How to Become a Home Inspector in North Carolina (2026)
North Carolina employs about 6,490 home inspectors earning a median $66,080 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Home Inspector here means completing a home-inspector course plus the state home-inspector license where the state has one. ICC, ASHI, and InterNACHI credentials are voluntary. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
Key Facts
- Median wage (North Carolina): $66,080/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Employed in North Carolina: 6,490 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Location quotient: 1.39x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: -0.8% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Home Inspector Schools in North Carolina
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Frederick Community College | 71.1 | Contact school for pricing | $54,058 | 36% | Yes* | 304 mi |
| 2 | BridgeValley Community & Technical College | 55.3 | Contact school for pricing | $57,464 | 30% | Yes* | 227 mi |
| 3 | Gwinnett Technical College | 55.0 | Contact school for pricing | $50,469 | 29% | Yes* | 266 mi |
| 4 | Southern Crescent Technical College | 54.3 | Contact school for pricing | $47,009 | 55% | Yes* | 300 mi |
| 5 | Lanier Technical College | 51.3 | Contact school for pricing | $44,754 | 35% | Yes* | 241 mi |
| 6 | Ogeechee Technical College | 50.1 | Contact school for pricing | $40,635 | Not reported | Yes* | 242 mi |
| 7 | Savannah Technical College | 48.8 | Contact school for pricing | $44,293 | Not reported | Yes* | 250 mi |
| 8 | Prince George's Community College | 48.7 | Contact school for pricing | $62,100 | 22% | Yes* | 287 mi |
| 9 | Atlanta Technical College | 47.9 | Contact school for pricing | $40,964 | 46% | Yes* | 291 mi |
| 10 | Oconee Fall Line Technical College | 46.8 | $3,380 - $24,902 | $37,265 | 54% | Yes* | 245 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
North Carolina employs approximately 6,490 home inspectors according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $66,080 1. The state’s concentration of home inspector jobs is 1.39x the national average, indicating strong demand. Nationally, home inspector employment is projected to grow -0.8% from 2024 to 2034, with about 14,800 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Home Inspector in North Carolina, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: home-inspector training program (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a home-inspector course plus the state home-inspector license where the state has one. ICC, ASHI, and InterNACHI credentials are voluntary
- Exam: state home-inspector exam where required; otherwise ICC, ASHI, or InterNACHI
- Median wage (North Carolina): $66,080 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Home Inspector in North Carolina
How to become a Home Inspector in North Carolina? Complete a home-inspector course plus the state home-inspector license where the state has one. ICC, ASHI, and InterNACHI credentials are voluntary. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish a home-inspector course plus the state home-inspector license where the state has one. ICC, ASHI, and InterNACHI credentials are voluntary. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.
Do I need a license in North Carolina? Licensing varies. Confirm with the program and employer. See the licensing section below.
What do home inspectors earn in North Carolina? The median annual wage for home inspectors in North Carolina is $66,080 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $46,840 and experienced professionals can earn $95,220 or more 1.
How to Become a Home Inspector in North Carolina
- Complete inspector training. Finish a home-inspector course. ICC, ASHI, and InterNACHI credentials are voluntary. Hour totals vary; confirm with the program. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
- Pass a state exam only where the state licenses inspectors. Some states require a home-inspector license; others do not. Confirm whether North Carolina licenses this occupation.
- Optional ICC, ASHI, or InterNACHI credentials. Those credentials help hiring. They do not replace a state license in states that license the occupation.
- Confirm with a real board only. Do not treat a contractor class as the inspector credential. Confirm current rules with the employer.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Home Inspector License Requirements in North Carolina
Some states require a home-inspector license; others do not. Confirm whether North Carolina licenses this occupation. ICC, ASHI, and InterNACHI credentials are voluntary.
Typical path
Complete a home-inspector course.
Pass the state exam only in states that license home inspectors.
Optional ICC, ASHI, or InterNACHI credentials.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the employer before you enroll.
Home Inspector Wages by Metro Area in North Carolina
Construction and Building Inspectors Wages by Metro Area in North Carolina
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), construction and building inspectors wages in North Carolina vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Charlotte-Concord-Gastonia | 1,760 | $75,570 | $73,100 | $48,980 | $96,180 |
| Raleigh-Cary | 1,760 | $67,840 | $70,730 | $46,840 | $97,920 |
| Virginia Beach-Chesapeake-Norfolk | 1,260 | $64,710 | $69,210 | $49,810 | $91,230 |
| Greensboro-High Point | 470 | $63,560 | $67,970 | $49,560 | $82,790 |
| Durham-Chapel Hill | 310 | $73,590 | $70,840 | $47,640 | $92,190 |
| Wilmington | 290 | $63,670 | $67,710 | $48,210 | $89,700 |
| Asheville | 280 | $62,320 | $66,490 | $48,110 | $82,800 |
| Winston-Salem | 210 | $58,490 | $64,800 | $49,280 | $89,920 |
| Fayetteville | 200 | $61,950 | $66,410 | $47,000 | $93,340 |
| Greenville | 80 | $59,870 | $63,070 | $45,880 | $79,780 |
| Jacksonville | 80 | $61,670 | $71,190 | $43,320 | $128,000 |
| Hickory-Lenoir-Morganton | 70 | $59,800 | $66,620 | $44,800 | $87,560 |
| Burlington | 50 | $62,760 | $66,500 | $53,060 | $84,020 |
| Rocky Mount | 40 | $74,790 | $71,870 | $44,270 | $98,290 |
| Goldsboro | 30 | $59,120 | $63,970 | $44,350 | $81,770 |
| Pinehurst-Southern Pines | 30 | $64,870 | $65,460 | $41,600 | $83,930 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for home inspectors in North Carolina? North Carolina currently employs approximately 6,490 home inspectors 1. Nationally, home inspector employment is projected to grow -0.8% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as a home inspector in North Carolina with an out-of-state license? Confirm reciprocity rules with the program and employer.
What training programs are available in North Carolina? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in North Carolina.
How much do home inspectors earn in North Carolina compared to the national average? The median annual wage for home inspectors in North Carolina is $66,080, which is $6,040 below the national median of $72,120 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In North Carolina
Top local programs
- Best Home Inspector Schools in Albemarle, North Carolina (2026)
- Best Home Inspector Schools in Apex, North Carolina (2026)
- Best Home Inspector Schools in Archdale, North Carolina (2026)
- Best Home Inspector Schools in Archer Lodge, North Carolina (2026)
- Best Home Inspector Schools in Asheboro, North Carolina (2026)
- Best Home Inspector Schools in Asheville, North Carolina (2026)
- Best Home Inspector Schools in Belmont, North Carolina (2026)
- Best Home Inspector Schools in Boone, North Carolina (2026)
- Best Home Inspector Schools in Brevard, North Carolina (2026)
- Best Home Inspector Schools in Burlington, North Carolina (2026)
- Best Home Inspector Schools in Butner, North Carolina (2026)
- Best Home Inspector Schools in Carrboro, North Carolina (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in North Carolina (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in North Carolina
- Best HVAC Schools in North Carolina (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in North Carolina
- Best Plumbing Schools in North Carolina (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in North Carolina
Explore More Trades in North Carolina
- Electrician in North Carolina
- Plumber in North Carolina
- HVAC Technician in North Carolina
- Welder in North Carolina
- Carpenter in North Carolina
- Solar Installation Technician in North Carolina
- Auto Mechanic in North Carolina
- CNC Machinist in North Carolina
- Certified Nursing Assistant in North Carolina
- Medical Assistant in North Carolina
Citations

Meet the author: Brad Fishbein is a Florida Licensed Mold Assessor and council-certified Microbial Investigator. He is the founder of TradeCareerPath.com and has completed over 5,000 mold inspections since 2009. Brad helps homeowners and tradespeople make informed decisions about mold, licensing, and skilled career paths.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |