How to Become a Hemodialysis Technician in Virginia (2026)
Virginia employs about 4,510 hemodialysis technicians earning a median $47,340 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025; proxy category “Health Technologists and Technicians, All Other”). Training as a Hemodialysis Technician here means completing approved dialysis technician training, a national exam (NNCC, BONENT, or equivalent), and state CHT certification where required. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
Key Facts
- Median wage (Virginia): $47,340/yr (Source: BLS OEWS (proxy: Health Technologists and Technicians, All Other), 2025)
- Employed in Virginia: 4,510 workers (Source: BLS OEWS (proxy: Health Technologists and Technicians, All Other), 2025)
- Location quotient: 0.93x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: 5.2% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Hemodialysis Technician Schools in Virginia
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Southern Crescent Technical College | 54.3 | Contact school for pricing | $47,009 | 55% | Yes* | 420 mi |
| 2 | Community College of Rhode Island | 51.2 | $5,550 - $14,834 | $51,971 | 26% | Yes* | 492 mi |
| 3 | Wiregrass Georgia Technical College | 50.7 | $3,480 - $11,034 | $40,586 | 47% | Yes* | 516 mi |
| 4 | Ogeechee Technical College | 50.1 | Contact school for pricing | $40,635 | Not reported | Yes* | 381 mi |
| 5 | Atlanta Technical College | 47.9 | Contact school for pricing | $40,964 | 46% | Yes* | 405 mi |
| 6 | Central Georgia Technical College | 46.5 | Contact school for pricing | $42,979 | 44% | Yes* | 432 mi |
| 7 | Florida Panhandle Technical College | 39.3 | Contact school for pricing | $34,965 | 41% | — | 596 mi |
| 8 | Passaic County Community College | 38.3 | Contact school for pricing | $47,350 | 17% | Yes* | 349 mi |
| 9 | Stellar Career College | 34.1 | Contact school for pricing | $36,035 | Not reported | — | 572 mi |
| 10 | Helms College | 30.0 | Contact school for pricing | $33,374 | Not reported | — | 322 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, Virginia employs approximately 4,510 workers in the related “Health Technologists and Technicians, All Other” category (SOC 29-2099), with a median annual wage of $47,340 1. Nationally, employment in this category is projected to grow 5.2% from 2024 to 2034, with about 13,600 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Hemodialysis Technician in Virginia, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
A note on salary data: The Bureau of Labor Statistics does not track hemodialysis technician salaries as a separate category. The wage figures on this page are based on the closest matching BLS classification: Health Technologists and Technicians, All Other (SOC 29-2099). Actual hemodialysis technician earnings may vary.
At a Glance
- Training paths: approved hemodialysis technician training (find programs)
- Typical timeline: approved dialysis technician training, a national exam (NNCC, BONENT, or equivalent), and state CHT certification where required
- Exam: NNCC CCHT, BONENT, or the exam the state accepts
- Median wage (Virginia): $47,340 per year (based on related “Health Technologists and Technicians, All Other” category) 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Hemodialysis Technician in Virginia
How to become a Hemodialysis Technician in Virginia? Complete approved dialysis technician training, a national exam (NNCC, BONENT, or equivalent), and state CHT certification where required. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish approved dialysis technician training, a national exam (NNCC, BONENT, or equivalent), and state CHT certification where required. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.
Do I need a license in Virginia? Licensing varies. Confirm with the program and employer. See the licensing section below.
What do hemodialysis technicians earn in Virginia? The BLS does not track hemodialysis technician wages separately. Based on the related “Health Technologists and Technicians, All Other” category, the median annual wage in Virginia is $47,340, with entry-level wages around $37,010 and experienced workers earning $76,770 or more 1.
How to Become a Hemodialysis Technician in Virginia
- Meet entry rules. Programs typically require a high school diploma or GED. Confirm current rules with the employer.
- Complete approved hemodialysis technician training. Finish a state-approved dialysis technician program. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
- Pass the required exam. Pass NNCC, BONENT, or the exam the employer accepts. CMS also expects a national dialysis technician credential.
- Get listed or certified. Obtain CHT or the state equivalent where required. Confirm with the employer.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Hemodialysis Technician License Requirements in Virginia
Dialysis technicians in Virginia complete approved training and a national exam. Some states certify this role; most do not. Confirm with the employer when a state credential exists.
Typical path
Meet entry rules.
Complete approved hemodialysis technician training.
Pass NNCC, BONENT, or the state-accepted exam.
Obtain CHT or the state equivalent where required.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the employer before you enroll.
Hemodialysis Technician Wages by Metro Area in Virginia
Hemodialysis Technician Wages by Metro Area in Virginia
Note: The BLS does not track hemodialysis technician wages separately. The data below is based on the closest matching category: Health Technologists and Technicians, All Other (SOC 29-2099).
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), health technologists and technicians, all other wages in Virginia vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Washington-Arlington-Alexandria | 3,630 | $55,530 | $59,410 | $44,780 | $80,180 |
| Virginia Beach-Chesapeake-Norfolk | 840 | $44,350 | $50,130 | $37,260 | $74,790 |
| Richmond | 820 | $49,500 | $55,900 | $37,250 | $76,920 |
| Charlottesville | 90 | $64,170 | $70,440 | $39,570 | $107,170 |
| Lynchburg | 70 | $45,300 | $55,090 | $34,000 | $75,820 |
| Winchester | 70 | $39,620 | $49,190 | $36,560 | $73,890 |
| Harrisonburg | 50 | $39,200 | $45,240 | $38,030 | $64,510 |
| Kingsport-Bristol | 40 | $46,110 | $50,290 | $35,340 | $67,550 |
| Roanoke | N/A | $45,310 | $47,060 | $35,610 | $63,190 |
| Staunton-Stuarts Draft | N/A | $47,490 | $58,740 | $37,130 | $75,280 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for hemodialysis technicians in Virginia? Virginia employs approximately 4,510 workers in the related “Health Technologists and Technicians, All Other” category 1. Nationally, employment in this category is projected to grow 5.2% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as a hemodialysis technician in Virginia with an out-of-state license? Confirm reciprocity rules with the program and employer.
What training programs are available in Virginia? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Virginia.
How much do hemodialysis technicians earn in Virginia compared to the national average? The median annual wage for hemodialysis technicians in Virginia is $47,340 (based on the related “Health Technologists and Technicians, All Other” category), which is $1,450 below the national median of $48,790 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Virginia
Top local programs
- Best Dialysis Technician Schools in Alexandria, Virginia (2026)
- Best Dialysis Technician Schools in Bristol, Virginia (2026)
- Best Dialysis Technician Schools in Fairfax, Virginia (2026)
- Best Dialysis Technician Schools in Falls Church, Virginia (2026)
- Best Dialysis Technician Schools in Herndon, Virginia (2026)
- Best Dialysis Technician Schools in Leesburg, Virginia (2026)
- Best Dialysis Technician Schools in Manassas Park, Virginia (2026)
- Best Dialysis Technician Schools in Manassas, Virginia (2026)
- Best Dialysis Technician Schools in Norton, Virginia (2026)
- Best Dialysis Technician Schools in Purcellville, Virginia (2026)
- Best Dialysis Technician Schools in Vienna, Virginia (2026)
- Best Dialysis Technician Schools in Winchester, Virginia (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Virginia (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Virginia
- Best HVAC Schools in Virginia (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Virginia
- Best Plumbing Schools in Virginia (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Virginia
Explore More Trades in Virginia
- Electrician in Virginia
- Plumber in Virginia
- HVAC Technician in Virginia
- Welder in Virginia
- Carpenter in Virginia
- Solar Installation Technician in Virginia
- Auto Mechanic in Virginia
- CNC Machinist in Virginia
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Virginia
- Medical Assistant in Virginia
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |