How to Become a Hemodialysis Technician in District of Columbia (2026)
District of Columbia employs about 1,380 hemodialysis technicians earning a median $55,920 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025; proxy category “Health Technologists and Technicians, All Other”). Training as a Hemodialysis Technician here means completing approved dialysis technician training, a national exam (NNCC, BONENT, or equivalent), and state CHT certification where required. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
Compare Hemodialysis Technician Schools in District of Columbia
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Southern Crescent Technical College | 54.3 | Contact school for pricing | $47,009 | 55% | Yes* | 563 mi |
| 2 | Community College of Rhode Island | 51.2 | $5,550 - $14,834 | $51,971 | 26% | Yes* | 350 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 3 | Wiregrass Georgia Technical College | 50.7 | $3,480 - $11,034 | $40,586 | 47% | Yes* | 660 mi |
| 4 | Ogeechee Technical College | 50.1 | Contact school for pricing | $40,635 | Not reported | Yes* | 524 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 5 | Atlanta Technical College | 47.9 | Contact school for pricing | $40,964 | 46% | Yes* | 545 mi |
| 6 | Central Georgia Technical College | 46.5 | Contact school for pricing | $42,979 | 44% | Yes* | 576 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 7 | Florida Panhandle Technical College | 39.3 | Contact school for pricing | $34,965 | 41% | — | 741 mi |
| 8 | Passaic County Community College | 38.3 | Contact school for pricing | $47,350 | 17% | Yes* | 205 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 9 | Stellar Career College | 34.1 | Contact school for pricing | $36,035 | Not reported | — | 594 mi |
| 10 | Helms College | 30.0 | Contact school for pricing | $33,374 | Not reported | — | 466 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, District of Columbia employs approximately 1,380 workers in the related “Health Technologists and Technicians, All Other” category (SOC 29-2099), with a median annual wage of $55,920 1. The state’s concentration of jobs in this category is 1.68x the national average, indicating strong regional demand. Nationally, employment in this category is projected to grow 5.2% from 2024 to 2034, with about 13,600 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Hemodialysis Technician in District of Columbia, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
A note on salary data: The Bureau of Labor Statistics does not track hemodialysis technician salaries as a separate category. The wage figures on this page are based on the closest matching BLS classification: Health Technologists and Technicians, All Other (SOC 29-2099). Actual hemodialysis technician earnings may vary.
At a Glance
- Training paths: approved hemodialysis technician training (find programs)
- Typical timeline: approved dialysis technician training, a national exam (NNCC, BONENT, or equivalent), and state CHT certification where required
- Exam: NNCC CCHT, BONENT, or the exam the state accepts
- Median wage (District of Columbia): $55,920 per year (based on related “Health Technologists and Technicians, All Other” category) 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Hemodialysis Technician in District of Columbia
How to become a Hemodialysis Technician in District of Columbia? Complete approved dialysis technician training, a national exam (NNCC, BONENT, or equivalent), and state CHT certification where required. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish approved dialysis technician training, a national exam (NNCC, BONENT, or equivalent), and state CHT certification where required. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.
Do I need a license in District of Columbia? Licensing varies. Confirm with the program and employer. See the licensing section below.
What do hemodialysis technicians earn in District of Columbia? The BLS does not track hemodialysis technician wages separately. Based on the related “Health Technologists and Technicians, All Other” category, the median annual wage in District of Columbia is $55,920, with entry-level wages around $46,840 and experienced workers earning $99,610 or more 1.
How to Become a Hemodialysis Technician in District of Columbia
- Meet entry rules. Programs typically require a high school diploma or GED. Confirm current rules with the employer.
- Complete approved hemodialysis technician training. Finish a state-approved dialysis technician program. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
- Pass the required exam. Pass NNCC, BONENT, or the exam the employer accepts. CMS also expects a national dialysis technician credential.
- Get listed or certified. Obtain CHT or the state equivalent where required. Confirm with the employer.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Hemodialysis Technician License Requirements in District of Columbia
Dialysis technicians in District of Columbia complete approved training and a national exam. Some states certify this role; most do not. Confirm with the employer when a state credential exists.
Typical path
Meet entry rules.
Complete approved hemodialysis technician training.
Pass NNCC, BONENT, or the state-accepted exam.
Obtain CHT or the state equivalent where required.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the employer before you enroll.
Hemodialysis Technician Wages by Metro Area in District of Columbia
Hemodialysis Technician Wages by Metro Area in District of Columbia
Note: The BLS does not track hemodialysis technician wages separately. The data below is based on the closest matching category: Health Technologists and Technicians, All Other (SOC 29-2099).
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), health technologists and technicians, all other wages in District of Columbia vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Washington-Arlington-Alexandria | 3,630 | $55,530 | $59,410 | $44,780 | $80,180 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for hemodialysis technicians in District of Columbia? District of Columbia employs approximately 1,380 workers in the related “Health Technologists and Technicians, All Other” category 1. Nationally, employment in this category is projected to grow 5.2% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as a hemodialysis technician in District of Columbia with an out-of-state license? Confirm reciprocity rules with the program and employer.
What training programs are available in District of Columbia? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in District of Columbia.
How much do hemodialysis technicians earn in District of Columbia compared to the national average? The median annual wage for hemodialysis technicians in District of Columbia is $55,920 (based on the related “Health Technologists and Technicians, All Other” category), which is $7,130 above the national median of $48,790 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In District of Columbia
Top local programs
- Best Dialysis Technician Schools in Washington, District of Columbia (2026)
- Best Hemodialysis Technician Programs in District of Columbia (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in District of Columbia (2026)
- Best HVAC Schools in District of Columbia (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in District of Columbia
- Best Plumbing Schools in District of Columbia (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in District of Columbia
- Best Welding Schools in District of Columbia (2026)
Explore More Trades in District of Columbia
- Electrician in District of Columbia
- Plumber in District of Columbia
- HVAC Technician in District of Columbia
- Welder in District of Columbia
- Carpenter in District of Columbia
- Solar Installation Technician in District of Columbia
- Auto Mechanic in District of Columbia
- CNC Machinist in District of Columbia
- Certified Nursing Assistant in District of Columbia
- Medical Assistant in District of Columbia
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |