How to Become a Gunsmith in Illinois (2026)
Illinois employs about 120 gunsmiths earning a median $51,350 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025; proxy category “Precision Instrument and Equipment Repairers, All Other”). Training as a Gunsmith here means completing a gunsmithing course or on-the-job training; most states do not license the occupation. An FFL is a federal dealer license, not a worker license.
Key Facts
- Median wage (Illinois): $51,350/yr (Source: BLS OEWS (proxy: Precision Instrument and Equipment Repairers, All Other), 2025)
- Employed in Illinois: 120 workers (Source: BLS OEWS (proxy: Precision Instrument and Equipment Repairers, All Other), 2025)
- Location quotient: 0.34x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: 2.0% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Gunsmith Schools in Illinois
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | M T Training Center | 78.9 | Contact school for pricing | $37,432 | 80% | Yes* | 726 mi |
| 2 | Marshalltown Community College | 59.9 | Contact school for pricing | $52,110 | Not reported | Yes* | 216 mi |
| 3 | Pennsylvania Gunsmith School | 59.1 | Contact school for pricing | $46,772 | 83% | — | 469 mi |
| 4 | Black River Technical College | 55.3 | Contact school for pricing | $48,715 | 43% | Yes* | 347 mi |
| 5 | Montgomery Community College | 52.6 | Contact school for pricing | $41,824 | 65% | Yes* | 628 mi |
| 6 | Piedmont Community College | 52.4 | Contact school for pricing | $37,251 | 39% | Yes* | 623 mi |
| 7 | Gaston College | 51.1 | $3,186 - $16,866 | Not reported | 59% | Yes* | 576 mi |
| 8 | Pine Technical & Community College | 50.2 | Contact school for pricing | $52,498 | 38% | Yes* | 388 mi |
| 9 | Lenoir Community College | 49.9 | $2,578 - $14,929 | $48,050 | 33% | Yes* | 735 mi |
| 10 | Piedmont Technical College | 45.7 | Contact school for pricing | $44,555 | 33% | Yes* | 600 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, Illinois employs approximately 120 workers in the related “Precision Instrument and Equipment Repairers, All Other” category (SOC 49-9069), with a median annual wage of $51,350 1. Nationally, employment in this category is projected to grow 2.0% from 2024 to 2034, with about 1,000 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Gunsmith in Illinois, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
A note on salary data: The Bureau of Labor Statistics does not track gunsmith salaries as a separate category. The wage figures on this page are based on the closest matching BLS classification: Precision Instrument and Equipment Repairers, All Other (SOC 49-9069). Actual gunsmith earnings may vary.
At a Glance
- Training paths: gunsmithing course or on-the-job training (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a gunsmithing course or on-the-job training; most states do not license the occupation. An FFL is a federal dealer license, not a worker license
- Median wage (Illinois): $51,350 per year (based on related “Precision Instrument and Equipment Repairers, All Other” category) 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Gunsmith in Illinois
How to become a Gunsmith in Illinois? Complete a gunsmithing course or on-the-job training; most states do not license the occupation. An FFL is a federal dealer license, not a worker license. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish a gunsmithing course or on-the-job training; most states do not license the occupation. An FFL is a federal dealer license, not a worker license. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.
Do I need a license in Illinois? Licensing varies. See the licensing section below for the Illinois path.
What do gunsmiths earn in Illinois? The BLS does not track gunsmith wages separately. Based on the related “Precision Instrument and Equipment Repairers, All Other” category, the median annual wage in Illinois is $51,350, with entry-level wages around $39,050 and experienced workers earning $92,780 or more 1.
How to Become a Gunsmith in Illinois
- Get gunsmithing training. Complete a gunsmithing course or paid on-the-job training. This is not a registered apprenticeship in most shops.
- An FFL is not a worker license. A Federal Firearms License is a dealer or manufacturer license. Employees of a licensed shop typically do not need their own FFL. Do not treat an FFL as a requirement to be hired as a gunsmith.
- Optional association credentials. Industry credentials can help hiring. They are not a state gunsmith license.
- Most states do not license this occupation. Do not apply to a licensing board for a gunsmith credential that does not exist. Confirm employer rules.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Gunsmith License Requirements in Illinois
Most states do not license gunsmiths. An FFL is a federal dealer license, not a worker license, and is not required to be employed as a gunsmith at a licensed shop.
Typical path
Complete a course or OJT.
Do not treat an FFL as a worker license.
Confirm employer rules, not a state gunsmith board.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Gunsmith Wages by Metro Area in Illinois
Gunsmith Wages by Metro Area in Illinois
Note: The BLS does not track gunsmith wages separately. The data below is based on the closest matching category: Precision Instrument and Equipment Repairers, All Other (SOC 49-9069).
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), precision instrument and equipment repairers, all other wages in Illinois vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Davenport-Moline-Rock Island | 80 | $45,960 | $53,320 | $37,780 | $77,690 |
| Chicago-Naperville-Elgin | N/A | $70,830 | $71,470 | $41,630 | $116,920 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for gunsmiths in Illinois? Illinois employs approximately 120 workers in the related “Precision Instrument and Equipment Repairers, All Other” category 1. Nationally, employment in this category is projected to grow 2.0% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in Illinois? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Illinois.
How much do gunsmiths earn in Illinois compared to the national average? The median annual wage for gunsmiths in Illinois is $51,350 (based on the related “Precision Instrument and Equipment Repairers, All Other” category), which is $15,730 below the national median of $67,080 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Illinois
Top local programs
- Best Gunsmith Schools in Algonquin, Illinois (2026)
- Best Gunsmith Schools in Alton, Illinois (2026)
- Best Gunsmith Schools in Antioch, Illinois (2026)
- Best Gunsmith Schools in Aurora, Illinois (2026)
- Best Gunsmith Schools in Barrington, Illinois (2026)
- Best Gunsmith Schools in Bartlett, Illinois (2026)
- Best Gunsmith Schools in Batavia, Illinois (2026)
- Best Gunsmith Schools in Belleville, Illinois (2026)
- Best Gunsmith Schools in Belvidere, Illinois (2026)
- Best Gunsmith Schools in Bloomingdale, Illinois (2026)
- Best Gunsmith Schools in Bloomington, Illinois (2026)
- Best Gunsmith Schools in Bolingbrook, Illinois (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Illinois (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Illinois
- Best HVAC Schools in Illinois (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Illinois
- Best Plumbing Schools in Illinois (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Illinois
Explore More Trades in Illinois
- Electrician in Illinois
- Plumber in Illinois
- HVAC Technician in Illinois
- Welder in Illinois
- Carpenter in Illinois
- Solar Installation Technician in Illinois
- Auto Mechanic in Illinois
- CNC Machinist in Illinois
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Illinois
- Medical Assistant in Illinois
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |