How to Become a Health Information Technician in West Virginia (2026)
West Virginia employs about 1,260 health information technicians earning a median $47,360 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025; proxy category “Medical Records Specialists”). Training as a Health Information Technician here means completing a short coding or health-information program plus CPC, CCS, or RHIT; most states do not license these roles.
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Health Information Technician Schools in West Virginia
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Washington County Career Center-Adult Technical Training | 68.4 | Contact school for pricing | $38,613 | 83% | — | 52 mi |
| 2 | West Virginia University at Parkersburg | 64.5 | Contact school for pricing | $47,106 | 20% | Yes* | 40 mi |
| 3 | Collins Career Technical Center | 63.7 | Contact school for pricing | $51,897 | 58% | — | 66 mi |
| 4 | Washington State College of Ohio | 58.4 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | Not reported | Yes* | 54 mi |
| 5 | BridgeValley Community & Technical College | 55.3 | Contact school for pricing | $57,464 | 30% | Yes* | 31 mi |
| 6 | University of Rio Grande | 50.3 | Contact school for pricing | $51,840 | 34% | Yes* | 62 mi |
| 7 | Huntington Junior College | 45.2 | Contact school for pricing | $28,491 | Not reported | Yes* | 66 mi |
| 8 | New River Community and Technical College | 42.3 | $5,156 - $12,132 | $39,109 | 33% | Yes* | 63 mi |
| 9 | Mountwest Community and Technical College | 33.4 | Contact school for pricing | $45,495 | 18% | — | 67 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, West Virginia employs approximately 1,260 workers in the related “Medical Records Specialists” category (SOC 29-2072), with a median annual wage of $47,360 1. The state’s concentration of jobs in this category is 1.43x the national average, indicating strong regional demand. Nationally, employment in this category is projected to grow 7.1% from 2024 to 2034, with about 14,200 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Health Information Technician in West Virginia, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
A note on salary data: The Bureau of Labor Statistics does not track health information technician salaries as a separate category. The wage figures on this page are based on the closest matching BLS classification: Medical Records Specialists (SOC 29-2072). Actual health information technician earnings may vary.
At a Glance
- Training paths: medical billing, coding, or health-information program (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a short coding or health-information program plus CPC, CCS, or RHIT; most states do not license these roles
- Exam: CPC, CCS, or RHIT
- Median wage (West Virginia): $47,360 per year (based on related “Medical Records Specialists” category) 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Health Information Technician in West Virginia
How to become a Health Information Technician in West Virginia? Complete a short coding or health-information program plus CPC, CCS, or RHIT; most states do not license these roles. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish a short coding or health-information program plus CPC, CCS, or RHIT; most states do not license these roles. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.
Do I need a license in West Virginia? Most states do not require a statewide occupational license. Employers typically expect CPC, CCS, or RHIT. See the licensing section below.
What do health information technicians earn in West Virginia? The BLS does not track health information technician wages separately. Based on the related “Medical Records Specialists” category, the median annual wage in West Virginia is $47,360, with entry-level wages around $31,610 and experienced workers earning $75,000 or more 1.
How to Become a Health Information Technician in West Virginia
- Meet program entry rules. Programs typically require a high school diploma or GED.
- Complete a billing, coding, or HIT program. Finish a certificate or associate program. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
- Earn CPC, CCS, or RHIT. Pass AAPC CPC, AHIMA CCS, or RHIT depending on the role. Employers typically require a named credential.
- No statewide license in most states. Do not invent a licensing board for billers and coders.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Health Information Technician License Requirements in West Virginia
Most states do not license medical billers, coders, or health-information technicians. Employers expect CPC, CCS, or RHIT.
Typical path
Complete a program.
Earn CPC, CCS, or RHIT.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Health Information Technician Wages by Metro Area in West Virginia
Medical Records Specialists Wages by Metro Area in West Virginia
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), medical records specialists wages in West Virginia vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Washington-Arlington-Alexandria | 2,370 | $58,810 | $63,850 | $42,960 | $92,540 |
| Huntington-Ashland | 470 | $52,000 | $54,360 | $36,750 | $77,320 |
| Morgantown | 140 | $50,220 | $52,470 | $34,670 | $76,830 |
| Hagerstown-Martinsburg | 120 | $51,870 | $57,170 | $36,680 | $82,280 |
| Winchester | 80 | $39,560 | $45,600 | $35,710 | $61,270 |
| Charleston | 80 | $47,130 | $48,820 | $33,100 | $66,100 |
| Wheeling | 60 | $46,910 | $48,030 | $30,730 | $65,600 |
| Parkersburg-Vienna | 50 | $38,840 | $42,940 | $30,830 | $61,580 |
| Weirton-Steubenville | 50 | $46,340 | $50,280 | $34,060 | $65,420 |
| Beckley | N/A | $41,320 | $46,210 | $29,120 | $68,460 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for health information technicians in West Virginia? West Virginia employs approximately 1,260 workers in the related “Medical Records Specialists” category 1. Nationally, employment in this category is projected to grow 7.1% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in West Virginia? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in West Virginia.
How much do health information technicians earn in West Virginia compared to the national average? The median annual wage for health information technicians in West Virginia is $47,360 (based on the related “Medical Records Specialists” category), which is $2,890 below the national median of $50,250 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In West Virginia
Top local programs
- Best Health Information Technician Schools in Beckley, West Virginia (2026)
- Best Health Information Technician Schools in Bluefield, West Virginia (2026)
- Best Health Information Technician Schools in Charles Town, West Virginia (2026)
- Best Health Information Technician Schools in Charleston, West Virginia (2026)
- Best Health Information Technician Schools in Clarksburg, West Virginia (2026)
- Best Health Information Technician Schools in Elkins, West Virginia (2026)
- Best Health Information Technician Schools in Fairmont, West Virginia (2026)
- Best Health Information Technician Schools in Huntington, West Virginia (2026)
- Best Health Information Technician Schools in Martinsburg, West Virginia (2026)
- Best Health Information Technician Schools in Morgantown, West Virginia (2026)
- Best Health Information Technician Schools in Parkersburg, West Virginia (2026)
- Best Health Information Technician Schools in Point Pleasant, West Virginia (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in West Virginia (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in West Virginia
- Best HVAC Schools in West Virginia (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in West Virginia
- Best Plumbing Schools in West Virginia (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in West Virginia
Explore More Trades in West Virginia
- Electrician in West Virginia
- Plumber in West Virginia
- HVAC Technician in West Virginia
- Welder in West Virginia
- Carpenter in West Virginia
- Solar Installation Technician in West Virginia
- Auto Mechanic in West Virginia
- CNC Machinist in West Virginia
- Certified Nursing Assistant in West Virginia
- Medical Assistant in West Virginia
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |