How to Become a Home Inspector in District of Columbia (2026)
District of Columbia employs about 370 home inspectors earning a median $86,200 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Home Inspector here means completing a home-inspector course plus the state home-inspector license where the state has one. ICC, ASHI, and InterNACHI credentials are voluntary. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
Compare Home Inspector Schools in District of Columbia
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Pennsylvania College of Technology | 71.8 | Contact school for pricing | $66,316 | Not reported | Yes* | 160 mi |
| 2 | Frederick Community College | 71.1 | Contact school for pricing | $54,058 | 36% | Yes* | 42 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 3 | Nassau Community College | 56.3 | Contact school for pricing | $51,431 | 23% | — | 221 mi |
| 4 | Dutchess Community College | 55.7 | Contact school for pricing | $44,694 | Not reported | Yes* | 255 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 5 | Delaware County Community College | 50.1 | $6,930 - $15,540 | $56,647 | 22% | Yes* | 114 mi |
| 6 | Prince George's Community College | 48.7 | Contact school for pricing | $62,100 | 22% | Yes* | 11 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 7 | Lehigh Carbon Community College | 47.7 | Contact school for pricing | $50,125 | Not reported | Yes* | 142 mi |
| 8 | Essex County College | 43.1 | $5,415 - $12,506 | $48,042 | 20% | Yes* | 197 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 9 | Community College of Baltimore County | 41.7 | Contact school for pricing | $60,930 | 17% | Yes* | 42 mi |
| 10 | Community College of Philadelphia | 36.8 | Contact school for pricing | $50,788 | 22% | Yes* | 123 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
District of Columbia employs approximately 370 home inspectors according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $86,200 1. Nationally, home inspector employment is projected to grow -0.8% from 2024 to 2034, with about 14,800 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Home Inspector in District of Columbia, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: home-inspector training program (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a home-inspector course plus the state home-inspector license where the state has one. ICC, ASHI, and InterNACHI credentials are voluntary
- Exam: state home-inspector exam where required; otherwise ICC, ASHI, or InterNACHI
- Median wage (District of Columbia): $86,200 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Home Inspector in District of Columbia
How to become a Home Inspector in District of Columbia? Complete a home-inspector course plus the state home-inspector license where the state has one. ICC, ASHI, and InterNACHI credentials are voluntary. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish a home-inspector course plus the state home-inspector license where the state has one. ICC, ASHI, and InterNACHI credentials are voluntary. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.
Do I need a license in District of Columbia? Licensing varies. Confirm with the program and employer. See the licensing section below.
What do home inspectors earn in District of Columbia? The median annual wage for home inspectors in District of Columbia is $86,200 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $68,120 and experienced professionals can earn $131,810 or more 1.
How to Become a Home Inspector in District of Columbia
- Complete inspector training. Finish a home-inspector course. ICC, ASHI, and InterNACHI credentials are voluntary. Hour totals vary; confirm with the program. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
- Pass a state exam only where the state licenses inspectors. Some states require a home-inspector license; others do not. Confirm whether District of Columbia licenses this occupation.
- Optional ICC, ASHI, or InterNACHI credentials. Those credentials help hiring. They do not replace a state license in states that license the occupation.
- Confirm with a real board only. Do not treat a contractor class as the inspector credential. Confirm current rules with the employer.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Home Inspector License Requirements in District of Columbia
Some states require a home-inspector license; others do not. Confirm whether District of Columbia licenses this occupation. ICC, ASHI, and InterNACHI credentials are voluntary.
Typical path
Complete a home-inspector course.
Pass the state exam only in states that license home inspectors.
Optional ICC, ASHI, or InterNACHI credentials.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the employer before you enroll.
Home Inspector Wages by Metro Area in District of Columbia
Construction and Building Inspectors Wages by Metro Area in District of Columbia
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), construction and building inspectors wages in District of Columbia vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Washington-Arlington-Alexandria | 4,060 | $80,150 | $85,180 | $58,460 | $116,510 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for home inspectors in District of Columbia? District of Columbia currently employs approximately 370 home inspectors 1. Nationally, home inspector employment is projected to grow -0.8% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as a home inspector in District of Columbia with an out-of-state license? Confirm reciprocity rules with the program and employer.
What training programs are available in District of Columbia? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in District of Columbia.
How much do home inspectors earn in District of Columbia compared to the national average? The median annual wage for home inspectors in District of Columbia is $86,200, which is $14,080 above the national median of $72,120 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In District of Columbia
Top local programs
- Best Home Inspector Schools in District of Columbia (2026)
- Best Home Inspector Schools in Washington, District of Columbia (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in District of Columbia (2026)
- Best HVAC Schools in District of Columbia (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in District of Columbia
- Best Plumbing Schools in District of Columbia (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in District of Columbia
- Best Welding Schools in District of Columbia (2026)
Explore More Trades in District of Columbia
- Electrician in District of Columbia
- Plumber in District of Columbia
- HVAC Technician in District of Columbia
- Welder in District of Columbia
- Carpenter in District of Columbia
- Solar Installation Technician in District of Columbia
- Auto Mechanic in District of Columbia
- CNC Machinist in District of Columbia
- Certified Nursing Assistant in District of Columbia
- Medical Assistant in District of Columbia
Citations

Meet the author: Brad Fishbein is a Florida Licensed Mold Assessor and council-certified Microbial Investigator. He is the founder of TradeCareerPath.com and has completed over 5,000 mold inspections since 2009. Brad helps homeowners and tradespeople make informed decisions about mold, licensing, and skilled career paths.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |