How to Become a Health Information Technician in Florida (2026)
Florida employs about 21,490 health information technicians earning a median $45,760 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025; proxy category “Medical Records Specialists”). Training as a Health Information Technician here means completing a short coding or health-information program plus CPC, CCS, or RHIT; most states do not license these roles.
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Health Information Technician Schools in Florida
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | South Florida State College | 73.8 | $3,165 - $11,859 | $48,619 | 49% | Yes* | 19 mi |
| 2 | Polk State College | 54.3 | Contact school for pricing | $53,180 | Not reported | Yes* | 15 mi |
| 3 | Orange Technical College | 49.6 | Contact school for pricing | $34,945 | Not reported | — | 49 mi |
| 4 | Ridge Technical College | 47.7 | Contact school for pricing | $35,542 | Not reported | — | 16 mi |
| 5 | Valencia College | 46.8 | $2,664 - $18,529 | $46,937 | 46% | — | 46 mi |
| 6 | Gwinnett Institute | 44.4 | Contact school for pricing | $41,872 | Not reported | Yes* | 49 mi |
| 7 | Osceola Technical College | 43.3 | Contact school for pricing | $37,201 | 50% | — | 36 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, Florida employs approximately 21,490 workers in the related “Medical Records Specialists” category (SOC 29-2072), with a median annual wage of $45,760 1. The state’s concentration of jobs in this category is 1.73x the national average, indicating strong regional demand. Nationally, employment in this category is projected to grow 7.1% from 2024 to 2034, with about 14,200 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Health Information Technician in Florida, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
A note on salary data: The Bureau of Labor Statistics does not track health information technician salaries as a separate category. The wage figures on this page are based on the closest matching BLS classification: Medical Records Specialists (SOC 29-2072). Actual health information technician earnings may vary.
At a Glance
- Training paths: medical billing, coding, or health-information program (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a short coding or health-information program plus CPC, CCS, or RHIT; most states do not license these roles
- Exam: CPC, CCS, or RHIT
- Median wage (Florida): $45,760 per year (based on related “Medical Records Specialists” category) 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Health Information Technician in Florida
How to become a Health Information Technician in Florida? Complete a short coding or health-information program plus CPC, CCS, or RHIT; most states do not license these roles. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish a short coding or health-information program plus CPC, CCS, or RHIT; most states do not license these roles. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.
Do I need a license in Florida? Most states do not require a statewide occupational license. Employers typically expect CPC, CCS, or RHIT. See the licensing section below.
What do health information technicians earn in Florida? The BLS does not track health information technician wages separately. Based on the related “Medical Records Specialists” category, the median annual wage in Florida is $45,760, with entry-level wages around $36,330 and experienced workers earning $76,850 or more 1.
How to Become a Health Information Technician in Florida
- Meet program entry rules. Programs typically require a high school diploma or GED.
- Complete a billing, coding, or HIT program. Finish a certificate or associate program. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
- Earn CPC, CCS, or RHIT. Pass AAPC CPC, AHIMA CCS, or RHIT depending on the role. Employers typically require a named credential.
- No statewide license in most states. Do not invent a licensing board for billers and coders.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Health Information Technician License Requirements in Florida
Most states do not license medical billers, coders, or health-information technicians. Employers expect CPC, CCS, or RHIT.
Typical path
Complete a program.
Earn CPC, CCS, or RHIT.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Health Information Technician Wages by Metro Area in Florida
Medical Records Specialists Wages by Metro Area in Florida
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), medical records specialists wages in Florida vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Miami-Fort Lauderdale-West Palm Beach | 4,530 | $49,010 | $53,960 | $36,910 | $79,070 |
| Tampa-St. Petersburg-Clearwater | 2,450 | $50,020 | $56,260 | $36,700 | $81,470 |
| Orlando-Kissimmee-Sanford | 2,320 | $44,590 | $48,640 | $33,910 | $72,540 |
| Jacksonville | 1,630 | $50,050 | $54,230 | $37,260 | $78,160 |
| Cape Coral-Fort Myers | 830 | $41,130 | $45,690 | $36,850 | $62,020 |
| North Port-Bradenton-Sarasota | 530 | $49,420 | $54,720 | $37,840 | $76,160 |
| Lakeland-Winter Haven | 420 | $46,820 | $51,850 | $35,680 | $76,010 |
| Deltona-Daytona Beach-Ormond Beach | 390 | $48,410 | $53,910 | $37,130 | $79,750 |
| Palm Bay-Melbourne-Titusville | 390 | $45,490 | $50,960 | $35,560 | $77,160 |
| Gainesville | 370 | $54,500 | $56,880 | $37,170 | $77,410 |
| Pensacola-Ferry Pass-Brent | 350 | $45,820 | $49,990 | $34,730 | $75,780 |
| Tallahassee | 300 | $43,760 | $48,750 | $33,910 | $73,660 |
| Port St. Lucie | 250 | $44,340 | $47,450 | $36,310 | $73,110 |
| Naples-Marco Island | 180 | $50,130 | $54,590 | $37,720 | $78,260 |
| Ocala | 180 | $41,120 | $46,540 | $34,310 | $71,930 |
| Panama City-Panama City Beach | 140 | $41,930 | $46,190 | $35,750 | $72,520 |
| Punta Gorda | 130 | $41,520 | $50,340 | $37,420 | $81,000 |
| Crestview-Fort Walton Beach-Destin | 120 | $48,380 | $53,680 | $37,900 | $76,400 |
| Sebastian-Vero Beach-West Vero Corridor | 80 | $41,690 | $48,550 | $35,170 | $76,040 |
| Sebring | 60 | $36,470 | $45,580 | $31,870 | $74,320 |
| Wildwood-The Villages | 60 | $42,560 | $47,210 | $34,570 | $75,190 |
| Homosassa Springs | 50 | $44,160 | $47,180 | $33,540 | $68,000 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for health information technicians in Florida? Florida employs approximately 21,490 workers in the related “Medical Records Specialists” category 1. Nationally, employment in this category is projected to grow 7.1% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in Florida? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Florida.
How much do health information technicians earn in Florida compared to the national average? The median annual wage for health information technicians in Florida is $45,760 (based on the related “Medical Records Specialists” category), which is $4,490 below the national median of $50,250 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Florida
Top local programs
- Best Health Information Technician Schools in Alachua, Florida (2026)
- Best Health Information Technician Schools in Altamonte Springs, Florida (2026)
- Best Health Information Technician Schools in Anna Maria, Florida (2026)
- Best Health Information Technician Schools in Apalachicola, Florida (2026)
- Best Health Information Technician Schools in Apopka, Florida (2026)
- Best Health Information Technician Schools in Arcadia, Florida (2026)
- Best Health Information Technician Schools in Archer, Florida (2026)
- Best Health Information Technician Schools in Astatula, Florida (2026)
- Best Health Information Technician Schools in Atlantic Beach, Florida (2026)
- Best Health Information Technician Schools in Atlantis, Florida (2026)
- Best Health Information Technician Schools in Auburndale, Florida (2026)
- Best Health Information Technician Schools in Aventura, Florida (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Florida (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Florida
- Best HVAC Schools in Florida (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Florida
- Best Plumbing Schools in Florida (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Florida
Explore More Trades in Florida
- Electrician in Florida
- Plumber in Florida
- HVAC Technician in Florida
- Welder in Florida
- Carpenter in Florida
- Solar Installation Technician in Florida
- Auto Mechanic in Florida
- CNC Machinist in Florida
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Florida
- Medical Assistant in Florida
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |