How to Become a Home Inspector in Minnesota (2026)

Minnesota employs about 1,390 home inspectors earning a median $88,670 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Home Inspector here means completing a home-inspector course plus the state home-inspector license where the state has one. ICC, ASHI, and InterNACHI credentials are voluntary. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.

Compare Home Inspector Schools in Minnesota

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the page's primary location.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
167.6$5,040 - $16,862$55,85763%Yes*255 mi
262.5Contact school for pricing$54,88749%Yes*267 mi
Sponsored Ad
362.3Contact school for pricing$57,76445%Yes*301 mi
460.0Contact school for pricing$52,00334%Yes*86 mi
Sponsored Ad
559.8Contact school for pricing$58,81125%Yes*385 mi
659.3Contact school for pricing$49,76853%Yes*118 mi
Sponsored Ad
758.3Contact school for pricing$47,58038%Yes*334 mi
856.0$4,956 - $16,242$54,14249%Yes*336 mi
Sponsored Ad
954.9Contact school for pricing$52,701Not reportedYes*367 mi
1051.7Contact school for pricing$55,035Not reportedYes*9 mi
Sponsored Ad

Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

Minnesota employs approximately 1,390 home inspectors according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $88,670 1. Nationally, home inspector employment is projected to grow -0.8% from 2024 to 2034, with about 14,800 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Home Inspector in Minnesota, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.

At a Glance

  • Training paths: home-inspector training program (find programs)
  • Typical timeline: a home-inspector course plus the state home-inspector license where the state has one. ICC, ASHI, and InterNACHI credentials are voluntary
  • Exam: state home-inspector exam where required; otherwise ICC, ASHI, or InterNACHI
  • Median wage (Minnesota): $88,670 per year 1

Quick Answers About How to Become a Home Inspector in Minnesota

How to become a Home Inspector in Minnesota? Complete a home-inspector course plus the state home-inspector license where the state has one. ICC, ASHI, and InterNACHI credentials are voluntary. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.

How long does it take? Most people finish a home-inspector course plus the state home-inspector license where the state has one. ICC, ASHI, and InterNACHI credentials are voluntary. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.

Do I need a license in Minnesota? Licensing varies. Confirm with the program and employer. See the licensing section below.

What do home inspectors earn in Minnesota? The median annual wage for home inspectors in Minnesota is $88,670 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $61,610 and experienced professionals can earn $112,420 or more 1.

How to Become a Home Inspector in Minnesota

  1. Complete inspector training. Finish a home-inspector course. ICC, ASHI, and InterNACHI credentials are voluntary. Hour totals vary; confirm with the program. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
  2. Pass a state exam only where the state licenses inspectors. Some states require a home-inspector license; others do not. Confirm whether Minnesota licenses this occupation.
  3. Optional ICC, ASHI, or InterNACHI credentials. Those credentials help hiring. They do not replace a state license in states that license the occupation.
  4. Confirm with a real board only. Do not treat a contractor class as the inspector credential. Confirm current rules with the employer.

Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.

Home Inspector License Requirements in Minnesota

Some states require a home-inspector license; others do not. Confirm whether Minnesota licenses this occupation. ICC, ASHI, and InterNACHI credentials are voluntary.

Typical path

  1. Complete a home-inspector course.

  2. Pass the state exam only in states that license home inspectors.

  3. Optional ICC, ASHI, or InterNACHI credentials.

Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the employer before you enroll.

Home Inspector Wages by Metro Area in Minnesota

Construction and Building Inspectors Wages by Metro Area in Minnesota

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), construction and building inspectors wages in Minnesota vary by metro area.

Metro AreaEmploymentMedian Annual WageAvg. Annual WageEntry Level
(10th pctile)
Experienced
(90th pctile)
Minneapolis-St. Paul-Bloomington940$94,420$93,770$77,450$113,570
Fargo60$78,880$78,160$63,630$98,530
Sioux Falls60$78,410$73,290$50,960$91,710
Duluth50$79,470$80,740$57,670$105,440
Rochester50$96,840$93,230$77,440$113,570
St. Cloud40$79,670$78,720$56,620$105,440
La Crosse-Onalaska40$74,560$75,480$47,290$101,880

Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the job outlook for home inspectors in Minnesota? Minnesota currently employs approximately 1,390 home inspectors 1. Nationally, home inspector employment is projected to grow -0.8% from 2024 to 2034 2.

Can I work as a home inspector in Minnesota with an out-of-state license? Confirm reciprocity rules with the program and employer.

What training programs are available in Minnesota? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Minnesota.

How much do home inspectors earn in Minnesota compared to the national average? The median annual wage for home inspectors in Minnesota is $88,670, which is $16,550 above the national median of $72,120 according to BLS data 1.

In Minnesota

Top local programs

Explore More Trades in Minnesota

Citations

Brad Fishbein Licensed Mold Assessor

Meet the author: Brad Fishbein is a Florida Licensed Mold Assessor and council-certified Microbial Investigator. He is the founder of TradeCareerPath.com and has completed over 5,000 mold inspections since 2009. Brad helps homeowners and tradespeople make informed decisions about mold, licensing, and skilled career paths.

References


  1. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  2. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)
O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones)U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.)O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13)