How to Become a Home Inspector in Vermont (2026)
Vermont employs about 120 home inspectors earning a median $66,580 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Home Inspector here means completing a home-inspector course plus the state home-inspector license where the state has one. ICC, ASHI, and InterNACHI credentials are voluntary. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
Compare Home Inspector Schools in Vermont
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Pennsylvania College of Technology | 71.8 | Contact school for pricing | $66,316 | Not reported | Yes* | 300 mi |
| 2 | North Bennet Street School | 65.8 | Contact school for pricing | $57,182 | 93% | — | 157 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 3 | SUNY College of Technology at Delhi | 65.4 | $8,772 - $26,944 | $56,927 | 47% | Yes* | 174 mi |
| 4 | Nassau Community College | 56.3 | Contact school for pricing | $51,431 | 23% | — | 247 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 5 | Dutchess Community College | 55.7 | Contact school for pricing | $44,694 | Not reported | Yes* | 184 mi |
| 6 | Erie Community College | 52.1 | Contact school for pricing | $48,895 | Not reported | Yes* | 319 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 7 | Lehigh Carbon Community College | 47.7 | Contact school for pricing | $50,125 | Not reported | Yes* | 287 mi |
| 8 | Herkimer County Community College | 44.5 | Contact school for pricing | $40,716 | Not reported | Yes* | 140 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 9 | Essex County College | 43.1 | $5,415 - $12,506 | $48,042 | 20% | Yes* | 253 mi |
| 10 | Community College of Philadelphia | 36.8 | Contact school for pricing | $50,788 | 22% | Yes* | 321 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Vermont employs approximately 120 home inspectors according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $66,580 1. Nationally, home inspector employment is projected to grow -0.8% from 2024 to 2034, with about 14,800 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Home Inspector in Vermont, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: home-inspector training program (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a home-inspector course plus the state home-inspector license where the state has one. ICC, ASHI, and InterNACHI credentials are voluntary
- Exam: state home-inspector exam where required; otherwise ICC, ASHI, or InterNACHI
- Median wage (Vermont): $66,580 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Home Inspector in Vermont
How to become a Home Inspector in Vermont? Complete a home-inspector course plus the state home-inspector license where the state has one. ICC, ASHI, and InterNACHI credentials are voluntary. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish a home-inspector course plus the state home-inspector license where the state has one. ICC, ASHI, and InterNACHI credentials are voluntary. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.
Do I need a license in Vermont? Licensing varies. Confirm with the program and employer. See the licensing section below.
What do home inspectors earn in Vermont? The median annual wage for home inspectors in Vermont is $66,580 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $49,350 and experienced professionals can earn $92,110 or more 1.
How to Become a Home Inspector in Vermont
- Complete inspector training. Finish a home-inspector course. ICC, ASHI, and InterNACHI credentials are voluntary. Hour totals vary; confirm with the program. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
- Pass a state exam only where the state licenses inspectors. Some states require a home-inspector license; others do not. Confirm whether Vermont licenses this occupation.
- Optional ICC, ASHI, or InterNACHI credentials. Those credentials help hiring. They do not replace a state license in states that license the occupation.
- Confirm with a real board only. Do not treat a contractor class as the inspector credential. Confirm current rules with the employer.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Home Inspector License Requirements in Vermont
Some states require a home-inspector license; others do not. Confirm whether Vermont licenses this occupation. ICC, ASHI, and InterNACHI credentials are voluntary.
Typical path
Complete a home-inspector course.
Pass the state exam only in states that license home inspectors.
Optional ICC, ASHI, or InterNACHI credentials.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the employer before you enroll.
Home Inspector Wages by Metro Area in Vermont
Construction and Building Inspectors Wages by Metro Area in Vermont
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), construction and building inspectors wages in Vermont vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Burlington-South Burlington | 60 | $68,450 | $72,340 | $59,280 | $92,110 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for home inspectors in Vermont? Vermont currently employs approximately 120 home inspectors 1. Nationally, home inspector employment is projected to grow -0.8% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as a home inspector in Vermont with an out-of-state license? Confirm reciprocity rules with the program and employer.
What training programs are available in Vermont? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Vermont.
How much do home inspectors earn in Vermont compared to the national average? The median annual wage for home inspectors in Vermont is $66,580, which is $5,540 below the national median of $72,120 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Vermont
Top local programs
- Best Home Inspector Schools in Barre, Vermont (2026)
- Best Home Inspector Schools in Burlington, Vermont (2026)
- Best Home Inspector Schools in Essex Junction, Vermont (2026)
- Best Home Inspector Schools in Rutland, Vermont (2026)
- Best Home Inspector Schools in South Burlington, Vermont (2026)
- Best Home Inspector Schools in Vermont (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Vermont (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Vermont
- Best HVAC Schools in Vermont (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Vermont
- Best Plumbing Schools in Vermont (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Vermont
Explore More Trades in Vermont
- Electrician in Vermont
- Plumber in Vermont
- HVAC Technician in Vermont
- Welder in Vermont
- Carpenter in Vermont
- Solar Installation Technician in Vermont
- Auto Mechanic in Vermont
- CNC Machinist in Vermont
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Vermont
- Medical Assistant in Vermont
Citations

Meet the author: Brad Fishbein is a Florida Licensed Mold Assessor and council-certified Microbial Investigator. He is the founder of TradeCareerPath.com and has completed over 5,000 mold inspections since 2009. Brad helps homeowners and tradespeople make informed decisions about mold, licensing, and skilled career paths.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |