How to Become a Gunsmith in Nebraska (2026)
Gunsmiths in Nebraska earn a median $58,710 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025; proxy category “Precision Instrument and Equipment Repairers, All Other”). Training as a Gunsmith here means completing a gunsmithing course or on-the-job training; most states do not license the occupation. An FFL is a federal dealer license, not a worker license.
Key Facts
- Median wage (Nebraska): $58,710/yr (Source: BLS OEWS (proxy: Precision Instrument and Equipment Repairers, All Other), 2025)
- Projected growth: 2.0% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Gunsmith Schools in Nebraska
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | M T Training Center | 78.9 | Contact school for pricing | $37,432 | 80% | Yes* | 574 mi |
| 2 | Colorado School of Trades | 67.1 | Contact school for pricing | $44,828 | 81% | — | 437 mi |
| 3 | Eastern Wyoming College | 60.4 | Contact school for pricing | $38,259 | Not reported | Yes* | 380 mi |
| 4 | Marshalltown Community College | 59.9 | Contact school for pricing | $52,110 | Not reported | Yes* | 221 mi |
| 5 | Black River Technical College | 55.3 | Contact school for pricing | $48,715 | 43% | Yes* | 464 mi |
| 6 | Trinidad State College | 54.1 | Contact school for pricing | $49,758 | 55% | Yes* | 484 mi |
| 7 | Pine Technical & Community College | 50.2 | Contact school for pricing | $52,498 | 38% | Yes* | 387 mi |
| 8 | Murray State College | 44.0 | $7,230 - $20,726 | $49,179 | 27% | Yes* | 470 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Nationally, employment in this category is projected to grow 2.0% from 2024 to 2034, with about 1,000 openings per year 1. This page covers how to become a Gunsmith in Nebraska, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
A note on salary data: The Bureau of Labor Statistics does not track gunsmith salaries as a separate category. The wage figures on this page are based on the closest matching BLS classification: Precision Instrument and Equipment Repairers, All Other (SOC 49-9069). Actual gunsmith earnings may vary.
At a Glance
- Training paths: gunsmithing course or on-the-job training (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a gunsmithing course or on-the-job training; most states do not license the occupation. An FFL is a federal dealer license, not a worker license
- Median wage (Nebraska): $58,710 per year (based on related “Precision Instrument and Equipment Repairers, All Other” category) 2
Quick Answers About How to Become a Gunsmith in Nebraska
How to become a Gunsmith in Nebraska? Complete a gunsmithing course or on-the-job training; most states do not license the occupation. An FFL is a federal dealer license, not a worker license. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish a gunsmithing course or on-the-job training; most states do not license the occupation. An FFL is a federal dealer license, not a worker license. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.
Do I need a license in Nebraska? Licensing varies. See the licensing section below for the Nebraska path.
What do gunsmiths earn in Nebraska? The BLS does not track gunsmith wages separately. Based on the related “Precision Instrument and Equipment Repairers, All Other” category, the median annual wage in Nebraska is $58,710, with entry-level wages around $44,720 and experienced workers earning $71,470 or more 2.
How to Become a Gunsmith in Nebraska
- Get gunsmithing training. Complete a gunsmithing course or paid on-the-job training. This is not a registered apprenticeship in most shops.
- An FFL is not a worker license. A Federal Firearms License is a dealer or manufacturer license. Employees of a licensed shop typically do not need their own FFL. Do not treat an FFL as a requirement to be hired as a gunsmith.
- Optional association credentials. Industry credentials can help hiring. They are not a state gunsmith license.
- Most states do not license this occupation. Do not apply to a licensing board for a gunsmith credential that does not exist. Confirm employer rules.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Gunsmith License Requirements in Nebraska
Most states do not license gunsmiths. An FFL is a federal dealer license, not a worker license, and is not required to be employed as a gunsmith at a licensed shop.
Typical path
Complete a course or OJT.
Do not treat an FFL as a worker license.
Confirm employer rules, not a state gunsmith board.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Gunsmith Wages by Metro Area in Nebraska
Gunsmith Wages by Metro Area in Nebraska
Note: The BLS does not track gunsmith wages separately. The data below is based on the closest matching category: Precision Instrument and Equipment Repairers, All Other (SOC 49-9069).
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), precision instrument and equipment repairers, all other wages in Nebraska vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Omaha | N/A | $61,680 | $59,210 | $46,980 | $71,500 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for gunsmiths in Nebraska? Nationally, employment in this category is projected to grow 2.0% from 2024 to 2034 1.
What training programs are available in Nebraska? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Nebraska.
How much do gunsmiths earn in Nebraska compared to the national average? The median annual wage for gunsmiths in Nebraska is $58,710 (based on the related “Precision Instrument and Equipment Repairers, All Other” category), which is $8,370 below the national median of $67,080 according to BLS data 2.
Related guides
In Nebraska
Top local programs
- Best Gunsmith Schools in Beatrice, Nebraska (2026)
- Best Gunsmith Schools in Bellevue, Nebraska (2026)
- Best Gunsmith Schools in Columbus, Nebraska (2026)
- Best Gunsmith Schools in Fremont, Nebraska (2026)
- Best Gunsmith Schools in LA Vista, Nebraska (2026)
- Best Gunsmith Schools in Lexington, Nebraska (2026)
- Best Gunsmith Schools in Lincoln, Nebraska (2026)
- Best Gunsmith Schools in Nebraska (2026)
- Best Gunsmith Schools in Norfolk, Nebraska (2026)
- Best Gunsmith Schools in North Platte, Nebraska (2026)
- Best Gunsmith Schools in Omaha, Nebraska (2026)
- Best Gunsmith Schools in Papillion, Nebraska (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Nebraska (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Nebraska
- Best HVAC Schools in Nebraska (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Nebraska
- Best Plumbing Schools in Nebraska (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Nebraska
Explore More Trades in Nebraska
- Electrician in Nebraska
- Plumber in Nebraska
- HVAC Technician in Nebraska
- Welder in Nebraska
- Carpenter in Nebraska
- Solar Installation Technician in Nebraska
- Auto Mechanic in Nebraska
- CNC Machinist in Nebraska
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Nebraska
- Medical Assistant in Nebraska
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |