How to Become a Graphic Designer in Florida (2026)
Florida employs about 12,660 graphic designers earning a median $61,660 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Graphic Designer here means completing a short course or certificate plus a portfolio; most states do not license this role.
Compare Graphic Designer Schools in Florida
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition (published, per year) | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Florida Institute of Recording Sound and Technology | Not rated | Contact school for pricing | $33,481 | Not reported | Yes* | 49 mi |
| 2 | Traviss Technical College | 73.3 | Contact school for pricing | $38,755 | 90% | — | 26 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 3 | Hillsborough Community College | 61.2 | $2,506 in-state / $9,111 out-of-state | $49,784 | 34% | Yes* | 54 mi |
| 4 | Polk State College | 54.3 | $2,694 in-state / $9,817 out-of-state | $53,180 | 35% | Yes* | 15 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 5 | Valencia College | 46.8 | $2,664 in-state / $9,576 out-of-state | $46,937 | 48% | — | 46 mi |
| 6 | Osceola Technical College | 43.3 | Contact school for pricing | $37,201 | 47% | — | 36 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 7 | Orange Technical College-East Campus | Not rated | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | 63% | — | 53 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Florida employs approximately 12,660 graphic designers according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $61,660 1. Nationally, graphic designer employment is projected to grow 2.1% from 2024 to 2034, with about 20,000 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Graphic Designer in Florida, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: short course, certificate, or self-directed portfolio work (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a short course or certificate plus a portfolio; most states do not license this role
- Median wage (Florida): $61,660 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Graphic Designer in Florida
How to become a Graphic Designer in Florida? Complete a short course or certificate plus a portfolio; most states do not license this role. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish a short course or certificate plus a portfolio; most states do not license this role. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.
Do I need a license in Florida? Licensing varies. See the licensing section below for the Florida path.
What do graphic designers earn in Florida? The median annual wage for graphic designers in Florida is $61,660 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $39,810 and experienced professionals can earn $101,860 or more 1.
How to Become a Graphic Designer in Florida
- Build skills and a portfolio. Complete a short course or certificate if you want structured training, then assemble a portfolio. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
- Optional industry credentials. Tool or association credentials can help hiring. They are not a state occupational license.
- Most states do not license this role. Do not apply to a licensing board. Confirm employer expectations, not a state credential that does not exist.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Graphic Designer License Requirements in Florida
Most states do not license this role. The path is a portfolio and a short course or certificate, not a licensing board.
Typical path
Build skills through a short course, certificate, or OJT.
Assemble a portfolio.
Do not apply to a licensing board for this role.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Graphic Designer Wages by Metro Area in Florida
Graphic Designers Wages by Metro Area in Florida
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), graphic designers wages in Florida vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Miami-Fort Lauderdale-West Palm Beach | 3,950 | $61,870 | $71,980 | $44,370 | $105,940 |
| Orlando-Kissimmee-Sanford | 1,980 | $62,360 | $66,830 | $43,140 | $99,980 |
| Tampa-St. Petersburg-Clearwater | 1,870 | $62,900 | $66,000 | $38,280 | $94,760 |
| Jacksonville | 1,010 | $63,090 | $67,240 | $41,870 | $100,120 |
| North Port-Bradenton-Sarasota | 340 | $54,530 | $59,170 | $38,730 | $88,360 |
| Cape Coral-Fort Myers | 310 | $58,110 | $63,210 | $37,080 | $102,940 |
| Palm Bay-Melbourne-Titusville | 310 | $63,680 | $70,940 | $39,520 | $101,740 |
| Deltona-Daytona Beach-Ormond Beach | 290 | $49,640 | $58,580 | $32,810 | $95,820 |
| Tallahassee | 280 | $61,010 | $66,020 | $38,310 | $106,820 |
| Lakeland-Winter Haven | 260 | $56,660 | $59,700 | $28,220 | $90,640 |
| Gainesville | 200 | $64,310 | $63,490 | $41,090 | $84,340 |
| Naples-Marco Island | 170 | $69,570 | $72,560 | $43,190 | $109,350 |
| Pensacola-Ferry Pass-Brent | 170 | $58,230 | $59,850 | $36,310 | $87,680 |
| Port St. Lucie | 140 | $60,030 | $64,570 | $40,000 | $96,680 |
| Crestview-Fort Walton Beach-Destin | 110 | $65,560 | $70,430 | $39,170 | $103,300 |
| Ocala | 100 | $52,370 | $57,940 | $36,490 | $81,140 |
| Panama City-Panama City Beach | 80 | $58,280 | $61,550 | $39,580 | $92,540 |
| Sebastian-Vero Beach-West Vero Corridor | 50 | $58,760 | $66,470 | $37,190 | $99,310 |
| Punta Gorda | 40 | $52,580 | $61,020 | $35,040 | $101,090 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for graphic designers in Florida? Florida currently employs approximately 12,660 graphic designers 1. Nationally, graphic designer employment is projected to grow 2.1% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in Florida? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Florida.
How much do graphic designers earn in Florida compared to the national average? The median annual wage for graphic designers in Florida is $61,660, which is $360 above the national median of $61,300 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Florida
Top local programs
- Best Graphic Design Schools in Alachua, Florida (2026)
- Best Graphic Design Schools in Altamonte Springs, Florida (2026)
- Best Graphic Design Schools in Anna Maria, Florida (2026)
- Best Graphic Design Schools in Apalachicola, Florida (2026)
- Best Graphic Design Schools in Apopka, Florida (2026)
- Best Graphic Design Schools in Arcadia, Florida (2026)
- Best Graphic Design Schools in Archer, Florida (2026)
- Best Graphic Design Schools in Astatula, Florida (2026)
- Best Graphic Design Schools in Atlantic Beach, Florida (2026)
- Best Graphic Design Schools in Atlantis, Florida (2026)
- Best Graphic Design Schools in Auburndale, Florida (2026)
- Best Graphic Design Schools in Aventura, Florida (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Florida (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Florida
- Best HVAC Schools in Florida (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Florida
- Best Plumbing Schools in Florida (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Florida
Explore More Trades in Florida
- Electrician in Florida
- Plumber in Florida
- HVAC Technician in Florida
- Welder in Florida
- Carpenter in Florida
- Solar Installation Technician in Florida
- Auto Mechanic in Florida
- CNC Machinist in Florida
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Florida
- Medical Assistant in Florida
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |