006 | 77% | — | 23 mi |
| 6 | Taylor Andrews Academy of Hair Design-West Jordan | 55.2 | Contact school for pricing | $28,192 | 72% | — | 5 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 7 | Avalon Institute-Layton | 53.5 | Contact school for pricing | $33,261 | 73% | — | 28 mi |
| 8 | Skinworks School of Advanced Skincare | 50.9 | Contact school for pricing | $34,369 | 74% | — | 8 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 9 | Skin Science Institute | 50.9 | Contact school for pricing | $28,584 | 80% | — | 13 mi |
| 10 | Davis Technical College | 47.9 | Contact school for pricing | $47,706 | Not reported | — | 25 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Utah employs approximately 1,160 estheticians according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $45,490 1. The state’s concentration of esthetician jobs is 1.43x the national average, indicating strong demand. Nationally, esthetician employment is projected to grow 6.7% from 2024 to 2034, with about 14,500 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become an Esthetician in Utah, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: board-approved esthetics program (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a board-approved esthetics program that meets this state’s hour requirement, written and practical exams, and an esthetician license
- Exam: state written and practical exams (often NIC)
- Median wage (Utah): $45,490 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become an Esthetician in Utah
How to become an Esthetician in Utah? Complete a board-approved esthetics program that meets this state’s hour requirement, written and practical exams, and an esthetician license. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish a board-approved esthetics program that meets this state’s hour requirement, written and practical exams, and an esthetician license. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.
Do I need a license in Utah? Licensing varies. Confirm with the program and employer. See the licensing section below.
What do estheticians earn in Utah? The median annual wage for estheticians in Utah is $45,490 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $26,810 and experienced professionals can earn $62,990 or more 1.
How to Become an Esthetician in Utah
- Meet board entry rules. Confirm age and education rules with the employer.
- Complete a board-approved esthetics program. Finish the esthetics hour requirement the employer publishes. Confirm the current total with that board; do not copy another state’s hours. This is not a DAS registered apprenticeship.
- Pass written and practical exams. Pass the exams the employer uses for estheticians, not the full cosmetology practitioner exam unless you want that license.
- Apply for the esthetician license. Apply to the employer before taking paying skincare clients.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Esthetician License Requirements in Utah
Estheticians in Utah complete board-approved esthetics hours, pass exams, and apply to the employer. Do not treat a cosmetology instructor row as the esthetician license.
Typical path
Meet board entry rules.
Complete a board-approved esthetics program.
Pass written and practical exams.
Apply to the employer.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the employer before you enroll.
Esthetician Wages by Metro Area in Utah
Skincare Specialists Wages by Metro Area in Utah
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), skincare specialists wages in Utah vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Salt Lake City-Murray | 590 | $47,730 | $48,000 | $26,810 | $63,170 |
| Ogden | 200 | $47,820 | $49,640 | $31,200 | $60,860 |
| Provo-Orem-Lehi | 200 | $39,270 | $47,610 | $24,770 | $62,160 |
| St. George | 60 | $43,620 | $46,240 | $23,990 | $59,450 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for estheticians in Utah? Utah currently employs approximately 1,160 estheticians 1. Nationally, esthetician employment is projected to grow 6.7% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as an esthetician in Utah with an out-of-state license? Confirm reciprocity rules with the program and employer.
What training programs are available in Utah? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Utah.
How much do estheticians earn in Utah compared to the national average? The median annual wage for estheticians in Utah is $45,490, which is $3,930 above the national median of $41,560 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Utah
Top local programs
- Best Esthetician Schools in Alpine, Utah (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in American Fork, Utah (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Bluffdale, Utah (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Bountiful, Utah (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Brigham City, Utah (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Cedar City, Utah (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Cedar Hills, Utah (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Centerville, Utah (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Clearfield, Utah (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Clinton, Utah (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Cottonwood Heights, Utah (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Draper, Utah (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Utah (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Utah
- Best HVAC Schools in Utah (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Utah
- Best Plumbing Schools in Utah (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Utah
Explore More Trades in Utah
- Electrician in Utah
- Plumber in Utah
- HVAC Technician in Utah
- Welder in Utah
- Carpenter in Utah
- Solar Installation Technician in Utah
- Auto Mechanic in Utah
- CNC Machinist in Utah
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Utah
- Medical Assistant in Utah
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |