How to Become a Home Health Aide in Florida (2026)
Florida employs about 90,170 home health aides earning a median $33,800 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Home Health Aide here means completing a state-approved home health aide program, competency evaluation, and state listing where required. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
Key Facts
- Median wage (Florida): $33,800/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Employed in Florida: 90,170 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Location quotient: 0.33x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: 17.0% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Home Health Aide Schools in Florida
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | St Petersburg College | 74.6 | Contact school for pricing | $54,088 | Not reported | Yes* | 67 mi |
| 2 | Eastern Florida State College | 63.6 | $2,496 - $11,966 | $49,053 | 52% | Yes* | 59 mi |
| 3 | Manatee Technical College | 62.2 | Contact school for pricing | $45,049 | 72% | — | 66 mi |
| 4 | Seminole State College of Florida | 61.8 | $3,122 - $14,281 | $52,407 | 42% | Yes* | 64 mi |
| 5 | Hillsborough Community College | 61.2 | Contact school for pricing | $49,784 | 34% | Yes* | 54 mi |
| 6 | Polk State College | 54.3 | Contact school for pricing | $53,180 | Not reported | Yes* | 15 mi |
| 7 | Charlotte Technical College | 48.6 | $3,110 - $13,272 | $43,247 | 59% | — | 68 mi |
| 8 | State College of Florida-Manatee-Sarasota | 48.4 | Contact school for pricing | $55,922 | 37% | Yes* | 69 mi |
| 9 | Pinellas Technical College-St. Petersburg | 42.2 | Contact school for pricing | $40,318 | Not reported | Yes* | 68 mi |
| 10 | Orange Technical College-South Campus | 41.1 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | 40% | — | 44 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Florida employs approximately 90,170 home health aides according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $33,800 1. Nationally, home health aide employment is projected to grow 17.0% from 2024 to 2034, with about 765,800 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Home Health Aide in Florida, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: state-approved home health aide program (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a state-approved home health aide program, competency evaluation, and state listing where required
- Exam: HHA competency evaluation
- Median wage (Florida): $33,800 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Home Health Aide in Florida
How to become a Home Health Aide in Florida? Complete a state-approved home health aide program, competency evaluation, and state listing where required. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish a state-approved home health aide program, competency evaluation, and state listing where required. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.
Do I need a license in Florida? Licensing varies. Confirm with the program and employer. See the licensing section below.
What do home health aides earn in Florida? The median annual wage for home health aides in Florida is $33,800 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $30,660 and experienced professionals can earn $38,310 or more 1.
How to Become a Home Health Aide in Florida
- Meet entry rules. Confirm age, background-check, and health-screening rules with the training program and the employer.
- Complete a state-approved HHA program. Finish an approved home health aide program in Florida. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
- Pass the competency evaluation. Complete the skills and knowledge evaluation the state uses for HHAs.
- Get certified or listed. Get listed or certified as an HHA where the state uses that credential. Do not treat a CNA listing as the HHA credential. Confirm with the employer.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Home Health Aide License Requirements in Florida
Home health aides in Florida complete an approved HHA program and competency evaluation. Some states certify this role; most do not. Confirm with the employer when a state credential exists.
Typical path
Meet entry rules.
Complete a state-approved HHA program.
Pass the competency evaluation.
Obtain HHA certification or listing from the employer.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the employer before you enroll.
Home Health Aide Wages by Metro Area in Florida
Home Health and Personal Care Aides Wages by Metro Area in Florida
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), home health and personal care aides wages in Florida vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Miami-Fort Lauderdale-West Palm Beach | 28,350 | $32,890 | $34,420 | $31,200 | $37,660 |
| Tampa-St. Petersburg-Clearwater | 13,120 | $34,210 | $35,380 | $30,880 | $41,880 |
| Orlando-Kissimmee-Sanford | 8,260 | $34,110 | $34,360 | $30,290 | $37,670 |
| Jacksonville | 5,740 | $34,380 | $34,520 | $30,030 | $37,060 |
| North Port-Bradenton-Sarasota | 3,530 | $35,400 | $36,030 | $31,150 | $40,180 |
| Cape Coral-Fort Myers | 3,120 | $35,010 | $35,690 | $30,700 | $42,860 |
| Palm Bay-Melbourne-Titusville | 2,390 | $34,440 | $34,830 | $30,390 | $37,950 |
| Deltona-Daytona Beach-Ormond Beach | 2,220 | $34,110 | $34,110 | $29,710 | $37,310 |
| Lakeland-Winter Haven | 2,210 | $33,570 | $33,400 | $29,570 | $36,080 |
| Port St. Lucie | 2,180 | $34,140 | $34,540 | $30,740 | $37,130 |
| Tallahassee | 1,990 | $32,710 | $33,800 | $29,480 | $42,400 |
| Pensacola-Ferry Pass-Brent | 1,670 | $33,180 | $33,540 | $28,840 | $37,170 |
| Naples-Marco Island | 1,550 | $35,160 | $36,510 | $30,970 | $41,560 |
| Gainesville | 1,430 | $33,320 | $33,490 | $29,570 | $36,160 |
| Ocala | 1,370 | $31,550 | $32,850 | $29,570 | $35,900 |
| Sebastian-Vero Beach-West Vero Corridor | 820 | $34,070 | $34,260 | $30,580 | $37,900 |
| Crestview-Fort Walton Beach-Destin | 780 | $34,860 | $34,990 | $31,200 | $36,660 |
| Panama City-Panama City Beach | 570 | $32,670 | $34,220 | $29,940 | $41,400 |
| Punta Gorda | 550 | $34,500 | $36,170 | $29,090 | $37,080 |
| Homosassa Springs | 470 | $32,240 | $33,070 | $29,660 | $35,700 |
| Wildwood-The Villages | 470 | $33,900 | $34,580 | $29,100 | $38,450 |
| Sebring | 320 | $32,940 | $32,640 | $28,990 | $35,780 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for home health aides in Florida? Florida currently employs approximately 90,170 home health aides 1. Nationally, home health aide employment is projected to grow 17.0% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as a home health aide in Florida with an out-of-state license? Confirm reciprocity rules with the program and employer.
What training programs are available in Florida? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Florida.
How much do home health aides earn in Florida compared to the national average? The median annual wage for home health aides in Florida is $33,800, which is $1,100 below the national median of $34,900 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Florida
Top local programs
- Best Home Health Aide Programs in Alachua, Florida (2026)
- Best Home Health Aide Programs in Altamonte Springs, Florida (2026)
- Best Home Health Aide Programs in Anna Maria, Florida (2026)
- Best Home Health Aide Programs in Apalachicola, Florida (2026)
- Best Home Health Aide Programs in Apopka, Florida (2026)
- Best Home Health Aide Programs in Arcadia, Florida (2026)
- Best Home Health Aide Programs in Archer, Florida (2026)
- Best Home Health Aide Programs in Astatula, Florida (2026)
- Best Home Health Aide Programs in Atlantic Beach, Florida (2026)
- Best Home Health Aide Programs in Atlantis, Florida (2026)
- Best Home Health Aide Programs in Auburndale, Florida (2026)
- Best Home Health Aide Programs in Aventura, Florida (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Florida (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Florida
- Best HVAC Schools in Florida (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Florida
- Best Plumbing Schools in Florida (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Florida
Explore More Trades in Florida
- Electrician in Florida
- Plumber in Florida
- HVAC Technician in Florida
- Welder in Florida
- Carpenter in Florida
- Solar Installation Technician in Florida
- Auto Mechanic in Florida
- CNC Machinist in Florida
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Florida
- Medical Assistant in Florida
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |