How to Become a Home Inspector in Georgia (2026)
Georgia employs about 4,510 home inspectors earning a median $65,980 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Home Inspector here means completing a home-inspector course plus the state home-inspector license where the state has one. ICC, ASHI, and InterNACHI credentials are voluntary. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
Compare Home Inspector Schools in Georgia
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Gwinnett Technical College | 55.0 | Contact school for pricing | $50,469 | 29% | Yes* | 72 mi |
| 2 | Southern Crescent Technical College | 54.3 | Contact school for pricing | $47,009 | 55% | Yes* | 31 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 3 | Georgia Northwestern Technical College | 53.6 | Contact school for pricing | $44,490 | 38% | Yes* | 114 mi |
| 4 | Lanier Technical College | 51.3 | Contact school for pricing | $44,754 | 35% | Yes* | 98 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 5 | West Georgia Technical College | 51.0 | Contact school for pricing | $43,835 | 33% | Yes* | 90 mi |
| 6 | Wiregrass Georgia Technical College | 50.7 | $3,480 - $11,034 | $40,586 | 47% | Yes* | 145 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 7 | Ogeechee Technical College | 50.1 | Contact school for pricing | $40,635 | Not reported | Yes* | 128 mi |
| 8 | Savannah Technical College | 48.8 | Contact school for pricing | $44,293 | Not reported | Yes* | 176 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 9 | Atlanta Technical College | 47.9 | Contact school for pricing | $40,964 | 46% | Yes* | 61 mi |
| 10 | Oconee Fall Line Technical College | 46.8 | $3,380 - $24,902 | $37,265 | 54% | Yes* | 64 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Georgia employs approximately 4,510 home inspectors according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $65,980 1. Nationally, home inspector employment is projected to grow -0.8% from 2024 to 2034, with about 14,800 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Home Inspector in Georgia, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: home-inspector training program (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a home-inspector course plus the state home-inspector license where the state has one. ICC, ASHI, and InterNACHI credentials are voluntary
- Exam: state home-inspector exam where required; otherwise ICC, ASHI, or InterNACHI
- Median wage (Georgia): $65,980 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Home Inspector in Georgia
How to become a Home Inspector in Georgia? Complete a home-inspector course plus the state home-inspector license where the state has one. ICC, ASHI, and InterNACHI credentials are voluntary. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish a home-inspector course plus the state home-inspector license where the state has one. ICC, ASHI, and InterNACHI credentials are voluntary. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.
Do I need a license in Georgia? Licensing varies. Confirm with the program and employer. See the licensing section below.
What do home inspectors earn in Georgia? The median annual wage for home inspectors in Georgia is $65,980 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $46,070 and experienced professionals can earn $100,450 or more 1.
How to Become a Home Inspector in Georgia
- Complete inspector training. Finish a home-inspector course. ICC, ASHI, and InterNACHI credentials are voluntary. Hour totals vary; confirm with the program. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
- Pass a state exam only where the state licenses inspectors. Some states require a home-inspector license; others do not. Confirm whether Georgia licenses this occupation.
- Optional ICC, ASHI, or InterNACHI credentials. Those credentials help hiring. They do not replace a state license in states that license the occupation.
- Confirm with a real board only. Do not treat a contractor class as the inspector credential. Confirm current rules with the employer.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Home Inspector License Requirements in Georgia
Some states require a home-inspector license; others do not. Confirm whether Georgia licenses this occupation. ICC, ASHI, and InterNACHI credentials are voluntary.
Typical path
Complete a home-inspector course.
Pass the state exam only in states that license home inspectors.
Optional ICC, ASHI, or InterNACHI credentials.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the employer before you enroll.
Home Inspector Wages by Metro Area in Georgia
Construction and Building Inspectors Wages by Metro Area in Georgia
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), construction and building inspectors wages in Georgia vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Atlanta-Sandy Springs-Roswell | 3,020 | $72,410 | $73,480 | $47,100 | $104,440 |
| Augusta-Richmond County | 190 | $58,890 | $61,790 | $40,170 | $83,850 |
| Savannah | 180 | $65,220 | $71,620 | $48,410 | $100,260 |
| Chattanooga | 170 | $55,620 | $57,800 | $39,960 | $81,330 |
| Gainesville | 120 | $75,160 | $75,920 | $52,000 | $100,450 |
| Columbus | 90 | $60,520 | $63,350 | $46,070 | $91,210 |
| Dalton | 80 | $71,230 | $69,680 | $50,530 | $93,080 |
| Athens-Clarke County | 60 | $58,210 | $57,840 | $39,130 | $72,910 |
| Macon-Bibb County | 60 | $57,300 | $62,420 | $41,870 | $89,910 |
| Warner Robins | 50 | $62,650 | $67,860 | $42,230 | $96,030 |
| Brunswick-St. Simons | 40 | $55,240 | $56,540 | $39,970 | $68,470 |
| Valdosta | 40 | $59,820 | $63,420 | $46,440 | $92,560 |
| Hinesville | 30 | $60,020 | $65,480 | $44,580 | $103,380 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for home inspectors in Georgia? Georgia currently employs approximately 4,510 home inspectors 1. Nationally, home inspector employment is projected to grow -0.8% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as a home inspector in Georgia with an out-of-state license? Confirm reciprocity rules with the program and employer.
What training programs are available in Georgia? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Georgia.
How much do home inspectors earn in Georgia compared to the national average? The median annual wage for home inspectors in Georgia is $65,980, which is $6,140 below the national median of $72,120 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Georgia
Top local programs
- Best Home Inspector Schools in Acworth, Georgia (2026)
- Best Home Inspector Schools in Albany, Georgia (2026)
- Best Home Inspector Schools in Alpharetta, Georgia (2026)
- Best Home Inspector Schools in Americus, Georgia (2026)
- Best Home Inspector Schools in Athens, Georgia (2026)
- Best Home Inspector Schools in Atlanta, Georgia (2026)
- Best Home Inspector Schools in Augusta, Georgia (2026)
- Best Home Inspector Schools in Bainbridge, Georgia (2026)
- Best Home Inspector Schools in Braselton, Georgia (2026)
- Best Home Inspector Schools in Brookhaven, Georgia (2026)
- Best Home Inspector Schools in Brunswick, Georgia (2026)
- Best Home Inspector Schools in Buford, Georgia (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Georgia (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Georgia
- Best HVAC Schools in Georgia (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Georgia
- Best Plumbing Schools in Georgia (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Georgia
Explore More Trades in Georgia
- Electrician in Georgia
- Plumber in Georgia
- HVAC Technician in Georgia
- Welder in Georgia
- Carpenter in Georgia
- Solar Installation Technician in Georgia
- Auto Mechanic in Georgia
- CNC Machinist in Georgia
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Georgia
- Medical Assistant in Georgia
Citations

Meet the author: Brad Fishbein is a Florida Licensed Mold Assessor and council-certified Microbial Investigator. He is the founder of TradeCareerPath.com and has completed over 5,000 mold inspections since 2009. Brad helps homeowners and tradespeople make informed decisions about mold, licensing, and skilled career paths.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |