How to Become an Esthetician in Virginia (2026)
Virginia employs about 1,970 estheticians earning a median $39,350 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as an Esthetician here means completing a board-approved esthetics program that meets this state’s hour requirement, written and practical exams, and an esthetician license. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
Compare Esthetician Schools in Virginia
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Lotus Professional College | Not rated | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | Not reported | — | 69 mi |
| 2 | Eastern Virginia Career College | 62.3 | Contact school for pricing | $55,957 | 73% | — | 98 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 3 | Central Carolina Community College | 60.6 | Contact school for pricing | $42,844 | Not reported | Yes* | 127 mi |
| 4 | Institute of Advanced Medical Esthetics | 60.1 | Contact school for pricing | $33,119 | Not reported | — | 74 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 5 | Leons Beauty School Inc | 59.1 | Contact school for pricing | $27,403 | 79% | — | 105 mi |
| 6 | Wake Technical Community College | 55.3 | Contact school for pricing | $49,034 | Not reported | Yes* | 112 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 7 | Davidson-Davie Community College | 51.6 | Contact school for pricing | $44,533 | 44% | Yes* | 128 mi |
| 8 | Alamance Community College | 50.9 | Contact school for pricing | $41,411 | Not reported | Yes* | 91 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 9 | Aveda Institute-Chapel Hill | 48.3 | Contact school for pricing | $32,524 | 78% | — | 96 mi |
| 10 | Edgecombe Community College | 46.9 | Contact school for pricing | $46,820 | 45% | Yes* | 115 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Virginia employs approximately 1,970 estheticians according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $39,350 1. Nationally, esthetician employment is projected to grow 6.7% from 2024 to 2034, with about 14,500 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become an Esthetician in Virginia, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: board-approved esthetics program (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a board-approved esthetics program that meets this state’s hour requirement, written and practical exams, and an esthetician license
- Exam: state written and practical exams (often NIC)
- Median wage (Virginia): $39,350 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become an Esthetician in Virginia
How to become an Esthetician in Virginia? Complete a board-approved esthetics program that meets this state’s hour requirement, written and practical exams, and an esthetician license. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish a board-approved esthetics program that meets this state’s hour requirement, written and practical exams, and an esthetician license. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.
Do I need a license in Virginia? Licensing varies. Confirm with the program and employer. See the licensing section below.
What do estheticians earn in Virginia? The median annual wage for estheticians in Virginia is $39,350 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $31,530 and experienced professionals can earn $67,520 or more 1.
How to Become an Esthetician in Virginia
- Meet board entry rules. Confirm age and education rules with the employer.
- Complete a board-approved esthetics program. Finish the esthetics hour requirement the employer publishes. Confirm the current total with that board; do not copy another state’s hours. This is not a DAS registered apprenticeship.
- Pass written and practical exams. Pass the exams the employer uses for estheticians, not the full cosmetology practitioner exam unless you want that license.
- Apply for the esthetician license. Apply to the employer before taking paying skincare clients.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Esthetician License Requirements in Virginia
Estheticians in Virginia complete board-approved esthetics hours, pass exams, and apply to the employer. Do not treat a cosmetology instructor row as the esthetician license.
Typical path
Meet board entry rules.
Complete a board-approved esthetics program.
Pass written and practical exams.
Apply to the employer.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the employer before you enroll.
Esthetician Wages by Metro Area in Virginia
Skincare Specialists Wages by Metro Area in Virginia
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), skincare specialists wages in Virginia vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Washington-Arlington-Alexandria | 1,300 | $46,620 | $57,460 | $36,940 | $107,050 |
| Virginia Beach-Chesapeake-Norfolk | 530 | $34,190 | $40,490 | $31,290 | $50,300 |
| Richmond | 330 | $35,370 | $45,930 | $30,470 | $67,520 |
| Charlottesville | 60 | $40,780 | $54,190 | $33,700 | $100,530 |
| Kingsport-Bristol | 40 | $35,530 | $35,680 | $17,400 | $51,470 |
| Roanoke | 30 | $37,240 | $41,540 | $30,050 | $53,580 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for estheticians in Virginia? Virginia currently employs approximately 1,970 estheticians 1. Nationally, esthetician employment is projected to grow 6.7% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as an esthetician in Virginia with an out-of-state license? Confirm reciprocity rules with the program and employer.
What training programs are available in Virginia? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Virginia.
How much do estheticians earn in Virginia compared to the national average? The median annual wage for estheticians in Virginia is $39,350, which is $2,210 below the national median of $41,560 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Virginia
Top local programs
- Best Esthetician Schools in Alexandria, Virginia (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Arlington, Virginia (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Blacksburg, Virginia (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Bristol, Virginia (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Charlottesville, Virginia (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Chesapeake, Virginia (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Christiansburg, Virginia (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Colonial Heights, Virginia (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Culpeper, Virginia (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Danville, Virginia (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Fairfax, Virginia (2026)
- Best Esthetician Schools in Falls Church, Virginia (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Virginia (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Virginia
- Best HVAC Schools in Virginia (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Virginia
- Best Plumbing Schools in Virginia (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Virginia
Explore More Trades in Virginia
- Electrician in Virginia
- Plumber in Virginia
- HVAC Technician in Virginia
- Welder in Virginia
- Carpenter in Virginia
- Solar Installation Technician in Virginia
- Auto Mechanic in Virginia
- CNC Machinist in Virginia
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Virginia
- Medical Assistant in Virginia
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |