How to Become a Gunsmith in Nevada (2026)
U.S. employment of gunsmiths is projected to change 2.0% from 2024 to 2034 (BLS Employment Projections). Training as a Gunsmith here means completing a gunsmithing course or on-the-job training; most states do not license the occupation. An FFL is a federal dealer license, not a worker license.
Sponsored - request program info
Key Facts
- Projected growth: 2.0% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Compare Gunsmith Schools in Nevada
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Colorado School of Trades | 67.1 | Contact school for pricing | $44,828 | 81% | — | 656 mi |
| 2 | Eastern Wyoming College | 60.4 | Contact school for pricing | $38,259 | Not reported | Yes* | 738 mi |
| 3 | Yavapai College | 57.1 | $2,948 - $14,988 | $57,288 | 33% | Yes* | 349 mi |
| 4 | Flathead Valley Community College | 54.5 | $4,912 - $14,882 | $47,642 | 28% | Yes* | 724 mi |
| 5 | Trinidad State College | 54.1 | Contact school for pricing | $49,758 | 55% | Yes* | 690 mi |
| 6 | Sonoran Desert Institute | 39.1 | Contact school for pricing | $63,782 | Not reported | Yes* | 425 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Nevada offers career opportunities for gunsmiths. This page covers how to become a Gunsmith in Nevada, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: gunsmithing course or on-the-job training (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a gunsmithing course or on-the-job training; most states do not license the occupation. An FFL is a federal dealer license, not a worker license
Quick Answers About How to Become a Gunsmith in Nevada
How to become a Gunsmith in Nevada? Complete a gunsmithing course or on-the-job training; most states do not license the occupation. An FFL is a federal dealer license, not a worker license. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish a gunsmithing course or on-the-job training; most states do not license the occupation. An FFL is a federal dealer license, not a worker license. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.
Do I need a license in Nevada? Licensing varies. See the licensing section below for the Nevada path.
How to Become a Gunsmith in Nevada
- Get gunsmithing training. Complete a gunsmithing course or paid on-the-job training. This is not a registered apprenticeship in most shops.
- An FFL is not a worker license. A Federal Firearms License is a dealer or manufacturer license. Employees of a licensed shop typically do not need their own FFL. Do not treat an FFL as a requirement to be hired as a gunsmith.
- Optional association credentials. Industry credentials can help hiring. They are not a state gunsmith license.
- Most states do not license this occupation. Do not apply to a licensing board for a gunsmith credential that does not exist. Confirm employer rules.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Gunsmith License Requirements in Nevada
Most states do not license gunsmiths. An FFL is a federal dealer license, not a worker license, and is not required to be employed as a gunsmith at a licensed shop.
Typical path
Complete a course or OJT.
Do not treat an FFL as a worker license.
Confirm employer rules, not a state gunsmith board.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Gunsmith Wages by Metro Area in Nevada
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for gunsmiths in Nevada? Nationally, employment in this category is projected to grow 2.0% from 2024 to 2034 1.
What training programs are available in Nevada? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Nevada.
Related guides
In Nevada
Top local programs
- Best Gunsmith Schools in Boulder City, Nevada (2026)
- Best Gunsmith Schools in Henderson, Nevada (2026)
- Best Gunsmith Schools in Las Vegas, Nevada (2026)
- Best Gunsmith Schools in Mesquite, Nevada (2026)
- Best Gunsmith Schools in Nevada (2026)
- Best Gunsmith Schools in North Las Vegas, Nevada (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Nevada (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Nevada
- Best HVAC Schools in Nevada (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Nevada
- Best Plumbing Schools in Nevada (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Nevada
Explore More Trades in Nevada
- Electrician in Nevada
- Plumber in Nevada
- HVAC Technician in Nevada
- Welder in Nevada
- Carpenter in Nevada
- Solar Installation Technician in Nevada
- Auto Mechanic in Nevada
- CNC Machinist in Nevada
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Nevada
- Medical Assistant in Nevada
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |