How to Become a Gunsmith in Iowa (2026)

Iowa employs about 200 gunsmiths earning a median $45,960 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025; proxy category “Precision Instrument and Equipment Repairers, All Other”). Training as a Gunsmith here means completing a gunsmithing course or on-the-job training; most states do not license the occupation. An FFL is a federal dealer license, not a worker license.

Key Facts

Sponsored - request program info

Compare Gunsmith Schools in Iowa

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the page's primary location.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
178.9Contact school for pricing$37,43280%Yes*701 mi
267.1Contact school for pricing$44,82881%643 mi
360.4Contact school for pricing$38,259Not reportedYes*559 mi
459.9Contact school for pricing$52,110Not reportedYes*34 mi
559.1Contact school for pricing$46,77283%699 mi
655.3Contact school for pricing$48,71543%Yes*444 mi
754.1Contact school for pricing$49,75855%Yes*697 mi
850.2Contact school for pricing$52,49838%Yes*236 mi
944.0$7,230 - $20,726$49,17927%Yes*595 mi

Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, Iowa employs approximately 200 workers in the related “Precision Instrument and Equipment Repairers, All Other” category (SOC 49-9069), with a median annual wage of $45,960 1. The state’s concentration of jobs in this category is 2.14x the national average, indicating strong regional demand. Nationally, employment in this category is projected to grow 2.0% from 2024 to 2034, with about 1,000 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Gunsmith in Iowa, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.

A note on salary data: The Bureau of Labor Statistics does not track gunsmith salaries as a separate category. The wage figures on this page are based on the closest matching BLS classification: Precision Instrument and Equipment Repairers, All Other (SOC 49-9069). Actual gunsmith earnings may vary.

At a Glance

  • Training paths: gunsmithing course or on-the-job training (find programs)
  • Typical timeline: a gunsmithing course or on-the-job training; most states do not license the occupation. An FFL is a federal dealer license, not a worker license
  • Median wage (Iowa): $45,960 per year (based on related “Precision Instrument and Equipment Repairers, All Other” category) 1

Quick Answers About How to Become a Gunsmith in Iowa

How to become a Gunsmith in Iowa? Complete a gunsmithing course or on-the-job training; most states do not license the occupation. An FFL is a federal dealer license, not a worker license. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.

How long does it take? Most people finish a gunsmithing course or on-the-job training; most states do not license the occupation. An FFL is a federal dealer license, not a worker license. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.

Do I need a license in Iowa? Licensing varies. See the licensing section below for the Iowa path.

What do gunsmiths earn in Iowa? The BLS does not track gunsmith wages separately. Based on the related “Precision Instrument and Equipment Repairers, All Other” category, the median annual wage in Iowa is $45,960, with entry-level wages around $37,610 and experienced workers earning $74,560 or more 1.

How to Become a Gunsmith in Iowa

  1. Get gunsmithing training. Complete a gunsmithing course or paid on-the-job training. This is not a registered apprenticeship in most shops.
  2. An FFL is not a worker license. A Federal Firearms License is a dealer or manufacturer license. Employees of a licensed shop typically do not need their own FFL. Do not treat an FFL as a requirement to be hired as a gunsmith.
  3. Optional association credentials. Industry credentials can help hiring. They are not a state gunsmith license.
  4. Most states do not license this occupation. Do not apply to a licensing board for a gunsmith credential that does not exist. Confirm employer rules.

Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.

Gunsmith License Requirements in Iowa

Most states do not license gunsmiths. An FFL is a federal dealer license, not a worker license, and is not required to be employed as a gunsmith at a licensed shop.

Typical path

  1. Complete a course or OJT.

  2. Do not treat an FFL as a worker license.

  3. Confirm employer rules, not a state gunsmith board.

Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.

Gunsmith Wages by Metro Area in Iowa

Gunsmith Wages by Metro Area in Iowa

Note: The BLS does not track gunsmith wages separately. The data below is based on the closest matching category: Precision Instrument and Equipment Repairers, All Other (SOC 49-9069).

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), precision instrument and equipment repairers, all other wages in Iowa vary by metro area.

Metro AreaEmploymentMedian Annual WageAvg. Annual WageEntry Level
(10th pctile)
Experienced
(90th pctile)
Davenport-Moline-Rock Island80$45,960$53,320$37,780$77,690
OmahaN/A$61,680$59,210$46,980$71,500

Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the job outlook for gunsmiths in Iowa? Iowa employs approximately 200 workers in the related “Precision Instrument and Equipment Repairers, All Other” category 1. Nationally, employment in this category is projected to grow 2.0% from 2024 to 2034 2.

What training programs are available in Iowa? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Iowa.

How much do gunsmiths earn in Iowa compared to the national average? The median annual wage for gunsmiths in Iowa is $45,960 (based on the related “Precision Instrument and Equipment Repairers, All Other” category), which is $21,120 below the national median of $67,080 according to BLS data 1.

In Iowa

Top local programs

Explore More Trades in Iowa

Citations

About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

References


  1. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  2. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)
O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones)U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.)O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13)