How to Become a Health Information Technician in South Carolina (2026)
South Carolina employs about 2,750 health information technicians earning a median $54,280 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025; proxy category “Medical Records Specialists”). Training as a Health Information Technician here means completing a short coding or health-information program plus CPC, CCS, or RHIT; most states do not license these roles.
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Health Information Technician Schools in South Carolina
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Trident Technical College | 50.6 | Contact school for pricing | $58,783 | Not reported | Yes* | 69 mi |
| 2 | Aiken Technical College | 48.4 | Contact school for pricing | $54,588 | 26% | Yes* | 64 mi |
| 3 | Southeastern College-Charleston | 47.1 | Contact school for pricing | $33,941 | 68% | Yes* | 71 mi |
| 4 | Central Carolina Technical College | 43.9 | Contact school for pricing | $45,876 | Not reported | Yes* | 26 mi |
| 5 | Midlands Technical College | 41.9 | Contact school for pricing | $46,832 | 17% | Yes* | 26 mi |
| 6 | Florence-Darlington Technical College | 35.7 | Contact school for pricing | $44,978 | 27% | — | 64 mi |
| 7 | Southeastern College-Columbia | 30.4 | Contact school for pricing | $32,183 | 58% | — | 25 mi |
| 8 | Miller-Motte College-Charleston | Not rated | Contact school for pricing | $34,393 | 74% | — | 67 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, South Carolina employs approximately 2,750 workers in the related “Medical Records Specialists” category (SOC 29-2072), with a median annual wage of $54,280 1. Nationally, employment in this category is projected to grow 7.1% from 2024 to 2034, with about 14,200 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Health Information Technician in South Carolina, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
A note on salary data: The Bureau of Labor Statistics does not track health information technician salaries as a separate category. The wage figures on this page are based on the closest matching BLS classification: Medical Records Specialists (SOC 29-2072). Actual health information technician earnings may vary.
At a Glance
- Training paths: medical billing, coding, or health-information program (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a short coding or health-information program plus CPC, CCS, or RHIT; most states do not license these roles
- Exam: CPC, CCS, or RHIT
- Median wage (South Carolina): $54,280 per year (based on related “Medical Records Specialists” category) 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Health Information Technician in South Carolina
How to become a Health Information Technician in South Carolina? Complete a short coding or health-information program plus CPC, CCS, or RHIT; most states do not license these roles. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish a short coding or health-information program plus CPC, CCS, or RHIT; most states do not license these roles. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.
Do I need a license in South Carolina? Most states do not require a statewide occupational license. Employers typically expect CPC, CCS, or RHIT. See the licensing section below.
What do health information technicians earn in South Carolina? The BLS does not track health information technician wages separately. Based on the related “Medical Records Specialists” category, the median annual wage in South Carolina is $54,280, with entry-level wages around $37,240 and experienced workers earning $71,280 or more 1.
How to Become a Health Information Technician in South Carolina
- Meet program entry rules. Programs typically require a high school diploma or GED.
- Complete a billing, coding, or HIT program. Finish a certificate or associate program. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
- Earn CPC, CCS, or RHIT. Pass AAPC CPC, AHIMA CCS, or RHIT depending on the role. Employers typically require a named credential.
- No statewide license in most states. Do not invent a licensing board for billers and coders.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Health Information Technician License Requirements in South Carolina
Most states do not license medical billers, coders, or health-information technicians. Employers expect CPC, CCS, or RHIT.
Typical path
Complete a program.
Earn CPC, CCS, or RHIT.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Health Information Technician Wages by Metro Area in South Carolina
Medical Records Specialists Wages by Metro Area in South Carolina
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), medical records specialists wages in South Carolina vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Charlotte-Concord-Gastonia | 1,450 | $51,110 | $58,080 | $40,150 | $82,090 |
| Columbia | 640 | $62,650 | $56,900 | $38,090 | $71,570 |
| Greenville-Anderson-Greer | 530 | $53,040 | $53,370 | $36,800 | $65,400 |
| Charleston-North Charleston | 460 | $61,950 | $57,720 | $38,240 | $69,350 |
| Augusta-Richmond County | 410 | $53,830 | $56,270 | $36,940 | $75,360 |
| Spartanburg | 180 | $51,260 | $53,980 | $41,410 | $65,200 |
| Florence | 140 | $51,870 | $55,400 | $35,850 | $81,080 |
| Hilton Head Island-Bluffton-Port Royal | 100 | $61,520 | $59,260 | $40,710 | $77,360 |
| Myrtle Beach-Conway-North Myrtle Beach | 90 | $48,380 | $46,620 | $33,510 | $57,390 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for health information technicians in South Carolina? South Carolina employs approximately 2,750 workers in the related “Medical Records Specialists” category 1. Nationally, employment in this category is projected to grow 7.1% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in South Carolina? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in South Carolina.
How much do health information technicians earn in South Carolina compared to the national average? The median annual wage for health information technicians in South Carolina is $54,280 (based on the related “Medical Records Specialists” category), which is $4,030 above the national median of $50,250 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In South Carolina
Top local programs
- Best Health Information Technician Schools in Aiken, South Carolina (2026)
- Best Health Information Technician Schools in Anderson, South Carolina (2026)
- Best Health Information Technician Schools in Beaufort, South Carolina (2026)
- Best Health Information Technician Schools in Bennettsville, South Carolina (2026)
- Best Health Information Technician Schools in Bluffton, South Carolina (2026)
- Best Health Information Technician Schools in Camden, South Carolina (2026)
- Best Health Information Technician Schools in Cayce, South Carolina (2026)
- Best Health Information Technician Schools in Charleston, South Carolina (2026)
- Best Health Information Technician Schools in Clemson, South Carolina (2026)
- Best Health Information Technician Schools in Clinton, South Carolina (2026)
- Best Health Information Technician Schools in Columbia, South Carolina (2026)
- Best Health Information Technician Schools in Conway, South Carolina (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in South Carolina (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in South Carolina
- Best HVAC Schools in South Carolina (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in South Carolina
- Best Plumbing Schools in South Carolina (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in South Carolina
Explore More Trades in South Carolina
- Electrician in South Carolina
- Plumber in South Carolina
- HVAC Technician in South Carolina
- Welder in South Carolina
- Carpenter in South Carolina
- Solar Installation Technician in South Carolina
- Auto Mechanic in South Carolina
- CNC Machinist in South Carolina
- Certified Nursing Assistant in South Carolina
- Medical Assistant in South Carolina
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |